We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$126
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Young Hotel(Roseau)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Beach Resort(Grand Bourg)
US$135
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
185
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverother guestsnatural poolboiling lakeswimming holespent nightsrum punchthe east coastafter a long daywavine cyriquefive nightsvery special placestayed longerold friendsamazing hostschampagne reefcooked meals
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 190 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family and I spent a week on the island and wanted to explore the east side. Mermaid Secret was the perfect place to stop. The cottages are very nice, clean, and comfortable. Tim and Sam are very accommodating and offer great company. The cottages are located beside a beautiful river with a great swimming hole. Mermaid Secret is tucked away in the rainforest but is close to many fun and beautiful hikes.
Mermaid Secret is the perfect place to relax and spend a few nights in the rainforest. If you are driving by you can stop at the riverside bar for a nice cold drink, but trust me you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank menkeagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and your time together on the island.

Regards
Tim & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Dominica is a beautiful, lush paradise. We traveled the entire island and by far the best placed we stayed was Mermaids Secret. The owners (Tim, Sam and family) are beyond hospitable and incredibly friendly. During our stay they repeatedly went out of their way to make our stay amazing.
The property is stunning, with cute (high quality) cottages, delicious local food, jungle views and an idyllic pool in the river. Also, the owners are very respectful of the environment and the local community. We even extended our stay because we enjoyed them and the property so much. This side of the island is definitely the most natural and rural. There are also some great day hikes in the area to waterfalls and ocean vistas. This was the highlight of our trip and we would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2015

Thanks for your helpfull review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay despite the awful rain on the first night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you truly want to get away from it all and just mellow out, don't miss out on a stay at Mermaid's Secret. A beautiful place where your biggest concern will be where you want to go hike and swim that day. And if you don't want to go anywhere you can swim a few yards from your cabin or yurt then have a Kubuli on the deck over the river. The Williams family are the perfect hosts as well as awesome tour guides! They made sure that we had the food (order ahead or bring some with you) we requested was at our cabin when we arrived. The catered meals were superb and nothing is better than coconut water from a "jelly" right off the tree for breakfast. A great way to start the day! During our stay we felt like we were in the company of genuinely good people who treated us like family (the family kind of family you love to see).

Room Tip: All rooms are very good and have bed netting (a must in Dominica).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CoCo_JazzTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had a fantastic holiday at Mermaids Secret, swimming and washing in the river, swimming in Mermaid's Pool, chilling out in the rain forest. Mermaids Secret provided great accomodation and cabins are fitted out to a high standard. We have had the holiday of a lifetime, scuba diving and swimming under waterfalls. We definately plan to return to this fantastic island and Mermaids Secret. Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Owner's were so hospitable and helpful with anything we needed. They were more than friendly! The accomodation was very clean and quaint. The surroundings were beautiful and in a very quiet area. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. If you want to experience the real Dominica, then you need to stay there. Ask the owner about memorable trips. He knows very good ones! We loved the owners, the mermaid’s secret pool, the bar and the bartender’s smile and the area so much. If we go back to Dominica we would stay there again for sure. Thank you Tim and Sam for a memorable time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TomSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews