We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The lobby was large and clean, it has a restaurant with a good menu (although I did not eat there), the room was very large and had great decor but they did have an old fashioned air conditioner... perhaps it was meant to be retro looking. I would have given it 4 stars if it was $15 less per night though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjatlanta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had to return unexpectedly for family emergency - they were very accommodating and the lady at the front desk was very nice. Rooms are clean but it had been a very busy weekend for the hotel and the rooms were not as clean as when we had previously stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed hear during SOAR at GSU and will definitely return often! I waited too long for our Aug trip and am so disappointed that it is full. Book early!
Very clean and modern. Friendly staff. Great Breakfast. Nice Pool. Best Location. What more do you want? My only negative are the beds. They are fine and comfortale enough but don't expect those super comfortable Serta mattresses like Hampton or others offer.
Other than that, all was so much better than expected! I will now look for other Holiday Inns in our travels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers5GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

In town to tour GSU with my daughter and was greeted with a friendly and helpful staff. Had not stayed in a Holiday Inn in years and was not expecting what we got. The outside is nice but does not do the inside justice. Everywhere was beautiful and clean. We had a room with two beds and it was huge. My stay was less that 24hrs and I wished it could have lasted longer. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Enjoyed upscale restaurant on site! Pool was refreshing! They have the best chocolate covered strawberries ever(my husband surprised me with)! Everything was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The good -

Good location
Good parking
Nice lobby
Friendly and helpful front desk
Lots of restaurants nearby
Grounds are very nice and well kept

Here is where it falls down -

Cheap, cheap building construction
Door handles falling off. They just swing around.
Bathroom door lock was broken and trapped a person inside
The mattresses were low quality
The mattress pad did not fit and would not stay on the bed
The pillow cases were about 8 inches too short and kept falling off
The maids were loud in the morning
There was noise at night from the adjoining room. Midnight and the party was on!

It is too bad that such a new hotel has so many problems.

Be sure to take a pillow with you when you go to the bathroom in case you get locked inside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Although I regularly stay at Holiday Inn properties and am generally 'satisfied", this property represents a standard to which all others, including Express, ought to aspire.

The property is immaculately clean and well maintained. I heartily commend Local management's decision to have the property SMOKE FREE, and while I recognize that Holiday Inn is European owned where I guess there is greater tolerance of the addiction, I know that Holiday Inn would be higher on my list if the chain were to adopt such policy. My preferred chain is Marriott and be it assured their chain wide all brands smoke free policy is why they are there.

The restaurant is exceptional and I'm glad that management, no doubt with the concurrence of Holiday Inn management sought out a chef and kitchen staff that was going to provide the patrons with a memorable experience rather than "the usual....' I have learned from my friends in the area that this restaurant is a 'destination' restaurant and that those living in the area dine there by choice.

All told, an excellent property that I look forward to a return when my travel requirements next dictate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilbie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Statesboro hotels
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Statesboro
Hampton Inn Statesboro
#1 of 12 in Statesboro
513 reviews
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Statesboro
90 reviews
2.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Statesboro University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Days Inn Statesboro
Days Inn Statesboro
#2 of 12 in Statesboro
561 reviews
2.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Statesboro
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Statesboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area

Address: 455 Commerce Dr, Statesboro, GA 30461-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Statesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Price Range: $149 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Statesboro - University Area Ideally situated near the Statesboro Municipal Airport, Georgia Southern University and Ogeechee Technical College, the Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area Hotel offers comfortable, deluxe accommodations near Statesboro, Georgia's popular attractions and prominent businesses. We're located just off the 301 Bypass(Veterans Memorial Pky). At Holiday Inn Statesboro near Georgia Southern University GSU our guests enjoy shopping at the Statesboro Mall and cooling off at Splash in the Boro Waterpark. Dining and entertainment on Main Street Statesboro and special events at the Averitt Center for the Arts can be found less than three miles away. Business travelers appreciate our Statesboro lodgings near the Gateway Regional Industrial Park, the Airport Industrial Park and corporations such as Coca-Cola and Briggs & Stratton. Over 2,250 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access are provided to accommodate our guests' professional needs. During your visit to our hotel in Statesboro, we invite you to dine with us in our full-service restaurant, Emma's Restaurant & Lounge, Emma's features a weekday breakfast and lunch buffet, Sunday brunch, and mouth-watering dinner menu. In the evening, join us in the lobby for excellent conversation and complimentary hors d'oeuvre. Each of our hotel rooms are equipped with modern amenities including mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, flat screen TVs, and more. For your convenience, an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool and a well-equipped fitness center are available. As you plan your trip, explore our exceptional Statesboro, GA hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Statesboro South Hotel Statesboro
Statesboro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing