We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, comfortable, quiet...I recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, comfortable, quiet...I recommend”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed here during a motorcycle trip through Idaho. I had originally booked at the Howard Johnson (Ponderay), however I never did find the Howard Johnson because it was so far away from the downtown core of Sandpoint and after a full day's ride the last thing I wanted to do was drive more out of town to stay next to a hotel by a Wal Mart. I saw the La Quinta Inn not far from main street. Upon arrival the woman at the counter was very friendly and gave me a good discount (despite not having AAA). The hotel is a bit unique in its layout but I found it easy to find my room and there was covered parking for the motorbike in a safe location. The room was very spacious, nice view out to the east. The bed and bedding was very comfortable (nice warm duvet, puffy pillows...what more could you ask for). A great restaurant and the downtown shops are literally right around the block. The hotel offers a nice free breakfast as well, but I do wish there wasn't so much styrofoam used (the throw away society is everywhere). Nevertheless, I recommend this place and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sageadvice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for the nice words.
When we have guests traveling on motorcycles we always try to accomodate them with coverd parking. Because all three of the hotel buildings have some sort of coverd parking this make it easy to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    140
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
100
117
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Just traveled to Sandpoint and stayed at La Quinta. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. You can walk to anything downtown. As other reviews stated the hotel is spread out over three different buildings. I didn't notice any excessive noise, however when we checked in the front desk offered ear plugs. So be forewarned about the noise. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean, except the shower curtain was moldy, yuck! The breakfast had a good selection of food. Now for the most disappointing factor, the cost. We got a "special" wedding rate and it was $150 a night with tax. Expensive, in my opinion, for what was offered.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ready4vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Rented two rooms and didn't realize how bad the kids room was until the second day. It smelled disgusting! The cleaning staff said that a previous occupant had stayed with dogs (wet I presume) and they have not been able to get the smell out. Then don't rent the rooms until you can! Front desk just shrugged their shoulders.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B'sbirdhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Yellowstone. This hotel is located in 3 separate buildings all about 1/2 -1 block away from each other. When we drove to our building(#3) the first thing we noticed was 10 to 12 men standing on the second floor landing drinking beer, smoking and talking loudly. The noise from the men was not too bad once we were in the room. The parking lot was very small and we were lucky to get a parking space. The toiletries were skimpy, with 2 soaps(one for the sink in the bathroom and one for the sink outside the bathroom, none for the shower) and one little bottle of shampoo. Our room was dark as it had a view of the corridor wall and nothing else. The worse thing was being woke up at midnight and again at 2am with loud talking on the landing. It didn't last too long, but long enough to wake everyone up.

On the positive side the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Building 3 is the furthest from the lobby and across the street from the pool. Fortunately the weather was good so the walk down the block to breakfast and across the street to the pool wasn't too bad. The pool (in building 2) was really cold, but the whirlpool (in building 3) was nice. Breakfast was basic continental with waffles and biscuits and gravy being the hot offerings.
Overall I don't think the value was good for the price we paid and I would look to stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparwood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The room we were in was clean and relatively up to date. The decor was green and wilderness themed (kinda cheesy) but everything was in good condition, ie carpet and furniture. We just stayed here as a rest spot on the way to Spokane. It was fine, nothing special but nothing wrong with it either. Our room was very noisy, we were right on an upper floor over the busy Cedar St, if you could get a room on upper floor on Main street side that is what I would recommend. The 1Pm checkout was nice for us, no rush at all. The location was good too, we walked to Arlo's for dinner but lots of restaurants are in that area, only few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocoal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed at the La Quinta Inn in Sandpoint for 1 night. We arrived very early but it wasn't a problem, the clerk was able to check us in right away.

The room was clean and spacious. The only negative is that the hotel is situated on a very busy street and there is a lot of traffic noise if you end up facing the street side. I had ear plugs and didn't have any trouble sleeping.

The free breakfast was plentiful and included fresh waffles, toast, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee etc.

If passing through Sandpoint I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Only spent 1 night but the staff were helpful with booking problems with a different hotel chain. The room was clean and quite, the beds and especially the pillows were very comfortable. Onsite resturant was very resonable and the food good. Service was v.good. Breakfast was extensive for the room price.
The split property made finding reception a challenge, an excellent motel for the traveller and located at walking distance from Sandpoint shops etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doermapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
0.7 km away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
4.0 km away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.1 km away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Property: La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
Address: 415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Sandpoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Hotel Sandpoint
La Quinta Sandpoint
Sandpoint La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing