We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
794
125
45
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
125
45
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian room beach club main building southern tide adult pool river bar five star resort shooting school fitness center four seasons horseback riding southern charm turn down service colt alison old world one bedroom suite beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely spot. The drive in from st. Simons entrance is simply beautiful. Giant oaks, beautiful marsh, tasteful architecture and expansive marsh views.

We stayed in the ocean residences in a 3 adjoining condo w/ common room that had kitchen and fireplace allowing for 3 couples or two families to easily stay. The rooms were beautiful and offered great views and amenities. Only issue of note was the front load laundry was sour and could have used a cleaning/flush but, that was the only noticeable housekeeping issue.

The cloister hotel is the architectural gem of the property and is very nice. The best dining we were told was in those restaurants but we elected more casual w/ the kids instead of jacket required options. That was a mistake. The beach club food was average at best and in hindsight I'd try the finer dining options. Room service one night was pretty good but nothing to write home about. Wine list was uninspiring and grossly overpriced on many items (in excess of 300% markup). Come on, it's not NYC! Also, the restaurants do not accept corkage.

Activities: golf, biking, horseback, fishing, sporting clays, kayaking, beach, pool, awesome kids club daily & evenings, playground, 21 and over pools/areas, lots of dining options, game room, ballrooms available.

Summary: service very good, food (we had) below average, pricing high but in line with expectations and property overall. Excellent family option for a resort choice in this part of the country. We left happy.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

How nice to read your comments and see how much you enjoyed your trip, especially your accommodations and the variety of things for your family to do. We are glad that you left happy and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

This is one of the premier vacation spots in the country and remains so. It has just about everything for everyone. What a pleasure! If you want an active vacation with the opportunity to relax this is a great place.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

The suite was spectacular! The setting was breathtaking! The food was mediocre. I purchased the breakfast buffet one morning: $25 plus $5 service charge, plus tax, on a meal that was comparable to the buffet at a Hampton Inn. My husband and I were attending a conference. Most of the food was sub-par, even the seafood buffet. As part of the conference's "continental breakfast", the participants were offered a tiny portion of stale pastries and a tiny quantity of fruit. Each platter served about ten guests, and it was 30 minutes or so until the next platter arrived. Oddly, the buffet offered butter, but nothing to put it on. I was really shocked that the staff of the Cloister would allow such food to leave the kitchen. The Cloister has a top notch reputation. I am wondering if I witnessed the beginning of a decline.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

It is good to know that you thought highly of your accommodations and our setting, but it is disappointing to see that the menu selections arranged for your conference were not to your liking. I have passed your thoughts along to our staff involved in your gathering. Thank you for posting your comments. I look forward to you returning for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2016

We reserved three night stay, but only learned while checking in that a golf tournament was dominating the resort--which limited our access to restaurants and facilities--so we checked out after one night.
Got to resort at 4PM, but room wasn't ready until after 5PM. Tried to make a reservation for dinner at Italian restaurant and was told first available was not until much later, but went down at 6:30 and there were many open tables and got seated.
Obviously made a mistake with timing, but we should have been informed of golf tournament going on. Buyer beware.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Starstation310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Please accept my apology that you were not made aware that the PGA tournament was taking place during the days of your reservation. That is an oversight on our part and I can understand your displeasure. We do, however, hope that you will return at a future date and have a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

It had been many years since my wife and I visited the Cloister. It is now owned by the family that owns the Broadmoor and has been beautifully renovated, and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Our River View room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. It felt more like an apartment home than a hotel room. The grounds were beautifully maintained. An easy drive from Jacksonville or Savannah. Great spa and activities. We are already making plans to return.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank FJP-TEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

It is great to know that you enjoyed your visit to Sea Island so much. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews