We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Insulation in the walls would be nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Insulation in the walls would be nice.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Clean room. Hotel is a great place to stay if you are deaf. The hot water heater in the wall next to my room groaned and popped starting around 6 am as others in the hotel were using hot water. The other wall in my room must have plumbing for the pool or laundry. When it started running, you could not have a conversation in our room it was so loud(not to mention the sleeping part). Looks like they put lots of money in appearances for the lobby and other areas and skimped on wall insulation. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not stay in room 119
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    50
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
47
40
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed one night at the Bloomington, Illinois Fairfield Inn & Suites. Hotel is near I-55, convenient for travelers. Hotel seemed new. The bed was much more comfortable than I normally experience at a Fairfield Inn. The bedding was of a high quality. Internet was easy to connect to and stable. Breakfast was standard continental breakfast, but the breakfast eating area had a nice bar to sit at. Surprisingly the hotel did not have a market to buy essential items, snacks, beverages and the like. Room had a fridge and microwave. The hotel was a solid choice for a shorter stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahnreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

King suite was a free upgrade from a King. Friendly helpful service with a clean room. Free breakfast was ample and comp newspapers provided. Pool area was clean and hot tub was relaxing. Easy on and off the freeway.

Good business traveler hotel and good value for family/leisure traveler.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in a. King suite which was a free upgrade from the king room I reserved. After checking in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMB4_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here on points and were happy with the room, bathroom and cleanliness. Room located on the 1st Floor and while we didn't have noise from above, we were next to the stairway. Somewhat noisey so avoid if needed.

My complaint with all Fairfields is that their Breakfast has been severely downgraded--nothing hot except waffles. We were there at 8:00a.m. and the breakfast rolls/bread containers were empty. Only very ripe bananas and a couple of apples. Fairfields have been our preferred hotels for many years, but we may be changing.

Front desk staff (both evening and morning) were very helpful.

Room Tip: Away from stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, IL
Level Contributor
241 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Be sure you stay on floor 3 as you will hear footsteps if you are on the floors 1 and 2. This place is well run and the breafast room is bright and well stocked with the usual Fairfield food. The location is some distance from Illinois State University but close to a movie theatre and resturants. It is also easy to find. I like this place better than the Marriott Courtyard on the other side of town because the Courtyard does not offer any breakfast included in their rates, and the parking is harder to get

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our second stay in this particular hotel, and like the last time we stayed here a couple of years ago, we were pleased with our stay this time. Our room was very well-maintained. The common areas are also very nice. Everything was clean. We had the Fairfield version of a suite which included two queens in the bedroom, and a living area with a pull-out couch. These areas are separated not by a real door but by a room divider. This does a pretty good job of separating the areas. This room also had two TVs, a fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. I do wish that rooms which say they have an occupancy of five or six (as this one does) would come with enough towels for that many people, rather than forcing us to ask for more, but that's a problem with most hotels, not just the Fairfield.

The pool area was small (as is typical for Fairfield Inns). When my kids went swimming on a Saturday afternoon, there were just a few clean towels left, but there were quite a few used ones laying on various chairs, which gives the impression that the staff doesn't clean that area all that regularly.

The breakfast was also typical. One thing I do not like was that instead of having individual cereal boxes, this one had the large dispensers with only four options for cereal. Also, one waffle maker is not enough.

This hotel is convenient to I-55. It's right next to a Farm and Fleet, down the road from Wal-mart, and nearby dining options include Culver's, Cracker Barrel, Popeye's, and Steak & Shake.

We were attending a marching band competition at ISU, and that was about a 10 minute drive.

This is a decent place and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
261 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very nice hotel. So clean it looks new...maybe it is, comfortable beds with upscale bedding, and large bathroom. There is just very little to say that is not praise.
the only thing taking away from perfection is the noisy ac/heat fan. This is common in hotels, I find.
Stay here. I am sure you will like it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#5 of 22 in Bloomington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 km away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
Address: 1014 Wylie Dr, Bloomington, IL 61705-9341
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Bloomington
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing