We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cabin to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines at Island Park
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great cabin to stay in”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in a one room with loft cabin for 6 nights. My teenage kids absolutly loved this cabin and so did we. If you want to stay away from crowds this is the place to be. Beds were great it was clean and the hot tub was so awsome. Its about 25 miles from the town of west yellowstone. Its 32 miles to the west park entrance. If you dont get the full kitchen take your electric skilit to cook food but they all have gas grills outside your cabin and Hottubs also. Its better than staying in a expensive hotel because here you dont have to deal with others making noise etc. We went the last week of July and it was near 80 each day and in the upper 40`s at night . Great place to stay away from crowds

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAWS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 2 nights at this BEAUTIFUL resort and we loved it. More so, because we received an upgrade to a massive 4 bed room log mansion for absolutely free!!!! It was over and beyond what we could have hoped for. The cabins are huge, clean, and very well maintained. The look and the feel of the place is super luxurious. The hot tub was fabulous, we spent quite some time in it. And the beds --- oh my! They are the best I have ever slept in. And yes, the cabin had a full kitchen equiped with everything you can possibly think of - a range, a convection over, ice maker, huge fridge, dishwasher, plates, mats, cutlery, you name it!

We also liked the wooded setting which gives you a secluded feel. There are pines all around, beautiful, tall greenery to feast your eyes on!

But the best part was the service - Colby (or, was it Kerby?) at the desk was a great guy, very helpful and always with a smile.

I would love to go stay there again. In fact I am already planning a winter trip because they have a great winter rate going on. You can call them to ask at [--].

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prioresslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This place was everything it showed on the website and had no hidden disappointments like many places do. The beds were very comfortable and the cabin was great to stay in. Each cabin has it's own hot-tub which was great to relax in after driving and hiking through Yellowstone each day of our stay. I would highly recommend this to anyone. They even have a restaurant which had great food in good sized proportions.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darniforgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caubell
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

My family has been going to the pines for years now and we love it! We have stayed in many of the cabins and have found them all to be clean and comfortable. The beds, as previously mentioned, are truly wonderful. The hot tub is great too, although sometimes awkwardly placed in plain view of nearby cabins. Location is great, near the main fishing rivers but also set back enough to provide a bit of privacy. The restaurant in the lodge has a salmon filet that is delicious, albeit over priced a bit. Wireless internet is available at the lodge but it tends to be very spotty and quite often slow. All in all though, we love The Pines and can't wait till we can go again this year.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outlook, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We spent five nights at the Pines, everything was very nice. Pretty limited cooking utensils in the two bedroom, but they did supply coffee and had a dvd player. Once we checked in noone really made a fuss over us, it was left up to us to request anything that we needed as we required it, clean towels etc. The snowmobile rental guy at The Pines was friendly and helpful. The Lodgepole Grill had affordable food, but not open for breakfast. Eventhough it was about 25 miles out of West Yellowstone we would stay here again, central access to main snowmobile trails and less beat up than the ones closer to W Yellowstone. However, we did not find the routes to be very clearly mapped out on the snowmobile trail maps provided by the chamber of commerce where we purchased our permits for the sleds. We hope that they will sign the corners and routes a little more clear and make sure the numbers on the map coinside with numbers on the sign posts, and that the numbers are visible from several sides of the posts. Good amount of snow, not great, but okay! We stuck to the trails mostly, but found lots of areas to play around in and not climb a mountain.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My husband and I along with our two teenage kids (boy & girl) needed a comfortable, clean place to stay for 8 days while visiting Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, etc. Paying a hotel for 8 days, 2 rooms would have been outrage in any of these areas. I spent weeks reading reviews from different websites. Most of which weren't very appealing.

I eventually settled on 2 or 3 possibilities. I called The Pines and asked several questions. One questions had to do with the beds. I have a painful joint issue and need a very comfortable bed, preferably a pillowtop mattress....BINGO, the Pines has wonderful beds!!!!!!

We stayed in a cabin that had 4 queen beds. How awesome is that! Two bedrooms and a large loft that had 2 of the beds and a private bathroom. There was also a bathroom downstairs with a washer and dryer.

The kitchen was fully functional. The whole place was incredibly clean, comfortable and so much fun!!! The owners were amazing as well. They have a restaurant with a full bar. We ate there a couple of times and it was very good food with very good service.

Everything about this place felt good. Now if they could have only fixed the weather.......it was snowing, hailing and raining most of the time we were there. Luckily the cabin was so wonderful it wasn't too bad. We managed to get to Yellowstone Park several times, which is about 30 minutes away and Jackson Hole as well.

I wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this place. We drove around looking at some of the other places I was interested in and wow what a disappointment. We made the right choice.

  • Liked — The two things most important: cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — The weather, but can't do much about that.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yogiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Staying Outside Yellowstone

With Yellowstone reservations unavailable and wishing to avoid the noise of staying just outside park boundaries, we chose these luxurious cabins 25 miles outside West Yellowstone.

They are log cabins ranging from 1-4 bedrooms set in a pine forest complete with hot tubs on the deck and satellite TV. The Pines also has a restaurant and bar.

If you want a little peace and don't mind a short drive these cabins and I imagine other properties in Island Park offer an alternative to staying in West Yellowstone.

The cabins are fully equipped, new and comfortable. Granite countertops in the kitchen. Multiple gas fireplaces in the larger units.

We recommend The Pines, but with one caveat---the one bedroom units are not nearly as private as the others. They overlook a junky parking lot, the private hot tub decks can be seen by the other two one bedroom units and they are near the noisy restaurant kitchen. Fortunately, the gracious management was willing and able to change our accomodation.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Privacy and quiet
  • Disliked — Initial one bedroom cabin
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
9.0 km away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
31.3 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
9.1 km away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
31.3 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
31.3 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines at Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines at Island Park

Property: The Pines at Island Park
Address: 3907 Phillips Loop Rd, Island Park, ID 82429
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pines at Island Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing