We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel(Charlecote)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$174
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$176
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$193
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
131
80
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
80
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelgames roombunk bedsperson roomschool partystratford upon avonself catering kitchenshower and toiletbus stop rightlarge groundslovely buildingfamily breakshort driveup to datethe main housebuffet breakfastreception area
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 243 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2016

Brought a group here. Great location for visiting Stratford, with lovely outside seating area. Food basic but tasty, and staff very welcoming. Plenty of social rooms to relax if weather poor. a short drive into town, or even walkable.

Room Tip: Can be very hot on top floor.
Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your recent YHA Stratford-upon-Avon experience.

Although we are located out of town, it does offer an oasis away from the melee of the busy Stratford tourism trail. Our Restaurant is open from 07.30-21.00 hrs seven days a week, serving a range of meals to suit the time of day and our bar is open till 23.30 hrs, also seven days a week. One can be wile away the evening sitting on our decking area or take in the early evening sounds of nature, sitting at one of our tables located in the grounds. It is an ideal spot for groups, families and individuals alike.

Really hope to be able to welcome you back here again with another group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay in one of the pods in the grounds of this lovely youth hostel. Friendly helpful staff and nice food at great prices. 2 mile walk into Stratford which worked fine for us. Decent pub in the village (The Ferry), which served good food. Not cheap but very well prepared. Liked it here!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ManInBlack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2016

What lovely comments to match the lovely stay you had with us, so thank you for sharing your experience.

Our Deluxe Pod units have now been in operation for just over a year and are proving very popular indeed. A self contained unit comprising of a fixed double bed, a double pull out sofa bed, ensuite shower facilities, kitchenette and dining area. Outside is a decking area, which is little sun trap, once those pesky clouds have cleared.

It would be great to see you back here again but plan well ahead if you want another Pod unit......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

I stayed here for a night as I was going to the theatre in Stratford. It's only 10 minutes drive from Stratford town centre and was exceptionally good value.
I had a private room with en-suite for less than £30.

The hostel is easy to find, there is plenty of parking, and the staff on duty when I checked in were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are basic - I had booked a double with en-suite but actually had one of the rooms which sleeps three, so the bed was a bunk-bed with a double bed below and a single bed above. The bed was comfortable, and there is a reading light, electric socket and little shelf large enough for a phone, which is handy (and better than a lot of hotels manage!)

Other than the bed, the home and a small cupboard and a desk (but no chair!)

The bathroom was small and very basic, and it's important to note that as this is a hostel, towels and toiletries are not supplied (although I believe that you can rent a towel, and buy toiletries, at reception). It was, however, scrupulously clean.

I didn't try the hostel's bar or restaurant -I did make use of the kitchen which seems pretty well equipped (I only used the kettle and fridge)

All in all, this is extremely good value for money, and all the dtaff members I met were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tbagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2016

Thanks ever so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and the overnight you had with us was clearly an enjoyable one.

You can hire towels from our reception desk for a nominal fee and toiletries are also available to be purchased from 07.00-23.00 hrs seven days a week. Our hosting team are always available to advise guests on any aspect of their stay or matters relating to the wider Stratford experience.

Hope that we'll be able to welcome you back again sometime very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2016

We were in a large group and arrived late but they welcomed us! The bar and lounge area were still busy and it was clean and characteristic. The bunk beds were expected but were not as bad as i'd thought they might be and the rooms are clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms, although separate from the room, were great, separate toilets and showers and the showers were the best things, clean, powerful and very welcome. All in all, i'd go back in a second, breakfast was great and everyone very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2016

We're really pleased that you had such a great stay and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The Hostel is staffed from 07.00 - 00.30 hrs seven days a week, so no matter what time you arrive you will still receive a warm welcome. Our communal areas are available to be used 24 hrs a day and the bar, though generally closing around 23.30-00.00 hrs, can be kept open later with prior agreement.

As a national accommodation provider we have taken up the challenge of highlighting the sites with the old style bunk beds and replacing them with more modern and comfortable metal framed bunks and better matresses. This is a big project but pays off judging by your comments.

I will pass on your comments about the cleanliness of the wahsrooms to the housekeeping team who will be really happy that their hard work does not go unnoticed.

Hope to be able to welcome you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my classmates visited this youth hostel for one night while in Stratford to see a play to aid our studies. Upon arriving we were greeted quickly and efficiently and swiftly given keys to our rooms. Once in my room (which I shared with 2 others) i was alarmed to discover no toilet, but was quickly reassured that this was not abnormal. Each of the bunk beds had their own light, plug and small shelf next to them - I found this a lovely touch. The lighting next to mirrors could have been improved as I was trying to do my makeup, however I appreciate that this may not be a main priority. Overall, the rooms were clean and the Shakespeare quote on the wall made it seem like effort had been put into the decor. Upon arriving back at the hostel after dinner, the bar staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and we were able to take drinks back up to our rooms. A cooked breakfast was provided, along with other fruit, yoghurts and cereal. One thing that should be noted is that I had to ask one of the staff for water, which was not already on display with the other juices, teas and coffees. She seemed shocked that I had asked her, but did still get me the requested water. Overall the stay was amazing value for money and I would definitely revisit in future. !

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank karalowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2016

It's great to hear that you had such a lovely time staying with us and thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Our service times at Hemmingford's Restaurant & Bar are from 07.30 - 21.00 hrs. seven days a week with a whole range of different items to suite a variety of differing needs and requirements. As an added bonus the bar stays open till 23.30 hrs. (or later depending on demand).

The mirrors in all our bedrooms have a switch at the side of them that illuminates the whole area, so next time you come and see us you will be able to have a perfect makeover .......

You say you will definitely be back, so we'll look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews