We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff”
Review of Camvillia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camvillia Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vounaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at Camvillia and loved every minute.

While the hotel and its breathtaking views are wonderful, we felt that the biggest highlight for us was the friendliness of the staff who looked after us. Attentive, kind and chatty, always there to help - thank you, you made our week.

The hotel itself is clean and impressive. From the moment you arrive, you're greeted with a ridiculously beautiful view of distant mountains to take in over a welcome drink. The general aesthetic of the pool and dining/chill out area is modern and chic. We enjoyed many (slightly expensive, though delicious) cocktails overlooking the bay and mountains in the early evening. Again, we were well looked-after and staff were very attentive and friendly.

For me personally, there was only one disappointment and that was the breakfast. I flippin' love a hotel buffet breakfast - any excuse to consume as many pastries as humanly possible on my holiday. I was saddened to find that the choice of food was pretty limited, and doesn't vary at all from day to day. There were no croissants, but instead a variety of strange cakes. The cooked breakfast included the same tomato mixed scrambled egg, ham-bacon and mushrooms every day. I mean, it was tasty, but some more choice and variety would have been appreciated.

And one other point on breakfast, I hated having to chase someone down every morning to ask for a pot of tea. At no point during our stay was I asked if I'd like a hot drink at breakfast and there was nowhere to help yourself to tea/hot water. I'm sure it's a rather British complaint, but not an uncommon preference to actually want tea WITH breakfast rather than after/ in the middle of it.

Aside from breakfast, the food at dinner was delicious, and while the same menu is brought to you every evening (we were staying half-board), we always found something new to try and loved our meals. The sauteed mushroom starter was spectacular.

On days when the pool sun bathing area seems a bit full or you fancy a change, you can get a lift down to the beach. Jerry the hotel driver is absolutely lovely and will take people down every half an hour. The beach is stunning and Camvillia have their own little section with deck chairs, parasols and a chap standing by if you need anything. The sea is perfectly clear and clean - a pleasure to swim in.

All in all, thank you, Camvillia. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We asked to move after being put in a ground floor room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scaramouche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Scaramouche7,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort to spend your holidays and the time sharing your most kind comments, as your opinion is very important for the improvement of our services.

It is always our pleasure to know, that our guests enjoyed a wonderful time at Camvillia, as we all try our best to ensure an unforgettable stay for our guests.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again at Camvillia.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

We have just returned from a fantastic stay. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and professional and they helped make our stay memorable. The hotel is beautifully designed and maintained and in a stunning location with amazing views. The pool, spa and beach are all lovely. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the only criticism we have of the hotel is the menu which doesn't change apart from a daily special, unfortunately as vegetarians we struggled to find something different to eat each evening.

We would highly recommend the Camvillia and would like to return

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Richard H,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort to spend your holidays and the time sharing your most kind comments and suggestions.

It is always our pleasure to know, that our guests enjoyed a beautiful stay at Camvillia, as we all try our best to offer a memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Just returned from 4 nights at Camvillia a luxury hotel on the Messinian coast. We stayed in a private pool room (so we didn't use the shared pool) which if you can afford it I highly recommended as they are huge, private, good sized pool, and have with amazing views. We opened the double glass doors every morning to watch the sun rise up over the mountains which was a beautiful way to start the day. There's a shuttle bus down to the narrow but pleasant beach every 30mins and free beach towels, sun lounges/umbrellas and staff on hand to fetch drinks/food (bring cash). The hotel is immaculately presented and the breakfast/restaurant takes advantage of the superb views across the bay and over the mountains. The staff are very attentive, friendly and provided us with excellent service throughout our stay and a warm welcome with cocktail, not sure what the other reviews were on about but we had smiles everywhere we went you couldn't fault the service from any of the staff we encountered. The spa is a bonus as was the 20min massage spa voucher possibly the best back and shoulder massage I've ever had. The only thing which lets this place down is the limited menu and the disappointing and overpriced food from the pool side menu in particular, pizza's were good but everything else was well.... disappointing. We did have a lovely meal in the restaurant for our anniversary meal which was romantic, and good food/service and greek wine but then it should be for 100 euros including 1 bottle of wine (we didn't book DBB as wanted to explore the area). My advice, try the hotel restaurant but also get yourself out to Korini (15mins away by car) or even closer the Peroulia Beach restaurant for more authentic greek fare (and 30-35 euros for a decent meal with drinks). We would recommend this hotel as the location, views, facilities and staff are excellent just a shame it would be better if they upped their game on the food menus and didn't charge 12 euros for gin with lemon fanta masquerading as an exclusive cocktail still worth a visit though

Room Tip: The private pool rooms are huge and stunning with mountain/sea views so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PHBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear PHBS,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort to spend your holidays and the time sharing your valuable comments and suggestions, as your opinion is very important for the improvement of our services.

We are always glad to know, that our guests enjoyed a beautiful stay with us, as we all try our best to offer a memorable stay.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Generally brilliant staff fantastic except for one or two waiters! Food was again generally very good but on half board the evening menu got a bit boring.Rooms cleaned every day and nothing too much trouble.Would suggest some low key entertainment may be once or twice a week.Please note the beach is a good 1&half kilometers away but very nice and with shuttle service.

Room Tip: They all look good some more expensive but larger and with own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear jeremy574,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort to spend your holidays and the time sharing your suggestions and most kind comments, as your opinion is very important for the improvement of our services.

We are always glad to know, that our guests enjoyed a beautiful time at Camvillia, as we all try our best to ensure a memorable stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Camvillia resort beg Sept for a week. The hotel is beautiful with an amazing sea view that can be enjoyed from the infinity pool or whilst sipping cocktails on the terrace. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and well decorated. There is a shuttle bus that runs you to the beach where the water is clear and perfect for swimming. The food is delicious and the restaurant setting allows you to look out at the sea. We were happy to hang out and relax, you would need a car to explore further. There is a tiny shop in the village where you can buy drinks and cigarettes etc. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Helen S,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort for your holidays and the time sharing your most kind comments.

We are always glad to know, that our guests enjoyed a beautiful time at Camvillia, as we all try our best to ensure a memorable stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in Camvillia back in June 2017 and what an amazing experience it was!

From the moment we got there we absolutely loved it. They greeted us with a delicious cocktail and took us to our room. The ladies on the reception desk are extremely helpful and always went the extra mile to make our trip the most memorable.

The room was gorgeous, lovely fresh interior and we loved having our own pool in the room.

We had half board which was great as the food was delicious and the restaurant had a great selection of food for the week and we loved it all.

Another thing to comment on is the cocktails and the views. The cocktails were all delicious and every evening we would sit on the terrace and admire the view whilst enjoying yet another amazing cocktail served by a lovely waitress.

I couldn't recommend Camvillia more and we will definitely be returning, hopefully to the same room as we loved it so much!

The only suggestion we would have would be to either run or partner with someone of the beach so kayaks, jet skis, waterskiing/boat trips can be offered. It would also be really fun to have a tour of the olive process.

Thank you for everything and keep doing what you are doing!

Ginny & Henry

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Ginny N,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort for your holidays and the time sharing your most kind comments and valuable suggestions.

It is our greatest pleasure to know, that our guests enjoyed a beautiful time at Camvillia, as we all try our best to ensure an unforgettable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Camvillia.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We stayed in Camvilia Hotel for three days in August 2017 and the experience was great. Very friendly and helpful staff, perfect spot, tropical beach with crystal waters, elegant rooms, tasty menu for dinner based on greek cuisine. I would love to visit it again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11popy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Camvillia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear 11popy,

Thank you for choosing Camvillia Resort for a mini escape and the time sharing your most kind comments.

We are always glad to know, that our guests enjoyed a wonderful time at Camvillia.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Dimitrios Alexakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vounaria
30.4 km away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
27.6 km away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
351 reviews
22.2 km away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Colonides Beach Hotel
39.9 km away
Artina Nuovo
Artina Nuovo
#1 of 3 in Marathopoli
131 reviews
27.9 km away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camvillia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camvillia Resort

Address: Vounaria 24004, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Vounaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vounaria
Price Range: $197 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camvillia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camvillia Resort and Spa is a boutique resort hotel in Vounaria-Koroni in the Messinia region. The authentic materials used in the resort, such as stone and olive wood connect you to the Vounaria atmosphere and make you feel at home during your vacation in Messinia. All rooms and suites at Camvillia Resort have a view of the olive grove and the endless blue of the sea and the sky. We welcome you at Camvillia Resort to offer you a special experience. Our philosophy is simplicity that stems from luxury in this unique boutique hotel in Koroni. Get away and feel the true holiday spirit at Camvillia Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camvillia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing