We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The real highlight of staying here is the golf and the lake. The resort it self is dated and definitely not a 5-star hotel. It was my first stay and after checking in to the hotel I was stunned about how much the rates were. The area around is great with lots to do.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view if your willing to over pay for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram9558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

ram9558,

Thank you for your kind and constructive comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do so and we hope that you can come and stay with us again. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

When we stayed at the Coeur d'Alene Resort years ago, it was the epitome of a 5 star resort. With additional experience, not quite so now.

Pros:
1. Customer service is still great.
2. Lots of things to do inside and out. The outdoor pool via water taxi was a hit with our family.
3. They can accommodate bikes in a safe location if you have them. Not all resorts have this feature.
4. Beverly's restaurant was top notch.
5. Maintenance was very responsive.

Cons:
1. Overpriced for the smallish room experience they offer - queen beds are more like full, for example.
2. Dockside restaurant was the worst restaurant experience at a resort. Ever. The waitress did not acknowledge us until we said something, the service was amateurish, and my pre-school daughter's need for food was ignored. Unacceptable.
3. Good luck putting on your make up if you are a petite female. The main mirror is too far away, there is no side mirror, and the blow drier is toss in a drawer in the bedroom somewhere.
4. Little touches that make a guest experience memorable (outside of the stellar staff) are missing. Morning coffee from the fading coffee maker was substandard. The robes were ungainly to wear and try to function in. The alarm still has 30 pin adapters, which are useless for newer iPhones. Oh, and you have some left overs from dinner? Good luck getting it in the refrigerator stuffed with resort fodder.
5. The showers were a interesting experience. The controls are in the back of the stall, requiring you to step into the shower so you can be sprayed with cold water when you turn it on. The door is not flush with the stall walls, so water tends to flood onto the floor if you do not angle the shower head correctly.
6. Wifi was spotty and slow. Log in required you to "buy" a free pass, which was confusing and we had to do it daily.
7. They were having a problem with the gating at the parking garage. It is supposed to work with your room key, but it never did with ours so we had to call and wait each time, which was irritating.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on a floor with a wedding party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Noir333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Noir333,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and I am glad to hear our customer service was as great as you have known it to be. I also appreciate your constructive comments and I am sorry to hear about the disappointments you experienced with us. The issues you have discussed have been reviewed for corrective action. Thank you again for sharing these items and allowing us improve our services. We look forward to showing you our improvements on your next visit with us. Thank you for being our guest. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

All staff is unenthusiastic and disinterested. No guest greeting, no courtesy. Property is run down and dirty. There was hair and finger prints all over our room. Peeling paint, stained carpets, cobwebs all over property. Huge pile of garbage floating by dock right by boat launch. No attention to detail and no care.
Definitely not a resort, not 5 star and not worth the visit. Will never return and do not recommend
Management needs to walk around property and re train all staff. Amazed at poor level of service all around.

Stayed: July 2016
6  Thank BellinghamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

BellinghamWA,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit with us. We are know for providing a high level of service and care for our guests and I am sorry to hear that was not your experience with us. Each of these issues have been addressed and we have appreciated the communication you have exchanged with us as we improve our services. Thank you for being our guest and we hope you will return for a enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Messed up reservation for 14 guys on four day golf trip. Booked three days vs requested four. For the second year they messed up check-out as well. Food at Dockside is expensive and mediocre. Service was very slow.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scottbsmith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

scottsmith1955,

Thank you for sharing about your visit with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do so and we have taken note of your constructive comments for corrective action. We look forward to welcoming you back to our improvements. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We only stayed one night on the "25th Anniversary Golf Package", we set a 10 AM t-time Monday, July 25th on the first morning we were to stay at the resort. The golf course was in beautiful shape, the weather couldn't be any better and our Fore Caddie (Daniel) was awesome. The only problem was we didn't see a cart girl for 16 holes. So we had no water or anything to drink on the 95+ day. We also ordered food from our golf cart before #9 so that we could pick up our order right after making the turn. The Caddie ran up to the restaurant while we were finishing 9 to get our food and they informed him they had a computer glitch and there was no food. At this point we didn't have time to order because of a full golf course. We still had no water, finally on hole #16 we saw the cart girl.
After golf we drove back to the Resort to check in (around 2:30) and they informed us our room was not ready yet. We were sweaty and tired but decided to eat in the restaurant by the lobby, we had a great waitress (Heather) and we soon forgot about our room not being ready. We wasted about an hour and a half and went back to the front desk to ask for our room and it still wasn't ready, its as after 4 PM. Needless to say we then started getting really irritated. We sat in some chairs by the front check in and we finally got our keys about 4:30 PM. I took a shower for dinner that night and the shower pressure was awful (like a Motel 6 standards) and the water kept getting hot then cold and didn't stop. It seemed to be a handicap room with a shower curtain. For $800 package for one night this was not OK. The wifi did't work either!
The one thing I can be positive about and why I gave a "3" is ALL THE STAFF were very nice at the golf course and resort. We did have an amazing dinner at Beverly's that night. We will not stay here again, for the price we paid and the amenities we could have stayed at the Hyatt.
I hate making poor reviews but this had to be said for this NOT so 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Ask if it is handicap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Lori W,

Thank you for taking the time share about your stay with us. We appreciate each of your constructive comments regarding your experience as they allow us to address these issues, which I assure you we are. Please accept our apologies for these disappointments. I have sent a private message to you in hopes of contacting you further to apologize in person and find a happy resolution. Thank you for your kind comment about our staff I will be sure to share them. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I stayed 4 nights at this resort. It was amazing! The views from my balcony were awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a good workout facility and indoor pool. A short complimentary boat ride away produced a beautiful outdoor pool area. There was a nice bar with attentive staff. They had a variety of popcorn flavors. Very tasty. I didn't eat in the restaurant as there were many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Gary A,

Thank you for your generous comments. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations with us and that you were able to explore the downtown area. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

It was the last night of our vacation so we treated ourselves to the luxury of a CDR view room and a morning massage. We enjoyed the evening with wine, appetizers, and a nice walk up town to unwind. Thanks for the memories.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "Lake View" room. Rooms are costly in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antoinette1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Antoinette1941,

Thank you for being our guest! I hope you had a great vacation and we are glad you let us be apart of your trip. We appreciate your kind comments and we hope you can come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
3.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
922 reviews
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $174 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing