We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!!”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was my first visit to Sun Valley and I stayed here last weekend with a few friends and had a blast! The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was amazing!! They were extremely friendly and very accommodating and didn't hold it against us when we changed the reservations a few times. I was really impressed with the location right in the middle of everything! Best part? The fireplace!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    60
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
40
69
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel is in the best location in the heart of Ketchum - walking distance to everything. The Tullys breakfast added to the reasonable cost of the room. The staff was friendly and informative and the room was clean. We had a great view of Baldy from our room - with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view. We will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room on the end on the third floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattyh131SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I grew up going to Sun Valley and now that I have a family I am realizing what an investment that can be. Lodging can be incredibly expensive and there are not many options for people that are budget conscience. A Friend recommended the Tamarack Lodge and we could not have had a better experience. Huge Rooms, super clean and very affordable. We are planning to go back next year and I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattlfamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a queen fireplace room with a sofa, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Sliding door opened into back courtyard. We were on the ground floor. 2nd and 3rd floors had balcony. We stayed here because they allowed our shihtzu (for an extra $25).
We used the outdoor hot tub, but were unable to swim in the indoor pool - it was freezing. Very clean - a nice packet of lotions, shampoo, sunscreen etc. given with check in. Also included coffee and muffin at Tulleys across the street for ONE day. Great location, close to restaurants and shops. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband was working in Ketchum for two weeks so I went along. Tamarack Lodge is very conveniently located. We could walk to just about everything. The room was spacious and quiet. We have since stayed two more times. Really nice place and the staff was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Tamarack Lodge for a short vacation in August, 2011.

OVERVIEW:

Overall, the rooms are below average (older, musty, outdated) but the location is wonderful; within walking distance to all things in Ketchum. The hotel was mid-range in cost for summer, which meant is ran around $150/night. While we appreciated the location and free parking we would not stay here again.

ROOMS:

We stayed in a one room large studio. It was spacious with a queen-sized bed, flat screen TV and fireplace. It also had a fridge, microwave and small sitting area with loveseat. The main issue with the rooms focused on its age. The carpet (while clean) was old, spotted and dingy. The room had a musty (possibly even pet-related smell). The vanity area and bathroom were quite dated. While this is a lodge (and you'd expect some amount of mountain lodge decor and age) this place could use an update. The rooms also had a small deck which overlooked a grass area, trash enclosure and parking lot. It didn't appear that any rooms actually had views. The last unfortunate element are the paper-thin walls. We heard everything from TVs to conversations of our two surrounding neighbors. A bit surprising given the spacious elements of the rooms.

LOCATION:

The best part about the Tamarack Lodge is the location. You are within easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants in Ketchum and a short bike ride or drive (about 2 miles) to the Sun Valley Resort and shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The rooms are very clean and appear to have been renovated somewhat recently. The building is old, but the rooms are nice. Very nice pool and hot tub. Very convenient to shops and town. The only bad thing about the motel is that parking can be sparse at times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bw626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.8 km away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
1.5 km away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 km away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.6 km away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
17.9 km away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing