We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OMG! You had better be careful of this one... you will never want to leave!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Horse Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG! You had better be careful of this one... you will never want to leave!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This ranch was a wonderful experience. I cannot describe it any better than the other reviews, beautiful scenery, comfy accomodations, fabulous food, friendly staff, happy well kept horses... but was impressed by how well organized the schedule and all activities were. There is something for everyone at this Ranch.

As someone that loves to travel and get out there to explore new things, this place was fantastic. Definitely a repeat destination!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
37
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I just got back....Can't say enough wonderful things....activities were great and varied, entertainment perfect and great fun, accommodations were clean, comfortable and just rustic enough and best of all was the staff and personal attention...Staff knew your name, special requests honored etc. It was a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. You could tailor activities to your needs, very low key....Can't think of one negative comment to make. Although I just went with my husband I would think this would be a wonderful place for families with children as well....only wish I had brought my kids when they were younger!!

Jackie

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I just got back....Can't say enough wonderful things....activities were great and varied, entertainment perfect and great fun, accommodations were clean, comfortable and just rustic enough and best of all was the staff and personal attention...Staff knew your name, special requests honored etc. It was a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. You could tailor activities to your needs, very low key....Can't think of one negative comment to make. Although I just went with my husband I would think this would be a wonderful place for families with children as well....only wish I had brought my kids when they were younger!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I am reminded this week of the wonderful family vacation we took last year at this time at Red Horse Mountain Ranch. My nine-year old daughter, who is the only horseback rider in the family, had been asking us constantly to go to a dude ranch for vacation. We chose Red Horse Mountain because of its location in the beautiful Idaho mountains, the opportunity to enjoy the mountains while riding, and its many other activities. We also wanted a ranch where Mom and Dad could relax and enjoy themselves without the work and early morning activities of a “working dude ranch.” Red Horse Mountain far exceeded our expectations.
The riding was wonderful with lots of helpful wranglers to assist those of us who are not experienced riders. The scenery was breathtaking. We also enjoyed the many other activities that the ranch has to offer. We did it all…fly fishing lessons at the ranch, boating and fishing on the nearby lake, archery where my son took pride in hitting the moving raptor target (which was very hard to do), sporting clays, the zip line, climbing wall and challenge course, swimming and a guided fishing trip. My teenage son who is not very interested in horseback riding especially loved to go mountain biking and could enjoy the many other activities at the ranch with a guide while the rest of us rode the horses. The cabins were clean and very comfortable. The meals were great and served family-style, giving us an opportunity to get to know the other guests who were staying at the lodge and involved in ranch activities with us. Cory, his family and all staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Because the ranch was not crowded at the end of August, they could (and did) arrange for us to do whatever we wanted whenever we wanted to do it. We had a fantastic and memorable time with our family there. We hope to return soon to enjoy the splendor of the Idaho mountains, Red Horse Ranch’s hospitality, and the many fun activities at the Ranch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytraveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Everything about the Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch was perfect. Everyone was incredibly nice. The food was great. The rooms were so nice and comfortable. We loved the riding and all the other actives. Unlike some other ranches, Red Horse Mountain was particularly welcoming and accommodating to younger children - my three-year old got to go on the trial rides on a lead line! Older kids, of course, had a blast too. Thanks to all those who posted reviews of this ranch previously and helped me to find this perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this vacation. My sisters and I (all adults)stayed for a full week. We were looking for somewhere we could go and spend some quality sister time together while having a challenging exciting adventure. We found the right spot. We discovered a love of horseback riding. In one riding lesson, my sisters went from novice riders to cantering and were allowed on the advanced trail rides (I had already done a little riding before). The advanced rides were amazing. We loved the riding so much that we ended up on a horse about 5 hours a day. But the great thing is, you can do what you want. If the riding was not for you, there were so many other activities there that there was never a shortage of options. In fact, we didn't get to do everything we wanted because we just plain ran out of time.

I can't say enough about the food, either. It was so great and plenty of it. And then there's the staff. What an awesome group of people. Very down to earth and willing to accomodate just about anyone or anything. We spent a lot of time hanging out with them during happy hour(s) and they were hilarious! Thanks guys!

I would highly recommend this vacation for anyone with children. All the kids there were happy and busy and very polite. Secondarily, like ourselves, I also recommend this vacation for grown ups!! It was a great getaway from everyday life and I left with a great sense of peace and calm. Leave your cell phone and laptops behind!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blythe_ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Red Horse Mountain Ranch is almost impossible to describe with words... you have to experience it firsthand. The setting is gorgeous and serene. The cabins are nice, clean and comfortable but you still get the feel of being on a ranch in the mountains. We were truly able to unplug from the daily grind, relax and enjoy time with our family. The staff is exceptional... friendly, helpful, and fun. The food is incredible and plentiful... every time the meal bell rang we knew we would be wowed once again! Everything is well-organized and runs smoothly yet there is a relaxed atmosphere. The activities are fantastic...challenge course, zip line, fishing, shooting, arts & crafts AND OF COURSE ... the horses. There are all levels of rides, all levels of horses and the Wranglers are great! I can't say enough... great people, great activities, great scenery and great family time. We have taken some wonderful family vacations but RHMR is truly special and we will definitely return. Our kids (10 and 8) said "it wins over Disneyland, Hawaii and everywhere else we have ever been".

Room Tip: All cabins are close by and similar. My parents (in their 60s) liked being in the lodge-close to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxweluv2travelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
23.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
9.9 km away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
20.0 km away
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
#6 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Blackwell Hotel
Blackwell Hotel
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.3 km away
Arrow Point Condo
Arrow Point Condo
#3 of 6 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Harrison, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing