We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
55
33
23
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
33
23
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golf coursetennis courtsbring water shoesmain floor hasconvenience storethree bedroomguest houseokanagan lakeclose proximityhiking trailswasher and dryerglass of winetrampolinedeckvernonbbqsummer
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

First of all, the Guesthouse and the resort are incredibly beautiful, and have many great amenities. We loved the pool, beach and movie theatre in the guesthouse. There is ice trays in the house but no ice machine which was inconvenient, so I'd recommend renting your own.We had booked the Guesthouse a year prior. On every tour, we enquired about tables, chairs, dishes, table clothes. We were told numerous times by different tour guides that "pretty much everything you see is included". Which is part of the reason we booked at La Casa. Well it wasn't. A month before our wedding on our last tour to finalize planning for our wedding, we were informed that the tables, chairs and place settings had to be rented for $1500. We had budgeted the year before for the over $11000.00 cost to rent the venue, so not having enough to cover it, we had to borrow tables from a business in Vernon. Thank God they didn't charge us but our friends did two trips to Vernon in one day for these items. We were also informed that since they had renovated two rooms, we would have to pay extra to use them or would be denied access. These rooms were included on our previous tour, one room had no furniture in it until after the reno. They said it was previously unusable, which is why we would have to pay extra. We ended up having to pay an extra $850 for these "new" rooms. We were upset about all of these extra charges so I wrote in to management. I received a polite email back which basically said that they weren't going to do anything about the surprise charges. The staff that we did talk to were rude, so we tried to keep contact with them to a minimum. The floors never get cleaned, my 10 month old daughter was constantly covered in black dirt from crawling. The hot tub was dirty, so we never used it. About %50 of the lights were burnt out. We paid nearly $500 for a cleaning fee, for what I'm not sure. They have LOTS of rules, such as the house guests must water the plants daily, take all garbage and recycling out of the house and drive it to their onsite dump. The numerous reasons for eviction were elegantly listed and posted on the fridge. When we were packing up to go, the staff arrived 20 minutes before checkout. Instead of asking us about our stay, the only thing they wanted to talk about was how a light was broken and a towel was stained. They did help my sister in law with her dog, which was The only positive interaction that took place during our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakawayVacations, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

We want to apologize for any confusion with our wedding packages. It sounds like for the most part you had a good event. Having stayed in the Guest House you realize that there are not many venues that can host weddings, corporate groups, and sleep up to 26 guests all in the same building.

We do have different pricing depending on what the Guest House is used for. The $1500 is our 2017 Events Package fee which is added on for events such as Weddings where guests may need access to other items that are not usually included in a normal rental. This package covers the use of place settings, the ballroom, white table clothes, chair covers, tables and chairs for 130 people. We would like to take the time to clarify that this $1500 fee wasn’t charged to your reservation.

Due to the nature of the Guest House bookings, we don’t always pass on information about the events package as it is not relevant to many groups. The initial booking of the space with your husband was done quickly, and without much discussion on the purpose of your rental. We were not aware that you were planning on using this for a wedding, and this was not communicated after your tours. This could have been handled better and for that we are sorry.

When you booked the Guest House, it slept up to 22 guests. We took two rooms, and did extensive changes to them to convert them into guest rooms with heating, A/C, fully furnished and ready for guests. These 2 new rooms allowed us to increase the sleeping capacity of the building to 26 for new bookings made in 2017. It was completely optional for you to rent these extra rooms and have 4 extra guests stay with you. The fees associated with these rooms work out about $25-30 per person, which we do not think is unreasonable. We would like to make you aware that pricing for 2018, and onwards includes these rooms.

As for your cleaning concerns while we appreciate all feedback and we want to take responsibility, we do feel the need to express some concern with the statements you have made. There are around 300 light bulbs in the building, which are changed on an ongoing basis and more than a few light bulbs being out is not hard to understand. We spent over $2000 on upgrading 75% of the lights to LED bulbs in April and we are working on getting the rest of the bulbs updated by the spring.

The rules and regulations that you mention are actually outlined by the Strata and are not dictated by us. We make it our responsibility to make guests aware of these rules so that everyone can enjoy what the resort, and Guest House, has to offer for years to come. They are there to prevent the commissionaires having to come up to the Guest House as well as preventing unwanted fines. There is an 11pm quiet time for outside areas, but this does not affect how long you can party inside. We do request that you water 3 plants on the deck, but this is by no means a rule. We simply ask that you help out with this so that your space can be kept as private as possible while you are there. Because the Guest House is a self-serve venue, we do ask that you take garbage and recycling out during and after your stay. This prevents a large buildup of garbage from 26 guests, which can happen during a 1 week stay, and stops unwanted odours and attracting vermin. We do have a professional floor cleaning machine that is used in the building on a per stay basis. Unfortunately due to the daily ash fall-out from the severe wildfires that BC faced this summer, there has been fresh dust building up every day. We are sorry that this occurred.

We are not sure where the confusion has occurred with the check-out time. In previous years check out time has been 11am but all literature for 2017, including confirmation and arrival information, has clearly stated that 10am is the correct check-out time. Our cleaning staff do not arrive at the venue before this time. We would like to apologize that the cleaning staff were not as amiable as they should have been and can understand that this was disappointing. We will have a discussion about how this could have been done in a friendlier way.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Our stay could have been better had there been a better management company. The facilities are beautiful and well maintained (pool area, tennis courts etc) but we felt a little deceived from what their website offered and how dirty and unmaintained the houses were.

We rented 2 houses and both were dirty when we arrived. Dirty dishes (hidden under clean dishes), floors were swept but not mopped in ages – my feet were black from walking on them. Fridge didn't work in one unit and air conditioning didn't work in the other. Getting a hold of anyone was impossible; we arrived on a Saturday and had to leave a message – their answering machine states open Monday – Friday. Absolutely no one on site to speak with! There were different codes to get through the different gates some of which were not provided like going down to the lake or to dispose of garbage. Also renting paddleboards and getting Wi-Fi was a hassle. $20 a day for both and you need a truck to bring the boards down to the lake – they don’t fit in any vehicle and you certainly cannot walk them down or back up the steep hill! Side note there is no sandy beach as the small pics on the website may imply - just a rocky shore. For Wi-Fi, the codes and passwords are right on the modem in the houses so not sure why we are paying $20 a day. Also you need to ensure you bring your own pool towels but more importantly your own dish towels as none were provided. We also went to the convenience store here and paid $13 for 5 small water bottles. Bring that too! The place is not cheap to stay at and they nickel and dime you. Another side note. The place and other houses around us are overrun with wasps. Also there was a rodent of some sort in our kitchen definitely a result of poor cleaning standards! We were offered mouse traps but we have small children and a small pet and didn’t need another issue to deal with like our small dog stepping on it or getting her face caught in it. There is also a mini golf course but bring your own golf balls. Apparently they are also too expensive to provide we had to share a ball between the 3 of us. Oddly a few days in, the owner of the house shows up to drop off bar stools, and to possibly nose around? If the owner wanted to bring more chairs, he should have brought kitchen table chairs. Who only provides 4 chairs at the kitchen table for a 3 bedroom house? Simple math, and the fact we booked for 6 says you should have 6 chairs at the kitchen table.
We are definitely NOT recommending this place. And wish I would have spent a bit more time looking for reviews before booking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Daryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We booked this resort about a year ago. There were to be 40 people including children. I didn't realize how big this resort was. However I had rented a golf cart for our stay due to my son and myself both having a mobility disability and was told it was on a very steep hill. Very happy that I did.
We rented the BBQ site by the pool area for our family potluck supper for $250 with an additional $100 refundable deposit. However after being there I don't think it would be necessary to rent it. It's open to the public but it doesn't seem like it is used by the general public as there are BBQ on very balcony.
The mini golf was a lot of fun however there were not enough balls (we had to look under trees to find some) or clubs. There were no lights on the course so when it got dark you could no longer play which was a bummer. It also appears that they need to do some maintenance on the course such as new carpet. However the course itself was a lot of fun and very challenging. Not good for young kids unless you allow them to make up their own rules haha
The one swimming pool by the mini golf was nice and warm. We arranged the chairs and brought some caution tape to use as a net and played volleyball. It was a lot of fun as other people joined us to add to the numbers which increased the fun. However the 10:00 o'clock curfew for the pool is way too early. Especially in June or July when the sun is up later in the evening. The other pool on the top level appears to be for older people who just want to float around.
The beach and lake is extremely rocky which is no ones fault but people should be prepared and bring water shoes. There are 3 trampolines in the lake which are a lot of fun.
We booked the condo right on the lake which had a big deck and a lot of chairs for sitting which was great since it was a family reunion. Our condo was also the first one which allowed people to stop in on their way to the beach. This condo is also the best one to rent if you have difficulties with stairs as it only had about 5 steps to get into the condo. I believe which is the least amount out of all the condos.
Our ac was having some issues but I called the main office and a person was sent within an hour to fix it. Some of the relatives did complain about the noise from the ac. Which if you rent there just call and they will deal with it immediately.
Security is great as there is always someone driving around to make sure everything is okay.
I would have to say that the biggest downer are the people that own the condos down there but do not rent them out. They have something to say about everything.... from the noise of people visiting on the deck to people smoking on the beach (which we checked with security and you are allowed to do). Otherwise people are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbi-Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017

La Casa has a fairy tale setting with views of fabulous Lake Okanagan. We stayed with our daughter and son-in-law in one of the beautifully appointed homes. It was comfortable, clean and stylish.The resort was everything we needed for a very relaxing summer break. We loved the tennis courts and use of the racquets, as well as the challenging mini-golf course in a lovely treed garden setting. There were two beautiful large heated swimming pools situated in different areas of the resort, one with a good-sized spa pool beside it. Loads of outdoor furniture for relaxing in between swims added to the enjoyment. We followed our swim with drinks in the Italian styled bar/ restaurant. We all loved our time at La Casa and have made special memories to treasure.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Wonderfully Appointed Cottage that was more like a really nice three bedroom home! The unit we rented was very well cared for and we were very pleased that we selected this unit. The ONLY drawback to this development is the close proximity of the units to one another. This makes you feel as though you're in suburbia rather that at a cottage. We were only there for a weekend wedding, so R&R wasn't our overall goal. Our unit more than suited our needs!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms tend to be warmer. Stay on the ground level.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VanKB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews