We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what I needed...”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

From the minute I arrived, I knew I was going to be pampered beyond my expectations. Cory and his workers know exactly what makes a great vacation - horse rides on a pre-chosen well-matched riding buddy, GREAT food, as much as you can handle, lots of activities and enough gorgeous scenery to fill a NatGeo Book! The wranglers are exceptionally trained and patient with all riders, the chef and his helpers pay attention to every detail, and the cabins are comfortable, cozy and well cared for, including laundry anytime you need it! I can't even express what a wonderful time I had for the week! Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: All cabins are within an easy walk to the Lodge for meals. Talk to Jody or Cory and ask for whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiB7990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
38
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We recently visited the Red Horse Mountain Ranch for our family vacation. It was truly spectacular! The ranch itself is beautiful, and the staff offers friendly hospitality. They couldn't be more accommodating. The overall program is so well thought out and executed perfectly. Our children had the time of their lives and even preferred it to Disney World. We all hope to visit the ranch again someday. Every family should spend at least one week of their lives at the Red Horse Mountain Ranch!

Room Tip: I believe there is an early booking discount worth taking advantage of when booking. The individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisahadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was the best family vacation ever! The staff was wonderful, nice, welcoming, and very patient. They truly did everything they could to make our vacation special. Although a lot of activities are offered, the atmosphere is very relaxed and there is never any time pressure. Our ten-year-old son had a wonderful time. Kids are so safe that they can roam freely and come and go as they please (not having to deal with a room key helps!) and there is also plenty to do together as a family. My husband and son played many games of pool in the saloon. During our stay the weather was not very good, it was cold and rainy and we could not take advantage of the swimming pool or the hot tubs, but still loved it there. The food was great and the evening entertaining wonderful. And get a massage - their massage therapist is awesome! Can only recommend this place. Internet is very slow and it is not worth bringing your computer. I left mine at home and was glad I did. It was a true "getaway" and it was hard to leave. We returned home happy and refreshed.

Room Tip: the rooms in the lodge can be a bit loud in th
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesotamom2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Amazing doesn't begin to describe the Red Horse Mountain Ranch. From the staff to the accommodations, the food to the activities - they have it down to an art and a science. Everyone my family and I encountered was genuinely friendly and helpful. I felt at home and welcome from the minute I arrived. I would take my family back to Red Horse Mountain in a heart beat! Eternal thanks to Corey, Alison, Nick, Kevin, Andrea and all the rest for giving us the best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Enjoy scenic route around Lake Coeur d'Alene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This Ranch was amazing!! the most beautiful scenery amazinng staff. the ameneties were great. most comfortable beds we have slept in and with the dude ranch experience. We made life long friends and had plenty of adult time and famlilt time. Our children did not want to leave! The staff treated you like family and made sure everyone felt at home and was taken care of. Horse rides were geared towards the riders ability and horses were ver well taken care of. loved everything about it, epecially the food! Better than a cruise in everyway, its a cruise for the outdoors! with a staff that cares about each of its guests. our family had time to relax, bond and have fun together. everything else from laundry to meals was taken care of so we could enjoy the country. there wasnt anything that we didnt like and it would be hard to choose what we loved most. As we left for home i asked our boys what they would miss...each one said ...EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: I would stay in a cabin for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandalina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

It's a wonderful spot and the ranch is the best, but the most outstanding part of the whole experience is the outstanding staff - they're so hospitable and fun that you will want to take them home with you! We took one set of grandkids last summer, and we plan to take our other set of grandkids to the ranch as soon as they're out of diapers!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigistreidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We have been to the ranch twice with our entire family and will go again. We range in age from grandparents to pre-schoolers and all in between and all of us love the ranch. One of our grandchildren cried hard when she had to leave last summer. It is ideal for children of all ages because there are so many things to do in a safe environment. Our grandchildren gained confidence and new skills and loved being able to do things without parents. The staff at the ranch are nothing short of fantastic ... all are caring and there to see that everyone has fun. We have vactioned with our entire family for years and this ranch is the number one family choice when asked to name their favorite place. Our grown children love it and are as busy as the grandchildren. And we two grandparents can do what we want, when we want. Very relaxing and so much fun. I cannot say enough good things about this ranch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjacobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
23.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
849 reviews
22.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
23.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
23.1 km away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
20.0 km away
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
#6 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Harrison, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing