We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
505
243
70
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
243
70
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge mid century rain shower big city coffee fresh squeezed juice craft cocktails downtown boise huge shower mini bar continental breakfast yogurt walk in shower quiet room a great place to stay business trip close to downtown hip
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 862 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2018

I was in Boise for business purposes (conference), but staying at the Modern Hotel made me feel like I was actually getting to know the city a bit better than if I had stayed in a large chain downtown. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the concept of the hotel was super fun with a great aesthetic. I loved the bar too- amazing cocktails and fire pits outside! Definitely a great value for the price, and the hotel made my trip to Boise feel a lot more personal. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to other travelers hoping to experience real Boise.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristenanddavid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheModernH, Public Relations Manager at The Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the recommendation. We're very much tied into our community and I'm glad it was reflected in your experience! Come back soon--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2018

Not what I signed up for. When I arrived I was told that I wasn’t in the main hotel, but was a few blocks down the street at their long-term apartments. It was late and cold and I had to walk there. The place was big, but cold / cheap feeling and wasn’t at all as advertised. Extremely disappointing

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2vacation35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheModernH, Public Relations Manager at The Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

If you could, would you mind calling Polly Evett at our front desk (208) 424-8244? I think our wires got crossed and we'd like to see if we can help you feel better about your experience. Upon researching your reservation, we see that you booked through a third party rather than through our website or front desk. Because of your confusion concerning the difference between a hotel room and our apartments, it is clear that we need to revisit the verbiage on the third-party site in order to clarify the different lodging options we offer. That will better insure that a guest expectations are met. I hope we hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2018

Great location, friendly staff, great restaurant and bar. What's not to love? I was here on business as I am about 4 times per year. I have stayed in other hotels but never been as satisfied as when staying at the modern. Its walking distance from great food and every convenience that you might need.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Compass03763741621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheModernH, Public Relations Manager at The Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

It's so gratifying to know that you choose us, when you have so many other choices. We don't take your satisfaction for granted--we'll keep trying to earn your kind review! Thank you--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018

I loved my stay at the Modern Hotel, the rooms are retro cool, fantastic beds, linens and showers, super clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are fantastic with a great assortment of spirits and professionals who know how to mix up a nice cocktail to compliment some tasty appetizers. Outdoor seating with gas firepits is awesome. Overall I really don't see the need to go anywhere else when visiting Boise on business or pleasure.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fearless39538695554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheModernH, Public Relations Manager at The Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so glad you'll choose to stay with us again--the firepits are nice in the winter, too, so we hope to see you again soon. Gratefully--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Great value and cool vibe. Can see the outdoor garden / patio as a cool gathering place. It is an mid century style hotel that has been completely refinished, not just cosmetically. Considering the "bones" it is great hotel, definite value for quality

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheModernH, Public Relations Manager at The Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Ben, you are clearly a man of discerning tastes! Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review--we hope to see you back soon. Warmly--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews