We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay - Less Than Average Breakfast Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Thomasville
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I found that my encounters with all of the staff was great, with one exception...the breakfast attendant was anything but attentive. The breakfast bar was out of food both mornings that I was there. There was food on the floor and she walked over it and spent time sitting at a table talking to a guest rather than taking care of the breakfast. The tip jars on the two trash receptacles with hand written signage was a little too much.

On the positive side, the room was very clean and well cared for. Our room had two queen beds and a sitting area that was very spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful, both at check-in and check-out. The lobby and commercial area was bright and well tended. The pool area was under construction at the time of our stay...but that was noted on the website at the time I made the reservation. I would certainly stay there again, but would hope that attention is given to the breakfast service in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and although it was on the highway side of the building, it was very...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick trip to a golf tournament nearby. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk that appeared pleased to be there and serve guests. Check in was quick even though there was a wedding party in town and lots of activity. Our room was very clean and my wife pleased to see pillows marked 'Soft' and 'Firm'. My nose is quite sensitive to smells and I can't report any unpleasant odors. The only 'bad' remark was our son saying he wished there were glass elevators like the last hotel we stayed . . . lol. So if you're looking for glass elevators look elsewhere otherwise this is an excellent Holiday Inn Express (and I travel a LOT)! The pool is indoor and very clean without the overwhelming stench of chlorine, and just the right temperature. We even watched the sunset thru the large windows while swimming in the indoor pool, a refreshing surprise and nice way to wind down! Breakfast was ready and delicious promptly at 6:30am with staff again friendly. Our stay was short, but we felt like we were on a cruise ship.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Anytime we are in Thomasville we choose the Holiday Inn Express as our hotel. The rooms are clean and affordable. The hotel is always peaceful so you can get good rest. The staff is very friendly, especially the hostess for the breakfast which was hot, fresh and well replenished. We will be back again on the next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On the positive side, the rooms were large, comfortable, and clean. Great assortment of TV channels available. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for remodeling or something, so I was unable to take advantage of it. Small workout room had enough of the right equipment for a brief workout. Breakfast assortment was so-so, but always hot and delicious. (Of course the cinnamon rolls are always good!) The staff was always pleasant and greeting me every time I passed someone.

On the negative side, Government travelers should avoid here. They offer the GSA rates on the weekends only. Monday - Thursday my Government rate went up $6 more per night. I asked why the rate goes up on Mondays and was told "That's OUR Government rate." For a moment, I thought I was in another country. Stayed during the week for three weeks. Will look for another hotel that offers the US government rate throughout the stay when I return in July.

Bottom line...for a brief stay, this hotel is great. But only if you don't want or have to pay the GSA lodging rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Steve V,

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to hear that we were able to meet most of your expectations especially with our hotel staff and room accommodations.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests with our rates but instead provide options that make sense. Nevertheless, we always appreciate comments from our guests. We will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

I hope you give us another chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Once I found the hotel, it turned out to be great. For some reason, my GPS did not help me. Fortunately, I always print out directions when I am going somewhere in the country. I was actually attending my son's graduation and decided to check out Thomasville about 50 miles away from Tallahassee. I hit the right weekend. There was a veteran's celebration/parade Saturday. It was a special event since our soldiers were returning home from Iraq. I also checked out downtown shopping and dining. There were many options and all good. Back to the hotel... It was a very nice hotel. It looked brand new even though I understand it is about 9 years old. I had a large suite with king size bed on the third floor with a view of the wooded areas of town. Even though the hotel is located near a state highway, it was very quiet. The hotel had all the bells and whistles; however, the pool was closed for repairs. The breakfast was almost buffet style with plenty of hot and cold foods to select. The service was great and gracious. This is one of the better hotels in a great historical location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Appeared to be a new property, everything was fresh and clean. The rooms were spacious with a flat screen TV, microwave and small refrigerator. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Sincerely,
Kavita Thakoor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself was nice. The front desk staff were just okay; borderline rude/impatient. The room, bathroom, and lobby were nice. The bed was horrible; particularly, one side of the bed was worn and the sheets were uncomfortable. When traveling for business, quality sleep is a must. I was able to sleep better/sound once I moved to the other side of the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the front desk staff and the discomfort of the beds you have faced. We have addressed the need and next time make sure you would not face this similar situation again at the hotel. As a matter fact, next time when you come to the hotel if you let us know ahead of time we will make sure to put a topper on your bed for the ease of sleep. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Kavita Thakoor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomasville
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Rose City Conference Center Inn
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Thomasville
Hampton Inn Thomasville
#2 of 12 in Thomasville
293 reviews
1.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Thomasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Days Inn Thomasville
Days Inn Thomasville
#6 of 12 in Thomasville
219 reviews
39.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monticello
148 reviews
22.6 km away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville

Address: 452 Liberty St, Thomasville, GA 31757-4899
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Thomasville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Thomasville
Price Range: $172 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Thomasville, GA now offers travelers a wonderful resting place for guests to lay their heads at night. Known as Rose City, Thomasville in the 1800's was home of the most luxuriously appointed hotels of America's gilded age, the 'Original Winter Resort of the South.'The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville offers numerous rose gardens for guests to view. The two Grand Fountains catch your eye as you reach the hotel entrance. The sound and view of the water cascading is an instant stress reliever. Our doors open to a Grand Chandlier that sparkles like thousands of diamonds and simply takes your breath away. As you stroll into the two story lobby you will see our Grand Staircase that gives you the feel as if you walked right into a Grand Plantation. Our hotel offers a total of 81 spacious rooms, featuring 32 suites. You have a choice of either a king or two queen beds. All of our standard rooms feature a frigerator coffee/tea pot, two phones with voice mail and personalized wake-up calls, free High-Speed Internet (DSL) access, a 27in flat screen TV with cable & HBO in your room.You will be able to start off your day alot smarter after showering with the new signature Holiday Inn Express showerhead, which is also featured in every room along with the curved curtain rod. Our suites feature a kitchenette and living area with a pull-out sofa. Other amenities include a pool, 24 hour business center, fitness center w/ coin laundry and a Deluxe Continental Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Thomasville
Holiday Inn Thomasville
Thomasville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Thomasville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing