We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mcgarveys
St. Thomas

Relaxe away from it all

Review of Spanish Cay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 8, 2017
Nothing fancy but a wonderful out Island experience. Quiet and relaxing. Nice walks, nice beaches. Usually a few interesting boats in the marina. Single restaurant bar where everyone can meet in the evenings. So informal and pleasant.
Date of stay: June 2016
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
The pool view
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$740
  • Trip.com
109.8 km from Spanish Cay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
136.6 km from Spanish Cay
Free parking
Pool
Green Turtle Club Swimming Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
149.9 km from Spanish Cay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
6 rooms overlooking the pool
Vio.com
    112.8 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • travelup.com
    • Trip.com
    115.5 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Docks and Marina
    115.7 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bar
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    110.2 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    111.4 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    119.5 km from Spanish Cay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Spanish Cay
    Reviews (26)
    Filter reviews
    26 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    5
    4
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    5
    4
    2
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 26 reviews
    Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

    Made Spanish Cay our port of entry into the Bahamas after crossing from Florida. Arrived well after dark and were still greeted by two staff members to help us secure the boat and supply us while waiting on customs. Everyone at the resort was friendly, courteous as well as very knowledgeable and helpful. The Ships Store is VERY well stocked, including a wide range of beverages. The resort bar rocks and has plenty of "stuff" to keep you occupied if the people watching is not enough: ping pong, pool, table shuffle board, etc. will definitely return for a longer visit.

    Date of stay: December 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank V1694EIsteves
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 17, 2016

    A privately owned 3 mile island with a sparse smattering of private residences. The owner runs a marina, small gift and market store, restaurant, bar and pool area, golf cart rental and rental units. If you like being away from all the crowds and are a boater, you will find a Gilligan's island destiny at Spanish Cay.

    The rock jetty protected marina amenities include water, power, and slips for overnighters or extended stays. Be aware of the nurse sharks that are fed and congregate in the marina. Although I've seen videos of people in the water with them, I wouldn't suggest that as I watched one bite right through a running water hose that fell in the water! They are fascinating and provide some great photo/video ops!

    The gift/ market store and office sit atop a flight of stairs overlooking the marina. This is where you'll find T-shirts, produce, ice, bread, beverages, hardware, etc. and an "aisle liquor store"! Check in for slips and rooms at the office (the desk to the right at entry). We were checked in by the owners, Gemma, very kind and accommodating, and Don, entertaining with his jocularity.

    The white linen tables restaurant can accommodate a decent size crowd, and was a surprise to the eyes in the simple surrounding atmosphere. Through a door, is the bar and game room. Food is also served in the bar. The menu is reasonably limited. (We didn't dine in the restaurant, not sure if that is a different menu). The game room is great fun, ping pong, table shuffleboard (this is lots of fun!), ring toss, card table, and a new Karaoke! You can't imagine the new found self acclaimed talent after the hefty pours by the bar staff! Even Don, the owner, belted out a few classics, and quite well!.

    The clean and inviting little pool is out through the game room door. Surrounded by nice seating and day beds, and lounges. Very quaint, and perfect for taking a dip or sunbathing.

    Down the docks and up a few stairs to the land side, are the condos available to rent. They are surprisingly roomy and the A/C was super frosty! We rented a 2 bedroom condo, each with own bathrooms. One room has a king size bed with ensuite bathroom, and the other bedroom had 2 queens with a bathroom that also served as the guest bathroom. The very roomy living room has cathedral ceiling, and lots of windows. The little adjoining efficiency kitchen has a small stovetop, sink, toaster oven, and little refrigerator. This unit was a typical Bahamian rental, nothing fancy, needed updated maintenance, but was spacious and chilly. Golf cart rentals are available, not really a necessity for a boater, as the only 'destinations" would be a drive to the airstrip at night to see all the stars, or to the south beach. One day rental suited us just fine. Everything we needed to access was right between our unit, and marina.

    Since the island suffered damage from past hurricanes, the Wreckers Bar on the beach isn't open. I'm not sure if the beach condos were open either, you'd need to inquire. If you are boater and prefer to be near your boat, I would suggest renting the condos at the marina area. The island is a lovely secluded, undeveloped, non touristy atmosphere, with great fishing and snorkeling in the surrounding areas.

    Date of stay: July 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Iwanttoseeit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

    My husband and I docked here for dinner and drinks and we weren't disappointed. The view is incredible! Service was wonderful and very accommodating. We met the owner of the island who was also working behind the bar. Great guy! We drank their famous house punch and it was amazing! Will definitely return!

    Date of stay: August 2015
    Thank Katie B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 7, 2016

    Imagine an 81 slip marina with one boat. An island resort with a total of 8 guests. The hospitality of the staff, Lisa and Tornado, helped a lot in compensating for the otherwise abandoned feeling of Spanish Cay.

    Date of stay: February 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    3  Thank breichert
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

    Very expensive compared to other marinas in the Bahamas, $2.95 a foot $0.45 a gallon for water, food was so so. Pool had algae in it. Marina needs lots of work, our fault for not checking prices, we won't go back

    Date of stay: August 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank mikekenny2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews