We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Stagecoach Inn(Salmon)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Salmon(Salmon)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northgate Inn(Challis)
US$60
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
10
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
10
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housethe main housegreen roomfresh farm eggscomfortable bedsharonriveridaho
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 46 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the main house. There were no shades on the bathroom window. And no shades on our room. When I took a shower, I tried to bunch up the curtains to be more opaque. When the sun came up, we were awake too!
There were no cups for drinking water in the bathroom. Two packets of shampoo...where is the soap? Shower curtain needed washing.
The gardens had no decent seating. The cushions on the lawn furniture were dirty and full of debris. The whole place needed some sprucing up I thought.
The porch was adorned with Christmas snowflake lights. (we were there in July) They were turned on later in the evening but only half of them worked!
You can't walk to the Salmon River to see it from the property. The owner told us to go next door to the driveway and we could drive to the river. Well, that property was owned by someone who looked like Jed Clampett. We drove through and he met us at the "exit". Yelled at us about trespassing!!! He had a few campsites on the edge of the river with campers. We had violated their rights by driving by. I was very shaken by the encounter!
I didn't get to see the Greyhouse cabins,etc. But if you like red walls, red carpeting and a red light in the hallway, the house is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler10038020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Sorry for the inconvience, I'm not sure if anyone could please you. The neighbor next door does not like people driving thru his RV park but you can walk. He died last winter. I'm sure you will never own a business, you would never make it. The old willow seat under the tree is not for seating just looking at we have a very large deck with tables and chairs for setting, also a large log swing. Again I;m sorry you had such a terrible time here. Soap, shampoo and cups were in your room on the dresser. If you would have asked I would have provided you wiht more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Coming upon Greyhouse Inn, the first thing you see is a colorful old house with flowers waving cheerily around it. That view is accurate, but taking a closer look, peeping in to observe this place, you will be amazed.

Our family stayed in "The Trapper," a quaint cabin complete with a nice-sized loft and a kitchenette. But don't use the latter feature for your breakfast, as the owners can provide one for you, and a delicious one at that. With hot delicacies from huckleberry pancakes to egg quiches and a wide selection of juices, coffees, and teas served in an elegant breakfast parlor, this meal is one you don't want to miss. The hostess, Mrs. Sharon Osgood, takes the second mile in hand by providing us with recommendations and suggestions, history and geography, and a warm comfortable feeling when you finished talking to her. The views of the mountains nearby are spectacular, and you need only walk a little way to view the rushing, powerful Salmon River. You can experience the river by taking a whitewater rafting tour with Kookaburra Rafting Tours, also owned by the Osgood family. All the kids were raving about the experience for a long time afterwards. If you decide to swing by Salmon, this is a place NOT to miss.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank TheTravelersHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My spouse and I, along with another couple, stayed in the cabins (Lewis and Clark) for just one night and enjoyed our stay. The cabins were decorated imaginatively in keeping with the surroundings, very comfortable and warm, certainly large enough for a more extended stay also. Yard work and spring maintenance was underway after a long and heavy winter. The main house was attractive, inside and out, and we had a nice breakfast while we chatted with the very pleasant owner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeofMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our first impression was a house that looked tried and old, peeling paint, the front gates off of the hinges and weeds everywhere. We walked into a cluttered and somewhat dark house (and it was the middle of the day). Based upon other reviews, we expected a killer breakfast but we were disappointed. The orange juice tasted like it was powered (tang) and the food was not gourmet at all; I cook a better breakfast at home. No home made jams/jellies or pasties or any speciality items. Even the pancakes tasted like they came from a premade mix.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountShastaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The house was built in 1894, however you were right about the fence and we have had it removed. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We had reserved the attic room in the house because of price but the owner chose to put us in a cabin for comfort reasons. (temperatures were high!) So glad she did! The deluxe log cabins are themed - Lewis is "patriotic" and Clark is "fish". Like new accomodations, very comfortable, front porch very relaxing. Full breakfast was great (cinnamon chip pancakes), owner sat down and visited with us during breakfast. We walked down to the Salmon River early morning. Wildlife grazing nearby. If we every have reason to be on Hwy 93 again, we'll stay at the Greyhouse Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed the Lewis and Clark Cabins, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews