We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was our third visit and wont be our last”
other traveller has booked this property
Heated pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool at night
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Heated pool at night
Lounge
Dining area
Front of gîte
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Dining-room
Bedroom area with king-size bed
Shower room
Bedroom with double bed and single bed
View from patio
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Cycling
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Play area
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Gardens
Barbecue in the garden
Gardens
Festival 'La Déferlante', May, Brétignolles sur mer
Front of gîtes
Dining room
Heated pool
Play area
Gardens
Apremont
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Local beach
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was our third visit and wont be our last”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed at the Dolphin Gites on two previous occasions during the last two years and this was our third visit.
This was, it has to be said, the most relaxing holiday that we can remember. The weather was beautiful and Howard and Cathy ( Proprietors of the Dolphin Gites) went out of their way to make us feel at home.
From the beautiful heated swimming pool to the tranquil location of the Gites it was a fantastic week. Gite 6 provided excellent accommodation for the two of us although it would easily sleep four, it was clean, very well presented and extremely comfortable. The baker that delivered fresh croissants and baguettes each morning from his van in the courtyard was a truly fantastic touch. Book your holiday with confidence and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-fi connection was poor in some areas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dolphin Gites. We completely understand your frustration with the wifi connection! During your stay, the wifi extender was faulty -we have since replaced it and the connection is working well and appears to be reliable. We would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJS01
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming gite for non-stop family fun in the heart of the vendee region”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Dolphin Gites and our first ‘on-site’ in Gite 6 (Old Logis). Everything more than exceeded our expectations. We found our stay to be very restful and relaxing throughout. We were fortunate enough to be blessed with 14 days of sunshine during our 2 week holiday. Our 4 year old son had no end of fun with other children of all ages (4 years - 17 years) in the safe surroundings of the extensive grounds and gardens. Moreover, the convivial fun continued in the warm outdoor pool. Our gite was spacious and well equipped with a washing machine, dishwasher and every kitchen utensil you could think of. A lovely environment/atmosphere in which to experience a family holiday. A hidden gem in the heart of the Vendee region. This is a special holiday destination with so much to see and do in the nearby vicinity. In our opinion, La Rochelle and Ile de Re are certainly worth a long day out and both possess real character and charm of their own. So much for children of all ages- from high wire adventure parks, crazy golf, quad bikes, water parks, canoeing. We also explored a few of the well laid out and sign-posted bike paths/routes which can be taken in directly from Dolphin GItes. Bikes can be hired for a nominal fee.We will be back in 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, large gardens and pool. Ideal for children of all ages
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickr992
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“very relaxing and enjoyable - the perfect family holiday”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Great location, - make the effort and visit La Rochelle, Puy du Fou, etc.
Its a friendly atmosphere and safe environment which works for the whole family. Children are happy to mix with other children and adults can relax too. Perfect!
The hosts are accommodating and are always available to help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: family atmosphere
Liked least: there isnt anything not to dislike!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbiebid...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

This was the latest of our many visits to Dolphin Gites. This time we stayed in gite 6. The large kitchen dining room is an ideal area to sit and plan your day. Adjacent to the well equipped kitchen area is the lounge, with tv and dvd player. Outside is the secluded patio with bbq, table and chairs, and beautiful views over the splendid gardens, orchard and surrounding countryside. The village is quiet and peaceful, but a short drive will take you to miles of beautiful sandy beaches. Howard and Cathy are charming hosts, expect to make friends for life. They will both go out of their way to make you feel welcome, whether you are first time visitors or a returning guest. Dolphin Gites provide perfect, holiday accommodation, and we always look forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete relaxing holiday, that these gites provide
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing