We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Salmon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Our first impression was a house that looked tried and old, peeling paint, the front gates off of the hinges and weeds everywhere. We walked into a cluttered and somewhat dark house (and it was the middle of the day). Based upon other reviews, we expected a killer breakfast but we were disappointed. The orange juice tasted like it was powered (tang) and the food was not gourmet at all; I cook a better breakfast at home. No home made jams/jellies or pasties or any speciality items. Even the pancakes tasted like they came from a premade mix.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountShastaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The house was built in 1894, however you were right about the fence and we have had it removed. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

We had reserved the attic room in the house because of price but the owner chose to put us in a cabin for comfort reasons. (temperatures were high!) So glad she did! The deluxe log cabins are themed - Lewis is "patriotic" and Clark is "fish". Like new accomodations, very comfortable, front porch very relaxing. Full breakfast was great (cinnamon chip pancakes), owner sat down and visited with us during breakfast. We walked down to the Salmon River early morning. Wildlife grazing nearby. If we every have reason to be on Hwy 93 again, we'll stay at the Greyhouse Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed the Lewis and Clark Cabins, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My wife and I usually are not great fans of B&Bs, but based on what we read at TripAdvisor we decided to give Greyhouse Inn a chance. There aren't many attractive options in the Salmon area, just your standard motels. We are so glad we stayed here, Sharon and Dave are very welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was charming and private... we felt like we had our own place. The breakfast was fantastic, cooked with love and great attention to creating a filling and delicious start to the day. We only stayed one night, but this would be a great spot to spend a week or more, with abundant opportunities to fish, raft, and hike in the area. It is 11 miles south of Salmon, so plan your gas/grocery purchases accordingly. We were lucky enough to find an equally spectacular venue for dinner in Salmon, the Shady Nook... very charming, very good food. Rather upscale for the area, but we wanted something a little more refined than hamburgers or pizza at this point in the trip. A very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeattleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank you please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Clean, comfortable, cosy and charming with very friendly hosts. The Carriage House was well equipped with plenty of room (despite the generous decoration) a microwave, fridge and crockery if you want to eat in (although Salmon is easy to access).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My family stayed in the Lemhi Shoshone cabin behind the inn. It was perfect for us because the loft had 2 single beds for my boy and girl teens. The setting was lovely and quiet because although the house faces the main road, the cabins are far enough in back to be removed. You face the meadow and hillside and there are horses out back. We only stayed one night but wished we had longer to take advantage of the area. They offer horseback riding and whitewater rafting. Also, Sharon's breakfast was delicious!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Wilsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank you please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Located about 11 miles south of Salmon, ID on Highway 93, this B&B is a nice place to stay when in the area. It's outside the noise of Salmon and quiet, so you can enjoy the deer and birds and other local wildlife. A nice place for downtime, reading, relaxing, etc. You can also arrange raft trips or other area activities if the season is right. There are several dining options in nearby Salmon.

We selected this particular B&B as it was pet friendly and allowed our dog for an additional nominal fee. The Clark cabin we stayed in was nicely kept with comfortable beds and bedding. The towels had not seen any fabric softener and were a bit scratchy, but certainly that was minor. Overall the views and the facilities were very comfortable and very nice. There is also a field we could walk the dog in right out back.

Breakfast was very good, better than many B&B's we've stayed at. Our hostess was nice and clearly tries to be accommodating to her guests. She has two cats, one of whom is very sweet and friendly so we spent some time visiting on the porch and whenever we stepped out the cat showed up hoping for a little attention - a nice touch if you are on the road away from your own.

This is a great place to get away from it all and enjoy the outdoors, so don't go expecting tv or phones or internet access. We did not miss them! Pack a good book, but if you forget, she has several available for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

What a great place! The Greyhouse Inn was just perfect for our anniversary weekend. We stayed in the Lewis cabin which is connected to the Clark cabin. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Loved the fact that there was no TV - we didn't miss it and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We saw plenty of deer, osprey and bald eagles. Also loved hearing all the birds in the morning. A very friendly cat roams the place as well. Our hostess Sharon was super friendly and a fantastic cook! Fresh banana pancakes and eggs benedict with farm fresh eggs. It is also pet-friendly. Do yourself a favor and if you get to Salmon, stay here - we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salmon hotels
18.4 km away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 4 in Salmon
464 reviews
18.3 km away
Super 8 Salmon
Super 8 Salmon
#3 of 4 in Salmon
290 reviews
17.4 km away
Sacajawea Inn
Sacajawea Inn
#2 of 4 in Salmon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Salmon River Lodge Resort
Show Prices

Been to Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1115 Highway 93 S, Salmon, ID 83467-5351
Region: United States > Idaho > Salmon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon
Price Range: $118 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful grounds to walk and set around in the shade. Friendly cats, large deck with tables and chairs. Fruit trees with fresh fruit for breakfast. Fun large cabins and large rooms in the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing