We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”
Review of The Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brooks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Older room, but clean. Bed was firm, surprisingly husband nor my self woke up either day not well rested. Plenty of hot water.(it's the hottest water I ever felt). Quite motel, not sure if anyone else was even there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank virginiagirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We picked this hotel simply because it was midway between Yellowstone and our home in Washington. We had no idea where we were headed. When we arrived in this cute little town we were immediately intrigued. Check in was easy and the owner is pretty funny. We headed up to the room and were very happy. It was HUGE! There was plenty of space to spread out after a week of camping. We planned to stay here two nights so that we could go hiking nearby. However, we did not make it hiking because we just had to explore Wallace. It was too historic to not take a look. The Brooks Hotel is situated in the center of everything (also not far from The Center of the Universe). We walked all over the town and saw pretty much everything. The highlight of each morning, though, was the huckleberry pancake breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. Words cannot describe the deliciousness. I still dream about these pancakes! The crab leg dinner was good, too. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, you must have breakfast here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Wallace, Idaho is an old mining town that has made the mistake of having the entire town placed on the National Register of Historic Places. That sounds nice, but it also prevents buildings from being remodeled and modernized, sometimes even on the inside. The Brooks is an old building in an old town. The owners do a great job of keeping it clean, but it runs at much less than capacity so stale air can interfere with your nose sometimes. We stayed in two rooms on the third floor. One has three queen beds in a long, narrow room which uses the bathroom to help divide it into two areas with the fridge and a counter also helping to define the spaces. The other room was a regular single. Both rooms are newly remodeled, clean, and with modest furnishings. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are adequate and clean. The Brooks has no elevator, so if you aren't up to two flights of stairs you may want to opt for the first or second floor. There's a big private parking lot behind the hotel and a baggage cart is available for your use. Your room key operates the back door lock. Beautiful downtown Wallace comprises about four blocks and is easily walkable. Since the Brooks is towards one edge and is on the main route through town, you can hardly get lost. Overall, the Brooks is a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. Our three-bed room didn't have a microwave. We just used the one in the other room. When we checked out I mentioned to the desk clerk that we thought it strange that one of the rooms had a micro and the other didn't. She and the man who was sitting in the office immediately decided it had been stolen. He was pragmatic. "I'll check the video and figure out who did it," he said.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Personalized service, helpful and felt like staying with family. From the warm welcome to the anecdotes about the family and history, it was amazing.
The rooms are very quiet even if our fridge sounded a bit loud.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 521ClarkK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed in this nice old hotel. Central location and with a nice restaurant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful with our questions about the surrounding area. The hotel is well away from the Interstate so is was easy to get a really good sleep. We felt we had made a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel is located on a very easy to find corner of town. Walking to anything is quick and full of things to see. The hotel has a nice little bar and café inside the hotel and on the street. Remember, this is history. Silver is big and plays a major part in this area. Take a stroll around and see the sights.

Room Tip: Park out back as to gain access to the hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dadztoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Maybe I had an out of the ordinary experience for this hotel... it has been years and years since I've asked for a refund. The smell of the hallway and rooms was as if a dirty diaper had been left for days. The windows were taped closed, not only no fresh air but a fire hazard. And the icing on the cake was that the floor gave when I walked in. Hotel needs some serious work and love.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgesbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.6 km away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
365 reviews
0.1 km away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
160 reviews
17.3 km away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
69 reviews
17.3 km away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brooks Hotel

Address: 500 Cedar St, Wallace, ID 83873-2231
Region: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range: $106 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brooks Hotel Wallace, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing