We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Backbarrow, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alyons13
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed September 30, 2020 for a stay in September 2020

It was an absolute joy to spend a week at Bishop Fell and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Our family included me and my husband with two under 2’s plus grandparents and the property was perfectly situated for us; close proximity to many tourist spots but peaceful and tranquil on a night time. There is a park literally next door (there is an access gate in the garden) which was great for taking the twins into to keep them occupied.
The cottage is recently renovated and you can tell - all appliances and kitchen utensils are up to date and there are smart TVs throughout so you don’t miss out on Netflix, prime etc (godsend with two toddlers) and we had no issue with connectivity.
The views upstairs of the surrounding forestry are beautiful. It was just a shame we were so busy that we didn’t get the chance to sit in the comfy chairs and chill out - either indoors or outside. In the garden outside, for that matter, there are both a dining area and casual seating area as well as the option to use a fire pit.
Overall a fantastic week and we were sorry to have to leave!

Date of stay: September 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suefN5386...
1 review
“Holiday Review”
Reviewed September 5, 2020 for a stay in August 2020

We have just returned from our family holiday at Bishop Fell. The house is stunning and Jane the lady who owns the property was very helpful both before our holiday and during.

My elderly mum spent the week with us and all her needs were able to be met easily, due to bedrooms and a bathroom downnstairs.

Jane left us a lovely welcome pack for our arrival,with some lovely goodies.

The scenery is beautiful and to sum everthing up, our holiday was perfect.

We are already looking to book for next year.

Date of stay: August 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsJLBrow...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow... Bishop fell - Luxury holiday home ”
Reviewed August 30, 2020 for a stay in August 2020

Wow! We have just returned home after having an amazing week at Bishop Fell... the house is absolutely stunning with the most incredible fixtures and fittings.. the decor throughout is beautiful and the kitchen is very well equipped with everything at the highest quality. Jane the host greeted us on arrival and provided us with a welcome hamper which was lovely ! The house is situated in a great location in the lakes for exploring, we enjoyed many walks as well as visiting Coniston, Ulverston, Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere, Ambleside all within driving distance. We will certainly return in the future to this amazing property and will definitely recommend this wonderful place to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovescoff...
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage with a truly luxury feel - a real gem!”
Reviewed July 27, 2020 for a stay in July 2020

Stayed at Bishop Fell for a week in July 2020. We were blown away by the quality of every element of the house. It looked fantastic in the photos but was even better in real life which is certainly very rare! Decoration throughout was beautiful and extremely well thought out. Facilities were ideal for groups/families staying together as there was plenty of space for the evenings and 3 gorgeous bathrooms. Self catered most meals most days while we stayed and found the kitchen to be exceptionally well equipped compared to many other holiday cottages I have stayed in before. Owner was really helpful with suggestions for walks and restaurants etc both before arrival and during our stay. Responded to any queries very promptly and left us a lovely welcome hamper for arrival which was much appreciated. Great location in the lakes for exploring - we enjoyed many walks while we were there and our group of 2 children, a grandparent and other family members all had a fantastic week away. Covid-19 precautions were all also dealt with in a very efficient manner. We are already thinking about when we would like to book again and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
1 review
“A beautiful and luxurious holiday home. Simply perfect.”
Reviewed April 3, 2020 for a stay in March 2020

We booked this property to celebrate my Mums 60th birthday and we were not disappointed! The house is stunning and extremely well equipped - no expense has been spared. Ideal for extended families and the host Jane is great and looked after us very well with a lovely package of local goodies on arrival and great communication both prior to and after our stay. Book now, you will not be disappointed!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenpG36...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're looking for luxury........”
Reviewed January 17, 2020 for a stay in January 2020

We stayed in this beautiful property for New Year and so pleased we chose Bishop Fell. Newly renovated and furnished to an amazingly high standard, start to finish, the owners have literally thought of everything. Perfect for larger families, and having bedrooms downstairs also was a plus with great disability access, shower and we on ground floor. Great walks on doorstep, lovely pubs and restaurants close by. We would highly recommended and most definitely shall return. The owner delivered us warm home baked mince pies and a wonderful bottle of champagne upon arrival - lovely lady and great service.

Date of stay: January 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.