We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in Illinois”
Review of The Train Inn

The Train Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Train Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in Illinois”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

One word....PAUL. A charming, kind, interesting and funny host.
Our three nights were great. A quite room and good bed gave us sweet dreams.
Breakfast was wonderful. Good conversation with other guest made the time fly.
We will be back in the spring...
All the rooms are nice so go for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMurray54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mokena, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Paul and Teresa have a nicely restored house with local landmark status. They are both personable and Paul makes a great breakfast! I'll have to find more reasons to get back to Carbondale so I can stay there again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Train Inn is located on campus at Southern Illinois University. This is a PERFECT place for parents of students. It is close to everything, and some student dorms are located across the street. Do not stay in the area hotels or you will have missed an opportunity to stay at the Train Inn. What a gem! Wi-Fi also offered.

My husband and I stayed for three nights. We were in town to visit with relatives and decided to try a B&B this trip. What a charming place! It’s like a home away from home. Paul and Teresa greeted us upon arrival. Paul asked us our preferred breakfast time and if we had any special dietary needs. He then quickly showed us to our room.

We stayed in the Carbondale Room located on the second floor. We had a very comfortable king size bed. Paul showed us how to work the air conditioner, television, lights, etc. Our room had a European style bathroom (no door), but still private (dividing wall). The other rooms are located on the main level of the house. There is also a separate cottage next door for larger groups or families.

The next morning we had breakfast with another couple that was staying at the Train Inn. Paul served us fresh fruit, quiche, mushrooms, roasted potatoes and juice/coffee. What a treat, and he’s a great cook! The kitchen and dining nook are very cozy. After breakfast we sat out on the front porch and planned our day. Paul assisted us by printing maps and helping plan our winery visits. He also kept us informed of local history and folklore. Paul is a wealth of information regarding the surrounding area. Upon returning after a long day, Paul offered us a beer. What a great host!

Side note:
Blue Sky Winery is a wonderful place to visit. http://www.blueskyvineyard.com/
The Bluff’s Vineyard & Winery http://www.thebluffswinery.com/

On our last evening at the Train Inn, we informed Paul that we would be departing very early Sunday morning, 5:00 a.m. To our surprise and delight, Paul was already up, wished us safe travels, and sent us on our way.

Room Tip: The Carbondale Room (upstairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandYMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breese, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed for one night. The room was very comfortable and super clean.
The french toast for breakfast was delicious and the hosts were most accommodating and
friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marakw52009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

A couple of times a year I travel to Carbondale for swim meets at the University with my daughter and we often end up in an overpriced chain...you know how it works, just looking for a bed for the night. This trip the Train Inn changed all that. It should be noted that the Inn (Paul and Theresa are the innkeepers) do not as a rule accept children (my daughter is almost 11 and well-traveled) and I understand that policy as the inn is small. In this case, however, I asked and as they were not crowded they were willing to make the exception. Even if you ask and they are willing to accept a child please understand that it is only 3-4 rooms and would require a child with a level of maturity that works in this environment. The location in the middle of town is very convenient to everything.

The Inn is in a historic home that they have rehabbed lovingly themselves. Lots of wood, exposed brick, and charm. There are three bedrooms on the first floor and one upstairs. Common areas include a cozy and comfortable living room and inviting eat in kitchen. There is also a front and back porch.

Breakfast,cooked to order by Paul was delicious. Cooked to order means that we discussed the night before what time would work best and our likes and dislikes. It ended up as fabulous omelets, grapefruit, toast, potatoes and parsnips and country ham, coffee, juice.

Our room, though small,was very comfortable and efficient absolutely perfect for a night or two expecially since you have full use of the living room. The bed was very comfortable and well dressed. Each room has its own shower, toilet and sink but be ready for a European experience where the shower is tucked into a corner of the bedroom - there is no separate bath but it worked great and the water pressure and hot water were terrific. We also had a flat screen TV.

But it was the innkeepers who will keep us coming back. They are interesting and willing to share their experience and enjoy their guests. And its the little things like being willing to throw wet swim towels in the dryer or to welcome us to leave our stuff at the house until later in the afternoon when we were leaving town that make it the place I want to stay again. All for a price that rivals the local chain hotel brands.

We will visit again on a weekend when they can accomodate my daughter but for a single adult or two adults if you will be in Carbondale, and enjoy B&B's, I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StLouisTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This was our first time at a B&B. We booked two nights in the Memphis Room and arrived after dinner. Paul and Theresa were there to greet us and showed us the ropes about staying at a B&B. What a wonderful old house! We were in Carbondale to research genealogy and they helped us with maps and advice. We loved the morning conversations over breakfast (which was fantastic!) and the relaxing atmosphere. I feel like we were visiting old friends, by the time we left. Oh and a shout out to Paul, for his wonderful breakfasts. If he offers to make you his quiche, take him up on it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorville, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at the Train Inn so we could easily visit SUIC - getting a jump on things by walking around the night before (our campus tour).

The inside has the original southern hard pine finish and is very nicely decorated and very, very clean.

Teresa is a great cook (brekfast anyways) and conversationalist - you'll enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
2.8 km away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
409 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
399 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
2.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Carbondale
11 reviews
21.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Train Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Train Inn

Property: The Train Inn
Address: 406 East Stoker Street, Carbondale, IL 62901
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that when you are seeking an inn, B&B, or guest house, you are searching for more than just a hotel room. You are in search of a warm, welcoming, home away from home. Here at the Train Inn Bed and Breakfast, we ensure that our guests have exactly that experience, by offering welcoming friendly service; personal attention to needs; home cooked hearty breakfasts; and clean, comfortable, cozy rooms. For those of you coming by train, we are conveniently located for access to the Amtrak railway station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing