We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
123
24
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
123
24
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari tent great weekend out of this world beautiful place vibe solo peace walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2020

What a great weekend I spent at Mdumbi Backpackers! I was a solo visitor, but how quickly you make new friends at Mdumbi. Delicious food, great vibe,excellent walks and warm ocean friendly staff and guests. Highly recommended! Solo or in a group.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Wildcoastdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

The location is absolutely beautiful and we had such fun. The main issues I have with Mdumbi is the condition of the kitchen and the service. There is not adequate space in that kitchen to cater for the number of people that were there. Even though the cleaning staff did their job, it was not a pleasant experience being in that kitchen. The fridges were a mess and smelly, no space to put your things and the sinks and washing up sponges were disgusting.

With some love, time and money put into repairing and restoring the kitchen it will be a 10/10 but the condition of the entire kitchen is letting you down.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sachs2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

Stunning scenary, clean toilet facilities.

The reason for only 4 stars, is that the communal kitchen has many appliances that do not work, The electrical points at the camp site we were in did not work.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

We have visited Mdumbi Backpackers about 4 or 5 times now in the last 8 years and it always delivers!
We love outdoor sports and can't think of a better playground;
point breaks to surf like you are in indo..but without the crowds! Dolphins jumping out of the waves next to you and whales breaching further in the bay, and that happens all the time!
Windy? Kitesurf's up!
Othewise kayak up the river and watch the many birds, from Kingfishers to Fish Eagles is a winner.
No waves? Spearfish or get a cray just off the point..
No luck? Fresh oysters, muscles, cray, fish.. you name it, is available for very good prices from the locals.
Don't feel like cooking? Mdumbi backpackers prepares you a daily meal with good vibes for really affordable prices.
The area is also great to cycle or hike, and I was even able to have some nice paraglide flights during last trip (not an easy spot, but it is possible.. it looks like there is better spots around if you are willing to drive 20min to Mthata river mouth for example)

Most of the crew is still the same, which says a lot and makes you feel even more like home when you arrive.. The community programs that they developed together with Transcape NGO are well established.

This time we booked late, so we had to switch rooms a couple of times.. so we suggest to book room 4 with the best views or a safari tent after we tested most options :)

Can't wait to go back again!

Room tip: Room 4 or the safari tent has best views!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexvliege1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Mdumbi backpackers is an unspoilt rustic settlement with the most incredible views and the most wonderful vibe. Good comfortable beds, honest down to earth food, things to do and games to play in the common areas, absolutely fabulous countryside, yoga, kayaking with Wesley - all made for a truly memorable stay.

Room tip: The 'honeymoon' suite is set a little apart. A shower block with adequate facilities. A place for being at one with nature.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scopshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews