We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
5
5
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly placebasic facilitiessri lankan foodnatural waterget awaypoolroadmanagerfallsmeals
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I spent 2 nights in this part of paradise in order to climb the adam's peack. We had a great time and were very warmly welcomed by the staff. The beauty of the place, the comfort of the bungalows and the quality of the food have delighted us. Thank you for everything

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Youssef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2016

A homely place nestling in a tea plantation. Surrounded by natural beauty, it is a haven for bird lovers. The rooms are moderately sized, but comfortable. No fridge or tea making amenities, but the staff are so obliging that they will provide all that you want. The meals were very good, serving mainly Sri Lankan, but we ordered a barbeque dinner which was delicious. The staff led by the manager, Mr. Hennayake were extremely welcoming, friendly and obliging - just the welcome there was enough to make me want to go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scarmeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Such a beautiful resort that feels one with nature. We saw this resort on our way to Aberdeen Waterfall and thought this would be a wonderful place to spend a romantic getaway. The manager Ranjan was extremely helpful and suggested that we book the hillside Cabana and we fell in love with it the moment we went in to see.

The cabana is made out of wood and stone. It doesn't look like much on the outside but when you go in, the interior is so romantic and you have a view to die for. On one side it's the tea estate and on the front, the splendid view of green misty mountains.

They have a natural pool which has water flowing in from the mountains and flowing out of the pool down the mountain. So you have fresh mountain water in the pool, no chlorine and yet clean. It's pretty cold but not uncomfortable. Perhaps because it's fresh water. (Or maybe because we were so happy it was impossible to feel uncomfortable)

The service is superb. Everyone is eager to help you out any way they can and they go the extra mile to make your stay truly relaxing and memorable. We ordered Sri Lankan food and they tasted delicious.

You can go on a walk in the tea estate but keep an eye out for leeches.

I think the other rooms are pretty basic. We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely recommend the cabanas. The cabana has a double bed and a single bed so it should be good for a small family as well.

Room Tip: Choose the wooden cabana as they provide the best views and have best interior also.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hiru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

One of the best place to stay in a wooden cottage covered with tea plantation.Staff was very friendly and they prepared what we like to have for meals.Food was very tasty.When you go there book wooden cottages.They have currently two.Other rooms are inside the hotel.So wooden cottages are the best for enjoy nature, to see nice mountains and listen to bird singing early without disturbances.Pool was good natural water comes from the hill.Can visit Aberdeen Falls with a guide from hotel and beware of leeches everywhere.Keep salt water bottle or lemon juice with you.Currently ,the entrance road( to hotel) is very bad like off road.They said they will construct it soon.

Room Tip: Choose the wooden cottages only.Can stay without noises and disturbance.Also best place to enjoy nature from outside.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Malz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016

We stayed at Maskeliya Oya before we climbed Adam's Peak. It's a very welcoming guest house and the owner in particular is very happy to chat (his English is excellent). The room was comfortable - perhaps in need of a little TLC but everything we needed including hot water.

The food is fantastic and the staff are very smiley and polite.

Worth noting that the drive to the start of the Adam's Peak climb is just under an hour. We're quite fit but had ample time to make the climb before sunrise (left the guest house at 12:45am. Be aware that during the busy pilgrim season, particularly full moon and Saturday nights, you cannot expect to climb Adam's Peak without queuing behind a barrage of people!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews