We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thai food and sushi! ”

Krung Thai Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 221 Restaurants in Nampa
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

We love Krung Thai! The food is always great and the staff are friendly and helpful. Some of our favorite dishes include red curry, mango fried rice, garlic galore, San Diego roll, California Roll, Bacon roll, crispy spring rolls, Thai iced tea, and of course mango sticky rice.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Gwendolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2017

My wife and I both agree that the food at this restaurant is the worst Thai food we jave ever had. One of the most expensive too. Don't waste your money here. The soup made me gag on first bite. Didn't finish it. Their rice was dry and awfully prepared. We bought Sushi roll to go and it was old fish I believe and very dry and tasteless. We have lived in 6 states since 2008 had sushi and Thai in all of them. This place takes the cake for horrible food. Hope we don't both get sick tonight.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

They have a huge menu, with quite a few nice curry dishes.
The Thai iced coffee is super. Had a very nice ginger beef entree and we split a combination appetizer which had Satay, spring roll, crab Rangoon, coconut shrimp and dumpling with several dipping sauces. We will return to try more entrees everything was very good, and service was friendly and efficient. They also have a sizable sushi menu we need to explore, friends tell us it's also very good.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spudcatCentralCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

It's difficult to find Thai food in the US that hasn't been fiddled with by the chef in the name of somehow making it "more to American tastes". The usual culprit is the addition of way, way too much sugar; not enough chili; not enough herbs like holy basil, lemon grass, and kafir lime leaf; and too many weird substitutions to make up for Thai veggies that are either hard to find/expensive or "not to American taste" (in the mind of the chef). After thirty-some years living in Thailand, we have felt frustrated by what we've been served in Thai restaurants in Idaho. It's just not the same as what we've come to expect in Thailand.

So it was a refreshing relief to find Krung Thai restaurant in Nampa, where the chef and all the employees are actually Thais and the food tastes very much like it does back in Siam. We have eaten there twice and have been happy with everything we have ordered. The curries are not overly sweetened ~ that alone deserves five stars.

With easy access to the freeway so that folks can conveniently drive from anywhere in the Treasure Valley to enjoy authentic Thai food, Krung Thai should be on everyone's list of "must try" restaurants.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smartgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We all enjoyed our food and the service was excellent. I had a crispy tofu veggie dish and my husband had a three flavor chicken dish. We both loved the food served with a jasmine rice. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S6128ZQjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Krung Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing