We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prairie Winds Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Carthage B&B and Inns
Southern US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was in the area for the holidays and family had stayed previously and recommended it vs. driving to Macomb or Keokuk to stay in a chain hotel. I echo the thoughts of my fellow reviewers - sometimes you worry about independent hotels, but the Prairie Winds isn't one to worry about, unless you are expecting luxury amenities. I also found the room to be clean and the bathroom sparkling. The heat is the warm radiator-style heat so it was slower to warm up than forced air, but heats up nicely! The price was great - taxes were included in the base rate, which I am not sure I have encountered in years - and the staff/owners pleasant. Pleased they offer wi-fi although I didn't need to use it. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Thanks for a pleasant stay. Cleanliness seems to be lacking in the big chains or corporate hotels anymore. Friendliness is found here. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: nice clean rooms worth the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven357, Owner at Prairie Winds Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
robert

we thank you for the review you wrote. it is nice for us to know, that maybe we made someones day, just a little easier. this is the first time for me, in writing a response to a review. i hope i have done this right.
steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland Heights, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This little gem motel was exactly what I needed for a quick trip into Carthage for a night. The room was exceptionally clean, all of the cinder-block walls looked as if they were painted the day before, and it was very spacious. What I was really impressed with was the "retro" style bathroom! Mint green colored tile with bright white caulk. Not one tile was chipped or any dingy caulk. What a pleasant surprise!!

The price was also a surprise. . . $44 for a night without any of the senseless taxes that most hotels tack on at the bottom. Great value, great room!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven357, Owner at Prairie Winds Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
thank you for for your wonderful review. we do try to keep the building as clean as we can, because clean, quiet, and reasonable rates is all we can offer. i wrote in a previous response, that if we made your day a little easier, and based the review you wrote, i think we did, then you did get it right.

review, much appreciated!
steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I have stayed at the Prairie Winds on a few occasions because it's close to where my daughter currently lives. Having stayed in some of the other towns in the immediate one-hour radius, I initially chose the Prairie Winds because it was much closer, and the pictures on its website made it look acceptable. When I learned of the price, I honestly wasn't expecting too much out of the place, but I was pleasantly surprised.

While the rooms are rather basic in decor, they're not only functional, but comfortable as well. And even more importantly for me, the rooms are immaculate! Those bathrooms shine like they belong in a hospital. Being an avid "road-tripper", I am particularly happy that at least some smaller mom-and-pop motels survive today, and the Prairie Winds is a classic example. If you're looking for something reminiscent of a Holiday Inn or Best Western, you might want to go on up the road to Keokuk.

Since Carthage is so rural, the view of the stars at night is incredible. Anyone staying here should hope for a clear night: go out in the parking lot and just look upward.

My daughter is actually leaving the area very soon, so it's doubtful I'll ever get back to the Prairie Winds; however, if you're in the area and need clean, quiet lodging for a night, don't hesitate to stop here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven357, Owner at Prairie Winds Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
thank you for the review you wrote. sorry to read that you might make a trip down here, but because of the review you wrote, maybe someone will read what you wrote, and decide to stay here as well.

good luck!
steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Prairie Winds is an old-school cinder-block motel, on the highway just outside of Carthage. Pretty nice for the price. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Good selection of channels on satellite TV. No tub in bathroom, but shower stall was quite large. Free Internet, but it's wired; the office provided a cable, but there was no power outlet anywhere near the network connection. Need to go into town for restaurants. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnoyingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven357, Owner at Prairie Winds Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
i am new at this, so i am sorry it has taken so long to reply to your review. you are correct in pointing out to us, that we forgot the electrical outlet for the laptop computer, near the data port. i don't know why i did not think of that when we wired the building. thanks to your review, we hope to correct our mistake.

thank you very much!
steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
20.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
20.5 km away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
20.1 km away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
19.9 km away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#4 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
18.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Keokuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Winds Motel

Property: Prairie Winds Motel
Address: 1764 E US Highway 136, Carthage, IL 62321-3528
Region: United States > Illinois > Carthage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing