We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
123
24
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
123
24
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari tent great weekend out of this world beautiful place vibe solo peace walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 154 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Mdumbi Backpackers is amazing. I stayed for four nights with my husband in what they nicknamed the "honeymoon suite" - a wooden shack with a little porch. What it may have lacked in size it made up in cosiness. Also, great food, great atmosphere amongst the other travellers and the prizes are very reasonable. I wish it was closer to Switzerland, so I could come back soon!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank moenschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann S, Manager at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

HI there Moenschen

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mdumbi BAckpackers. Yes that room is quite a small room but it seems like you made the most of it.

We really appreciate your time in reviewing us and hope that you will return one day. YOu live in a beautiful country yourself!!!

Lots of greets
johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2016

I stayed for two weeks over Christmas and new years. I truly fear that if I had stayed any longer I never would have left. This is the perfect place to totally chill out. Beautiful views, beaches and helpful staff. There was lots of wind but the water was warm and only a short walk down the hill to the ocean. I recommend this place to everyone I meet - I honestly believe it attracts the most inspirational people. With a beautiful history and connection to the community, you feel a part of something much bigger when you stay here. Thank you Johann and the Mdumbi staff for who you are and everything you do! Big hugs and massive love XXX

Room tip: All rooms are very quiet and adequate
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lael0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann S, Manager at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

HI there

Wow with reviews like yours I don't really know how to respond!!! You came in our most busy time when all of us is running around and the place is really full but yet you write this amazing review. Needless to say that you are one of those inspirational people that visits us and we will await your return!!!

thanks so much for that review.
Greets
johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Mdumbi is by far the most beautiful spot in the area. Not too crowded or overrun with development this spot remains one of my favs. Go paddling up the lagoon, learn to surf, head out angling or to explore the mangroves its all good. The massages are super affordable and amazing. Also its a short drive from hole in the wall. We camped this time was a bit crowded in terms of the size of the campsite allocated case of the peak season but we made it work.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Polkadotgumboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann S, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hi there

Thanks so much for your lovely write up and your stay at Mdumbi.

Glad that you made the time to do as many activities as possible!!
Our apologies if the campsites was a bit busy the time of year. We do have quite a influx of people over the busy season but try always not to over book the place. But it seems like you made the best of it so well done!!

Lots of greets and hope to see you again soon!!!
johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Hands down the most beautiful place I've ever seen. Stayed for 4 nights in a super nicely made dorm, the food was amazing and the people really nice. The best thing about this place is the scenery, though. Sitting atop the watchtower admiring the sunset or just hanging my hammock on a hill overlooking the sea.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann S, Manager at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hi there Danny

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and your very nice words.
Reading reviews like yours just makes me fall in love with Mdumbi all over again.

I like your hammock commend, I am working towards having spots for hammocks in the forest with amazing views but just need to get the right hammocks first!!

Lots of greets
johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015

Mdumbi is a place that is simply indescribable. Ive tried describing it to friends and family but you just cant quite emphasize enough on how amazing this place is. The atmosphere, the people, the happiness. It will always be on top of my list. Best holiday spot by far.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann S, Manager at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

I there Andy

Hehe strange that you ended up working at Mdumbi after this review... not so sure if the review still counts then but just want to say welcome to the team and we all really appreciate you and your amazing energy!!!

Greets
johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews