We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property, lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bed Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises Clovefield Villa front View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises
Clovefield Villa front View
Living Room
Living Room 2
Dining Area with Table Decos
Bathrooms
Mountain Biking through the Woods
Mountain Biking through the Woods
BBQ
Tea Gardens
Road towards Laxapana Falls
Laxapana waterfall
Aberdeen Falls
Warleigh Church
Adams Peak
White Water Rafting
Trekking through the Woods
River Baths
Water Sliding
White Water Rafting
River
Location
Dining Area
Sri Lankan Food
Dining rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Norton Bridge, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nayanatha...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Again!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Clovefield villa on 15th April with my relatives and family. I feel sorry to review this beautiful place with negative experience. It is only because of the female caretaker who was there to welcome us. She gave a very rude welcome when we went there. She was very angry with our visit. I cannot figure out yet how a person can behave that bad to customers. When we went there she has not done the rooms or cleaned the house. As I was the group leader I wanted calm her down and get the things sort out helping her out. I wanted to make sure that my group would not get upset hearing her angry, loud moaning. Me and mum had to do our own breadlines for 6 rooms while my relatives were waiting in the TV lounge. She did not even give us the bed sheets and pillows. I found the pillows and sheets in the kitchen table unfolded. Is that what we expect?
She was not even kind enough us to smile even at a single occasion. She was talking over the phone loudly to somebody cursing us. I really yet do not understand why she behaved like this in front of customers. She did not even realize that we were trying to help her to move fast and she was not even grateful to us. The management should have sense of quality of service and know how to train their staff in a difficult situation.
The house is out of nowhere. Laxapana waterfall is 12km away. Very narrow roads and difficult to find groceries. You should whatever you need before reaching there.
I informed all the way all the incident but it got in to worst when the Manager ‘Anjana’ called her. I am really disappointed with the money we spent. If I were the manager I would have gone extra mile and offer something to make the customers happy. We had an awful experience at that house. We left the house with a regret of booking that place. One person ruined entire group’s happiness from the moment of stepping the bungalow. We will never go there or recommend the place to anyone if this caretaker works there in the future! Don’t hire cheap labor! Don’t be too eager to make money if you don’t do your job properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Environment
Liked least: Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustineR1...
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, lovely location”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Clovefield Villa with friends only for 1 night. We wanted to climb Adams Peak and have chosen that property as a base. It takes around 40 minutes by car to get to Adams Peak but it is definitely the nicest option in the area and great value for money. Unfortunately 1 night stay means that we didn't have possibility to fully enjoy what place offers. However we can say that property is beautiful, rooms are very clean, location is great, hosts are extremely nice and food delicious. We visited Aberdeen Waterfall as well and would highly recommend to do so when staying at Clovefield as this is so far the most beautiful waterfall I have seen in Sri Lanka. Generally I would highly recommend Clovefield for people who would love to relax in very peaceful environment.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjanapg
Norton Bridge, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Value for Money”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent 3 days at the Clovefield Villa , Laxapana, Sri Lanka after the Adams Peak climb. After such a stay, we understand and we agree that it is probably one of the coolest place in the Laxapana Area. We were lucky to met a great man. His name is Anjana, the owner . It is amazing how this gentleman gives you the impression that you feel like home. The Sri Lankan food was excellent, thanks to the Lady Chef Wasanthi. The team is incredibly gentle and friendly. Laxapana Falls and Aberdeen Falls are the closest attractions and they are beautiful. Anjana has arranged us a Rafting tour and a Jungle trekking tour with Ravi ( Rafting Guy) - BBQ was good too. Simply value for money, great experience and love the SL food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Green Surroundings, Sri Lankan Food, Quality Bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lax15
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and remote”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have spent the last 2 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka and were particularly looking forward to our stay at Clovefield. The video makes the place look smart and luxurious and the activities on offer suggested that there would be lots to do.

I cannot fault the friendly lady who seems to be the caretaker of this establishment. She greeted us kindly and was always smiling.

However, the villa is dirty and is not as well kept as the video suggests. There was hair on the floor and cockroaches in the bedrooms. There was a cat wandering around and also dogs that barked incessantly - not the peaceful haven we had hoped for. The television didn't work, no wifi, and there was no information available as to suggest what we could do in the local area.

The villa is extremely remote, which means there are no nearby restaurants. We ate at the villa and the food was ok but there were limited options and it wasn't a patch on the food we have eaten elsewhere during our holiday. We were also served cold scrambled egg and cold toast for breakfast, which had been cooked up much earlier.

On the plus side, the hotel is 1 hour from Adam's peak which is much closer than Nuwara Eilya but if you are wanting to make the climb, there are nice guest houses right at the base of the mountain.

We had a booking for two nights and left after one to move on.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas O
1 review
“Gem in the Woods”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a private room. Room was clean and tidy and the price was very affordable. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food was awesome. 40 mins drive to the Adams Peak and 30 mins to Rafting and two waterfalls just 15 mins away from the Villa..This beautiful Villa is a Gem in the Woods for sure. Highly recommended for travelers who like bit of privacy and cool calm surroundings with Greenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings, Bedding and the Food
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shania D
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
“Lovely Place, Great Service with a Smiling Caretaker”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had an excellent one night stay. The 2 rooms were big and comfortable, and the other two are quite small but have comfortable bedding and clean linen, The staff were extremely helpful in organising us a guide for Adams peak and a taxi. The dinner was excellent, the breakfast was the best we had in Sri Lanka. Exotic Food and Trilling Experiences for two days, was simply Awesome. Adams Peak is a must do while staying at Clovefield Villa, the BBQ done by staff was perfect and blended with the local spices which is really good. Overall, the best couple of days in Sri Lanka ! Care takers were really friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, Bedding, Smiling Staff
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravin V
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ups and downs of Clovefield”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Planned a trip with a few friends to climb Adams Peak and decided to stay at Clovefield. The owner "Anjana" was very helpful when making the booking. Finding the place was a bit tough as there is no signboard that indicates the turnoff. The bungalow was very well kept, well lit and fully equipped. The bed linen etc was very clean and orderly. The hot water pressure in the shower was very low, and was just a trickle. We were however unpleasantly surprised when the staff there made a request to us that an MP wanted to stop by for lunch while were in occupation. To which we objected but food was prepared and served to these uninvited guests to our utter dismay, resulting in our lunch getting delayed by close to an hour. We also noticed that the male staff member " Anura" was helping himself to balances of our liquor while we were away. After a while we noticed that he was emitting a strong odor of alcohol, which was not very professional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: The staff.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing