We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was my first trip to Sun Valley. The pictures online had me a bit worried as they appeared very dated. I was happily surprised to see that the units were handsomly updated. I couldn't have been more pleased. Modern appliances and decor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    72
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
80
104
4
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we arrived at this historical place, we were made to feel like family, not customers. Every aspect of this lodge is first rate. Our room was tastefully decorated, the view was unsurpassed, the bathroom was huge, and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. It also had the biggest walk-in closet I've ever seen in a hotel. A convenient storage on the ground floor was available to store our skis. The Duchin Lounge was a great place to relax, and the jazz trio performing there every evening was terrific. The food in Gretchen's was quite good, as well. Everyone we dealt with, be it bell service, concierge, reception, wait staff, or spa staff, bent over backwards to ensure we were receiving the best possible service. The little village next door has many of the services one might need and the great, fun town of Ketchum is within easy walking distance. Though it's not a ski-in/ski-out resort, free and frequent transport is provided to all of the lifts. Just a short walk from our room was a huge, relaxing lounge with a big fireplace on either end. It was a great place to unwind and relax. On top of that, there's a grand piano in the room and it was amazing at how many really talented pianists were staying in the lodge, including one who was only eight. That was a great treat. And despite the deserved upscale reputation of the Sun Valley Lodge, we found the prices to be quite reasonable for everything--lodging, bars, and restaurants. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnac767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Idaho
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I always enjoy staying at Sun Valley's iconic lodge. The swan pond at the lodge entrance held ducks & a pair of nesting swans this time - so lovely to watch. Since my stay was for several nights I appreciated how quiet the lodge staff were while making room deliveries, changing out rooms & such; I did not know they were there! Appreciate the room amenities including turn-down service with Sun Valley chocolates. Music in the lounge was enjoyable as was breakfasts in Gretchen restaurant located in the lodge. I will return whenever possible.

Room Tip: This time my third floor room was at the end of the hallway giving a quiet corner room with two wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have been coming to Sun Valley for the past 8 years for skiing. I am a bit hesitant to write a review since I want to keep this gem a secret but that would be a disservice to my fellow travelers. Everytime we have had a great experience.

Ski area - Lots of groomed intermediate runs. The restaurants throughout the mountain are clean and very good food. In bad snow seasons, the skiing is still good due to abundant snow making.

Town - Ketchum is a genuine town. It is not a new manufactured town for skiing.

Inn or Lodge - Both are great. The hot tub/pool is identical in both. Clean rooms. Perhaps a bit small, but adequate amenities.

Staff - From shuttle drivers to people working on the mountain to wait staff, everyone is exceptionally pleasant and nice. I don't know how management does it, but all the staff is friendly and deeply committed to service. Very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen_Anne_Drizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week's stay at the Sun Valley Lodge and we couldn't have been happier. The hotel is gorgeous...numerous common areas with comfortable seating and cozy fireplaces, lounge with nightly entertainment, great restaurant (at least for breakfast-never got the chance to have dinner there), VERY comfortable bed and spacious bedroom (loved the chocolates!),fabulous outdoor heated pool...
The lodge has a lot to offer, but force yourself to leave because the town of Ketchum is a lot of fun too! We had many great meals, but two noteable restaurant experiences were at the Ketchum Grille (recommended by locals and they didn't let us down) and Trail Creek Cabin (Sleigh ride was fun but the food was the highlight). If you find yourself traveling to Sun Valley you won't be disappointed by the Lodge. By the way, all though they needed new snow, the conditions were very good due to snow making and grooming. Beginners beware-the green trails are steep, but wide (thankfully!). The views from the top are worth the nail biting. I wouldn't have wanted to miss them! PS The town shuttle service is excellent and user friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I met up with another couple and stayed at this lodge.
The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and a turn down service was made roughly at 6pm every night where they left a couple small boxes of chocolate - was a nice surprise, and especially nice to have at times.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the shuttle/bus service just outside the hotel, as well as the personal shuttle services they provided to and from various locations in town. The buses for the town were free, and stopped at all the major places - with ski racks on the outside that would bring you to the foot of each of the mountains and back to your hotel - or drop you off at several points down town and various other places.

The hot tub pool outside was a great - make sure you bring your bathing suits - as the water was a perfect temperature while snow hung around the edges. Loved the cocktail service at the hot pool - this pool by the way is pretty big... roughly 40 or so feet in diameter, and by the end of the day around 5:30 or so lots of people come down to enjoy it and a drink.

The breakfasts were very good, and the bar had great drinks.

The style of the hotel felt a little old, but well kept. Some of the hallways were lined with old pictures throughout the years, and i found the pictures from the 30's - 50's most interesting with Gary Cooper, Clark Gable, and many other famous folks from back in the day.

I enjoyed the hotel very much. My wife and I would like to visit again.

Good note - we booked and paid for 3 nights at this lodge through either expedia or hotel.com - i don't quite remember. The price was $150 less (in total) than booking directly through the Lodge itself. However, i found out later that I could have saved money by paying the full price through the lodge, and they would have given me free skiing passes for each day we stayed! At $90/person, and there were two of us, times 3 days of skiing... you can see the deal would have been much better through the lodge. Oh well, now I know, and if you are reading this, so do you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room that faces the ice rink and Dollar Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Sun Valley Lodge, and its sister property, the Sun Valley Inn, are delightful in every way. For a vacation, particularly with a family, there is so much to do! The range of activities - both summer and winter - is terrific. A swimming pool, a super outdoor skating rink (with lots of professional shows), good restaurants, a spa with terrific massages and facials, a tiny bowling alley, an historic movie theater, and (of course) great skiing. Nearby Ketchum offers the ski town activities you've come to expect. Plus - in the summer, you are just steps away from one of America's great symphonies. Did I mention the annual Writers Conference?
All in all, Sun Valley can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunvalley6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
1.5 km away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 km away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
2.0 km away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#4 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
19.3 km away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Property: Sun Valley Lodge
Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Region: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing