We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay and we will be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Salmon B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay and we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Greyhouse was a wonderful place to stay. The scenery was magnificent with mountains and wildlife. The rooms were clean and breakfast was great! I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devild0g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
See you soon and thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cresco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in the main house. There were no shades on the bathroom window. And no shades on our room. When I took a shower, I tried to bunch up the curtains to be more opaque. When the sun came up, we were awake too!
There were no cups for drinking water in the bathroom. Two packets of shampoo...where is the soap? Shower curtain needed washing.
The gardens had no decent seating. The cushions on the lawn furniture were dirty and full of debris. The whole place needed some sprucing up I thought.
The porch was adorned with Christmas snowflake lights. (we were there in July) They were turned on later in the evening but only half of them worked!
You can't walk to the Salmon River to see it from the property. The owner told us to go next door to the driveway and we could drive to the river. Well, that property was owned by someone who looked like Jed Clampett. We drove through and he met us at the "exit". Yelled at us about trespassing!!! He had a few campsites on the edge of the river with campers. We had violated their rights by driving by. I was very shaken by the encounter!
I didn't get to see the Greyhouse cabins,etc. But if you like red walls, red carpeting and a red light in the hallway, the house is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler10038020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Sorry for the inconvience, I'm not sure if anyone could please you. The neighbor next door does not like people driving thru his RV park but you can walk. He died last winter. I'm sure you will never own a business, you would never make it. The old willow seat under the tree is not for seating just looking at we have a very large deck with tables and chairs for setting, also a large log swing. Again I;m sorry you had such a terrible time here. Soap, shampoo and cups were in your room on the dresser. If you would have asked I would have provided you wiht more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Coming upon Greyhouse Inn, the first thing you see is a colorful old house with flowers waving cheerily around it. That view is accurate, but taking a closer look, peeping in to observe this place, you will be amazed.

Our family stayed in "The Trapper," a quaint cabin complete with a nice-sized loft and a kitchenette. But don't use the latter feature for your breakfast, as the owners can provide one for you, and a delicious one at that. With hot delicacies from huckleberry pancakes to egg quiches and a wide selection of juices, coffees, and teas served in an elegant breakfast parlor, this meal is one you don't want to miss. The hostess, Mrs. Sharon Osgood, takes the second mile in hand by providing us with recommendations and suggestions, history and geography, and a warm comfortable feeling when you finished talking to her. The views of the mountains nearby are spectacular, and you need only walk a little way to view the rushing, powerful Salmon River. You can experience the river by taking a whitewater rafting tour with Kookaburra Rafting Tours, also owned by the Osgood family. All the kids were raving about the experience for a long time afterwards. If you decide to swing by Salmon, this is a place NOT to miss.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelersHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

My spouse and I, along with another couple, stayed in the cabins (Lewis and Clark) for just one night and enjoyed our stay. The cabins were decorated imaginatively in keeping with the surroundings, very comfortable and warm, certainly large enough for a more extended stay also. Yard work and spring maintenance was underway after a long and heavy winter. The main house was attractive, inside and out, and we had a nice breakfast while we chatted with the very pleasant owner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeofMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Our first impression was a house that looked tried and old, peeling paint, the front gates off of the hinges and weeds everywhere. We walked into a cluttered and somewhat dark house (and it was the middle of the day). Based upon other reviews, we expected a killer breakfast but we were disappointed. The orange juice tasted like it was powered (tang) and the food was not gourmet at all; I cook a better breakfast at home. No home made jams/jellies or pasties or any speciality items. Even the pancakes tasted like they came from a premade mix.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountShastaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The house was built in 1894, however you were right about the fence and we have had it removed. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We had reserved the attic room in the house because of price but the owner chose to put us in a cabin for comfort reasons. (temperatures were high!) So glad she did! The deluxe log cabins are themed - Lewis is "patriotic" and Clark is "fish". Like new accomodations, very comfortable, front porch very relaxing. Full breakfast was great (cinnamon chip pancakes), owner sat down and visited with us during breakfast. We walked down to the Salmon River early morning. Wildlife grazing nearby. If we every have reason to be on Hwy 93 again, we'll stay at the Greyhouse Inn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed the Lewis and Clark Cabins, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

My wife and I usually are not great fans of B&Bs, but based on what we read at TripAdvisor we decided to give Greyhouse Inn a chance. There aren't many attractive options in the Salmon area, just your standard motels. We are so glad we stayed here, Sharon and Dave are very welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was charming and private... we felt like we had our own place. The breakfast was fantastic, cooked with love and great attention to creating a filling and delicious start to the day. We only stayed one night, but this would be a great spot to spend a week or more, with abundant opportunities to fish, raft, and hike in the area. It is 11 miles south of Salmon, so plan your gas/grocery purchases accordingly. We were lucky enough to find an equally spectacular venue for dinner in Salmon, the Shady Nook... very charming, very good food. Rather upscale for the area, but we wanted something a little more refined than hamburgers or pizza at this point in the trip. A very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeattleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salmon hotels
18.4 km away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 4 in Salmon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
18.3 km away
Super 8 Salmon
Super 8 Salmon
#3 of 4 in Salmon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
17.4 km away
Sacajawea Inn
Sacajawea Inn
#2 of 4 in Salmon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Century 2 Campground
Century 2 Campground
#3 of 6 in Salmon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 km away
Salmon River Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1115 Highway 93 S, Salmon, ID 83467-5351
Region: United States > Idaho > Salmon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful grounds to walk and set around in the shade. Friendly cats, large deck with tables and chairs. Fruit trees with fresh fruit for breakfast. Fun large cabins and large rooms in the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing