We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go-to restaurant for out of town guests”

Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery
Ranked #12 of 879 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. With three locations in Boise, Eagle and Coeur d'Alene that capture the spirit of Idaho and the Northwest, Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery is a cornerstone of Idaho's restaurant and bar industry. The original establishment is located in a once empty warehouse on the Historic Basque Block in downtown Boise, Idaho. On April 25th, 2000, history was made when we served the first cocktail to included spirits distilled in a restaurant in the US. As the nation's first restaurant distillery, Bardenay has set an industry precedent as the first full service restaurant and bar with the ability to create handcrafted liquor on-site. Our distillers are happy to give tours as time allows. Please ask your server if you are interested in a closer look at our operations. p.s. We are only allowed to sell our fine spirits by the drink. If you would like to purchase a bottle, you may do so at many of our state liquor stores.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Easy to get to from airport. Parking nearby. Lively downtown location with inside and outside seating. Menu varied with burgers to trout, all fresh. Wait staff courteous and well-informed. Makes a great impression on visitors. Oh, and food is delicious too.

Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thanks for the great review!! :) We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 797 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2018

Nice setting outdoors. Friendly service. Nice wine and beer choices. We ordered the Ahi in salad and sandwich form. Both fresh and cooked just right.

Thank subithere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

So good to hear, thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Ate here on an early Monday evening while visiting Boise and the place was packed. Nice outside eating area, but we ate inside and the atmosphere was that of a nice upscale brewery. My husband ordered the fish and chips and said it was quite good. I had the charbroiled salmon with the sun dried tomato butter. The salmon was delicious as was the butter that was served with it. Price was reasonable.

Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

"I had the charbroiled salmon with the sun dried tomato butter. The salmon was delicious as was the butter that was served with it. "...... Sounds like a delicious meal Janie!! Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We celebrated a family birthday at this fun and boisterous eatery in mid-August. Sitting outside was very pleasant and in spite of how busy the place was, our drinks and meal came very quickly. The shrimp and steak tips were very delicious but be sure to ask about side dishes, as some of the menu items are not intended to be a filling, complete meal. I would definitely eat here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelandlaurie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for celebrating with us!! We appreciate the feedback and the five stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We were 90 minutes early for our flight, so we decided to get a bite to eat at Bardenay’s. I had the Bardenay Club Sandwich ($10.50) with fries, and the hubby had the Canlis Caesar Salad ($9.50). Hubby liked his salad, but I LOVED my sandwich! The sandwich had roasted turkey, smoked ham, thick bacon, lettuce, tomato and sun-dried tomato mayo. That sauce was what made the sandwich special! I would definitely reorder it again and again.

The service was a bit slow. I had asked the Server for a knife (to cut my sandwich into quarters), but she didn’t bring the knife until after she went and took someone else’s order. A different Server brought us our check. My husband told her we have a flight to catch. She said, “Sir, we’re at the airport. Everyone has a flight to catch.” I thought her comment was pretty snotty and unprofessional. I guess the hubby should have said, our flight is in 20 minutes?”

Thank lwoudstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We are so glad you loved your food!!! We apologize for the service. We will pass your comments along to management of the Airport franchise. (Delaware North)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing