We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

my wife and i had a great 5 days at mermaid's secret with tim and his wife sam in november 2012. at first we thought that their place was out of the way-----and it really is-----but that is what made it so fantastic. it is really tucked away in the rain forest and you get to totally experience the nature that drives you to dominica in the first place. the rivers around the property, and the swimming hole, are attractions that others would have to drive miles to see. you can just hang out and have it all. their property is simple and wonderful. the bar is right on the river and a nice social experience. tim and sam are the best hosts. very informative and friendly. willing to share and be involved with you. it just couldnt be better.
the cabin was very good....not luxurious, but never billed that way. it is very spacious, the bed was great and the bathroom very nice. the kitchen area is nice but do remember to get food because it is a long way to the store.
the cabin deck is delightful and i was able to easily get wifi on my laptop.
i can only recommend mermaid's secret really highly since we had such a good time there. i found them by mistake and it totally made our trip. you ust can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kktxod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you Kevin and Melissa. It was great meeting you and we are still using and enjoying your tuna cooking tips and recipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

My family and I spent a week on the island and wanted to explore the east side. Mermaid Secret was the perfect place to stop. The cottages are very nice, clean, and comfortable. Tim and Sam are very accommodating and offer great company. The cottages are located beside a beautiful river with a great swimming hole. Mermaid Secret is tucked away in the rainforest but is close to many fun and beautiful hikes.
Mermaid Secret is the perfect place to relax and spend a few nights in the rainforest. If you are driving by you can stop at the riverside bar for a nice cold drink, but trust me you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank menkeagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and your time together on the island.

Regards
Tim & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Dominica is a beautiful, lush paradise. We traveled the entire island and by far the best placed we stayed was Mermaids Secret. The owners (Tim, Sam and family) are beyond hospitable and incredibly friendly. During our stay they repeatedly went out of their way to make our stay amazing.
The property is stunning, with cute (high quality) cottages, delicious local food, jungle views and an idyllic pool in the river. Also, the owners are very respectful of the environment and the local community. We even extended our stay because we enjoyed them and the property so much. This side of the island is definitely the most natural and rural. There are also some great day hikes in the area to waterfalls and ocean vistas. This was the highlight of our trip and we would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

Thanks for your helpfull review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay despite the awful rain on the first night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you truly want to get away from it all and just mellow out, don't miss out on a stay at Mermaid's Secret. A beautiful place where your biggest concern will be where you want to go hike and swim that day. And if you don't want to go anywhere you can swim a few yards from your cabin or yurt then have a Kubuli on the deck over the river. The Williams family are the perfect hosts as well as awesome tour guides! They made sure that we had the food (order ahead or bring some with you) we requested was at our cabin when we arrived. The catered meals were superb and nothing is better than coconut water from a "jelly" right off the tree for breakfast. A great way to start the day! During our stay we felt like we were in the company of genuinely good people who treated us like family (the family kind of family you love to see).

Room Tip: All rooms are very good and have bed netting (a must in Dominica).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CoCo_JazzTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Had a fantastic holiday at Mermaids Secret, swimming and washing in the river, swimming in Mermaid's Pool, chilling out in the rain forest. Mermaids Secret provided great accomodation and cabins are fitted out to a high standard. We have had the holiday of a lifetime, scuba diving and swimming under waterfalls. We definately plan to return to this fantastic island and Mermaids Secret. Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Owner's were so hospitable and helpful with anything we needed. They were more than friendly! The accomodation was very clean and quaint. The surroundings were beautiful and in a very quiet area. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. If you want to experience the real Dominica, then you need to stay there. Ask the owner about memorable trips. He knows very good ones! We loved the owners, the mermaid’s secret pool, the bar and the bartender’s smile and the area so much. If we go back to Dominica we would stay there again for sure. Thank you Tim and Sam for a memorable time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TomSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had the most amazing holiday at Mermaids Secret. I was lucky enough to stay for 10 very comfortable nights in the Carib Cabin. The accommodation is a very high standard and beautifully finished with details like hand sourced drfit wood door handles and natural stone flooring in the bathroom. I was worried about bugs and critters in the jungle before I arrived but needn't have been, there wasnt any to speak of, less than we get in the UK! Sam and Tim are brilliant hosts, nothing is too much trouble and their love of the place really shines through. They have created something very special for us to enjoy.

The setting of the resort is just stunning, surrounded by crystal clear rivers that tumble over boulders creating a natural pool in one spot with a large rock in the middle - the Mermaids Pool. The best swimming pool you could dream up. The nature, trees and flowers in the grounds provided me with many fantastic photos to treasure.

The accommodation is ideally situated to explore the inner island and coast. I had so many fantastic experiences..... jungle treks, kayaking, snorkelling, dips in pools under waterfalls after river walks and the opportunity to watch a leatherback turtle come ashore and lay her eggs, wonderful. I loved it all.

Room Tip: I stayed in a cabin but would love to have tried out one of the yurts.... they look amazing
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KeyStar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
28.6 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
14.8 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
27.9 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
25.2 km away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
9.2 km away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range: $18 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing