We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Absolute Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stovall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stovall House
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Absolute Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

This place was wonderful. Mr. Hamilton went out of his way to accommodate our family. The house was a charming farm house, and the renovations that were made to make it a B&B were done well. The breakfast was great. He even prepared eggs, since my son could not eat the wonderful homemade bread, due to his nut allergy. We will definitely be returning to this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had a Groupon for this bed & breakfast and had a wonderful time. Even without the Groupon, it would have been a good deal. We stayed in the original bedroom on the first floor with a small (double) bed. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had antique furniture. The location is about a quick 10 minute drive to Helen. The breakfast was good - some regular fare like cereal & OJ, but the innkeeper also whipped up a yummy egg & cheese quiche type dish. Also, I'm not sure if this was part of the amenities, but there was a good wi-fi signal in the room. Definitely a cozy, charming alternative to the motels in Helen.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssettless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I took my partner for an overnight stay at the Stovall House so we could visit the nearby North GA Folk Pottery Museum and explore the area. I was drawn by the the photos of the house as well as the reasonable rate. So often in the U.S. bed and breakfasts mean luxurious/expensive accommodations, whereas in Europe I have always experienced B&Bs as pleasant budget hotels. The Stovall House is not as inexpensive as some European B&Bs, but still very reasonable. The house was built in 1837 and has retained its 19th-century charm, even with the remodel that must have occured to the second floor to add the guest rooms (and of course the ceilings are sloped there! It is not a problem). The room we stayed in with a king-sized bed and private bath was charmingly furnished in a sort of "shabby chic" way -- real antiques, but you didn't feel like you'd stepped into a room from Architectural Digest where you're afraid to touch anything. By far, the most alluring part of the house is the wrap-around porch where you can sit and look out on the verdant farmland and rising mountains of the N. GA landscape. We asked to have our generous breakfast (a choice of cold cereals, freshly baked/warm cranberry orange loaf, coffee, and orange juice -- we were offered eggs but declined) on the porch, and Hamilton Schwarz, the innkeeper was most accommodating. He was a congenial host -- happy to leave you alone if you wish to be but willing to talk if you're inclined to do so. We had a pleasant conversation during part of breakfast. We found him a perfect host. I would absolutely recommend the Stovall Inn -- no, it's not the Ritz Carlton-y B&B, as a reviewer below seemed to expect, but it is comfortable, charming, and centrally located to sites in the Sautee-Nacoochee region. Be sure to make a visit to the Gourd Place if you visit the area.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank teenyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay,GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

My son's wedding rehearsal dinner was there. It was a fabulous experience. The food was very good. The staff very helpful. Anything we wanted was fine with them. The chef met with me several times concerning the event and was always cheerful and helpful. Cocktails and horderves on the veranda at sundown. What a wonderful way to begin the evening. All of the guests enjoyed the evening immensely . No one stayed in the guest rooms, so I can't comment on that. It is a lovely old home that is charming and welcoming.

  • Liked — The beautiful old home and scenery
  • Disliked — Did not stay in the guest rooms
  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

The drive to the Inn was lovely. We loved the location as well. It was peaceful, had a great view of a couple of mountains and surrounded by fields with horses and cows. It is within ten minutes of Helen GA and just up the street from the Inn was the Sautee Market and other shops. We also have a 2 1/2 year old and there was a community center right down the road with a big playground. But when we arrived at the Inn, the house looked drab. The gardens and the house were obviously not cared for. We saw a for sale sign to the right of the driveway. The Inn looked more like a neglected home than an Inn. There was junk piled up to the left of the house. The inside was also very drab. The Innkeeper never smiled and seemed to not enjoy her job. The room was acceptable in size, however the ceiling was sloped and made it difficult to walk around the bed. We were expecting a King bed and a crib for our toddler. The bed was two twin beds pushed together and the crib was very shakey. The bath room had no storage space and was not very clean. The walls had dirty splatter marks and the floors looked barely swept and mopped. The Innkeeper really gave us no information other than here is your key, showed us to the room and I'll be in the kitchen if you need me. The inside of the Inn was very cluttery and the office area just had tons of books, papers, furniture just stacked up in it. We had dinner their the first night and it was like a meal you would get at a friends house. The waitress was very unfriendly, rushed around like she was frustrated and seemed inconvenienced that we were there. I asked another waitress about the time of the reservation for a table they were setting up for a large party. I was concerned about how late the restaurant was open and the noise keeping my daughter awake. The waitress was snippy and put out by my questioning. The last night we stayed, we were the only room. The Innkeeper never approached us throughout our stay to let us know if someone was on property or anything for that matter. I wouldn't recommend this property. It is clear to me that the owner is ready to sell and does not care about the customers.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — How unclean it was and how uninviting the staff was
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mommymajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lloyd s, Owner at Stovall House, responded to this review, 18 December 2015
I only recently encountered this review as it is eight years old and pre-dates my operation of Stovall House by 5 years. I am sorry that the guest was unhappy and hope the many changes we have made would provide a totally different experience. thanks , lloyd summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2005

We had our wedding at the Stovall House and loved every minute of it. The view, the house, the food...everything was perfect. My family members got to stay in the rooms the night before and the night after the wedding, and many of them want to go back later for vacation. Best of all, the staff was so helpful and laid back when it came to the wedding--anything we wanted was ok with them, and they helped us make it happen.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calm741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sautee Nacoochee
6.4 km away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
5.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovall House

Property: Stovall House
Address: 1526 Highway 255 North, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571
Region: United States > Georgia > Sautee Nacoochee
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sautee Nacoochee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stovall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stovall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovall House Hotel Sautee Nacoochee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing