We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights glass igloo the bus snow shoes dog sledding sauna sea fishing manager fjord shower mountains ola bed view house activities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Spent three nights in electrifying white solitude, in conversation with nature. Its like being in the ringside seat while nature performs for you alone, an audio visual display of its varying moods. Self sufficient and well maintained glass igloo accommodation with possibilities of nice walks, including the hill where the remnants of WWII ruins remind you of german reach and might. Sauna with great views and all walks with whispering winds. Its a place that invites a repeat.

No place is welcoming unless the hosts are. Ola and his father go out of their way to redefine the concept of Hospitality in otherwise cold climes. They ensure you maximise the pleasure of being there. Husky rides were arranged, snow gear fit to size provided and they even helped us shop. Maribel topped up our necessities, gratis.

Place to be, to discover what holiday can be.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Jbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola B, Manager at Lyngen North, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much!
It was truly wonderful having you as guests. Hope to see you both again and welcome back!
Best regards
Ola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

If we could, we would have given it another star, making it a 6-star rating!

We had such a fabulous and unique time in our glass igloo, the place was clean, spacious and provided with all the necessary utensils and furniture. We made such amazing memories just sitting in our igloo and staring at the beautiful surroundings.

Ola, our host, was the most helpful and polite person we have ever met, he made sure to cater to our every need. Arranged for our snow-shoeing and dog-sledding trips, and provided us with a time slot in the jacuzzi as well.

Cannot wait to go back, definitely recommended!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mayur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola B, Manager at Lyngen North, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much!
Glad to hear you had a wonderful time here and hope to see you again.
Welcome back!
Best regards
Ola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

We stayed in one of the two glass igloos. Perfect location by the sea and with views of the mountains. Equipped for self catering with just what you need and very comfortable and warm. January has low temperatures but the igloos were just ideal. Spent first evening watching the northern lights with dog sledging next day organised through lyngen north. Ola was the perfect host, very helpful particularly when booking, no question was too much. This is a small family business with a great tourist ethic and we agree small is beautiful. Really worth spending time here.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola B, Manager at Lyngen North, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much!
It was wonderful having you as guests and hope to see you again!
Welcome back!
Best regards
Ola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We have just returned from spending 6 nights in one of the igloos where we had one of the best stays in such a unique ‘room’. As we drove down towards the igloo I wondered how we would manage for 6 nights, but inside it is like a tardis and more spacious then the photos show. The bed is tucked against the side so getting in and out for one of you needs negotiation/flexibility but in our case hilarity! The bed is comfy and quilts plenty warm enough in winter. The ability to raise the bed up was great and in the afternoons I would use it as my base to watch the ever changing weather and the magnificent mountains. The igloo was cosy and we were warm in the -6 temperatures outside. When it snowed the igloo became covered in snow which was interesting. The shower is great and 2 of you can get a shower before the hot water runs out if you don’t linger. Plenty of towels. There’s 3 saucepans, a frying pan, cutlery but as has been mentioned only small plates. This is because it’s a slim cupboard! We read about this and brought along a couple of large plastic picnic plates. Nearest supermarket is 25 mins drive away. We saw the lights on 3 nights and 1 early morning. We watched eagles fly over us. We saw an otter down by the marina. A seal bobbed his head up and down at us in the way that says I know you have a camera....we also caught a glimpse of a whale in the fjord. It seems that this winter the whales sre chasing the herring up in this area and so if you talk to Ola he can make a booking for you to join a boat trip out to look for the whales at Skjervøy which is about 25 mins drive away and a whole lot better then 3 hours drive up from Tromso. We loved this igloo and it’s magnificent surroundings. We are planning to visit again. Thanks so much Ola.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola B, Manager at Lyngen North, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much!
It was wonderful having you as guests and glad you got to see so much of the wildlife around here during your stay.
Hope to see you again and welcome back!
Best regards
Ola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the igloo in Sept and was skeptical at first as it looks really modest from the outside. But not only am I transfixed by the view right outside of my room but the room is much more spacious than many 5 star hotel and we'll decorated. Clean and comfortable. Best stay for a long long time. Almost like glamping. Try it!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kenny078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola B, Manager at Lyngen North, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much!
It was wonderful having you as a guest and glad to see you had a great time here.
Hope to see you again and welcome back!
Best regards
Ola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews