We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Idaho's World Famous Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year round world class hot pools! Relax in the odor free, natural hot mineral water that bubbles directly into the bottom of the soaking pools at 112 cooling to 102 degrees F. Summer Olympic swimming complex, waterpark and indoor aquatic center provide excitement for the entire family. You can scream down the waterslides at the summer fun Olympic Swimming Complex or dive from the 10 meter diving platforms. Play in the year round Indoor Aquatic Center with Portneuf Kiddie Cove year round. Camping, lodging, food and fun are located next door in the town of Lava Hot Springs.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were really impressed with the hot pools facility (we did not visit the other water facilities). They have 3 still pools and 2 jacuzzi pools, with different temperatures. Really loved the stone work and gravel bottoms in the larger pools. The pools are half covered by awnings so you can keep out of the sun if desired. The locker room and shower areas were clean and well maintained. We were there off-season on a weekday so it was not crowded, laid back and very quiet. (I understand they get much busier during the summer months)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    111
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hadn't been in several years but the free form pools and landscaping were the most attractive of the four locations we visited recently. The water temps are higher than some people might prefer during the summer but would be ideal on cold winter nights.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise ID
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“From kids to Grandparents it was a great time!!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We met our daughter and her family and brought our oldest granddaughter with us. We had such a good time. The hot pool complex is really relaxing, 5 pools from 102 degrees to 112 degrees. Such nice helpful people all through the town. The swimming pool complex is amazing considereing where Lava Hot Springs is located. It was a really busy place. The grandkids loved being there and we had fun watching people going off the platforms. I have to say you must be extremely brave to go off the tallest one. The price was very reasonable at $12.50 for the whole day to go in and out of the all the areas as we pleased. A really fun place for the whole family!!!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank rostockd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stop Enroute”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stopped in Lava Hot Springs on way back from Yellowstone/Grand Teton to Salt Lake City, slightly out of the way, but not by too much; route followed old Oregon Trail, although we didn't stop at too many historical markers.

Anyway, Lava Hot Springs was the perfect overnight stop to end our trip - the kids and dad loved the big pool and slides, and the water was comfortably warm, even late in the afternoon. Mom happily joined the local 10-year-old boys zooming down the big slides repeatedly, then the whole family trekked across town (all 4 blocks of it) to enjoy the hot springs on the combo ticket. Only regret is that we didn't arrive early enough to join the area teens happily tubing the river through town as well. (There are several placed on the main street that rent tubes.)

Town is small, so dining options are limited if you're looking for food late at night (no chain fast food restaurants).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Churlgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“great fun for the kids”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was a fairly standard pool complex where the kids had lots of fun. There were 4 slides that kept them amused for some time, but really they spent their time on the diving boards and platforms. (My kids claimed it was the best thing they had done all trip (ages 5, 8, 10, 12))
The indoor section with climbing wall was disappointing.

The whole facility was a little run down, and there was virtually no shade available in the park, which the kids didn't care about but I would have liked.

In the town of Lava Hot Springs, all the kids were renting tubes and tubing down the local river. It looked fun, but involved walking back through town with tubes after the ride if you wanted to go again. Would have been a good alternative too - we tossed a coin to decide.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SusieT169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Idaho's World Famous Hot Pools also viewed

 
Lava Hot Springs, ID
 

Been to Idaho's World Famous Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing