We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent boutique type hotel”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

PRO:
Great rooms, great amenities, super bathrooms and minibar. free internet.

CON: can be a little noisy, bedroom storage minimal.

Overall a great value and location

Room Tip: ask for room facing west, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,391 - 3,397 of 3,948 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

great hotel close to most things that downtown Chicago has to offer. Upon check in they did not honor the Expedia VIP status. I have been a Expedia VIP traveler for 3 years and this is the first time the upgrades were not given, i do not know if front desk did not know about the program or did not care. The bathtub drain did not work and for the three nights we were there it was not fixed i finally for my wife stuffed a washcloth down the drain so she could take a bath. Don' t get me wrong i liked the hotel it just seemed like they might be having some management problems. Also the lower level was closed for remodel. Not a big deal but i think management should have made notice when the hotel was reserved.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room each floor has 50% rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I got a great deal through Jetsetter on this hotel. We were staying in Chicago visiting family and wanted to have an evening to ourselves in the downtown area. It is conveniently located only a few blocks from the Red Line in the North Loop and within walking distance to all the great shopping on Michigan Ave as well as the lake front and the Museum of Contemporary Art. We were able to walk over to Cafe Spiaggia for a delicious dinner. Chicago is not always the most walkable city so I really appreciated this prime location. The room itself was modern and clean with all the amenities. My only complaint is the bed, it was too soft and it slanted down towards the head of the bed. Kind of wierd and made for a fitful sleep. The fitness center was clean and sufficient. We did not get any spa services, they seemed over the top pricey. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to Chicago visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftgrnegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The design of this hotel was definately to my liking. Modern, sleek but still warm and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful with floor to ceiling windows, large comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms/showers. Food was good. We only ate at the hotels restaurant at breakfast (was still complimentary back then). This hotel is is in the perfect location for those who want to see all that Chicago has to offer. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was lucky enough to get a corner king room at the Dana Hotel and it was definitely the best hotel room I've ever stayed in. The view was incredible, the room was clean, the staff was friendly and the mini-bar was affordable! The location was perfect for the event that we were holding, and also perfect for people that like to go out to eat and hang out at night. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtarheel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a beautiful boutique perfectly located within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, surrounded by lots of great restaurants and easy access to the transit lines! My fiancee and I stayed here for 4 days from from April 12 to April 16 to celebrate our Birthdays and let me tell you the Dana really did an exceptional job to make it a memorable experience

FLIGHT: We flew from Toronto via Air Canada. Everything was on time. No in flight meal included but as it was less than a 2hr fligh however they sold snacks and offered free beverages.

ARRIVAL: We arrived around 8am Thursday morning and the airport wasn't packed or too busy. We needed a taxi to the hotel so when you head out follow the signs and theres a booth with a person dispatching taxis on a first come first serve basis. So no need to haul down or call ahead they do all the work for you and there is a slew of taxis outside waiting for customers. Since we were driving through rush hour I took almost an hour to get to the hotel due to all the traffic that morning.

CHECK IN: As we pulled up the bellboys welcomed us and helped us take out our luggage in. They tagged it and told us they would take it up to our room As we entered the hotel there was a large bar located on the main floor along with the restaurant where people were having breakfast.The checkin desk was one floor up so we took the stairs in beautiful windowed staircase a few steps up. The concerige lady was really nice but we were really early so the room wasn't ready yet. Check in wasnt until 3pm and we were there at 9am. We inquired about an upgrade and she was kind enough to offer us an upgraded from the for a discounted price.

ROOM: We stayed in the serene king room on the 21st Floor room 2114. The room was beautiful and spacious with dark would floors, earthtones, and a floor to ceiling window with views of the city and street below. The bathroom had a wonderful rainshower head with beautiful bowl sink. The bedroom was really comfy with down pillows.The mini bar was stocked with alcohol and pop/juice as well as snack foods and wine. Plus a complimentary use of the in room keurig coffee maker.

PEOPLE: All the staff here were amazing. They truly go out of there way to help you and give you tips. The conceirge offered us a free bottle of wine (our choice) to pick from the minibar to celebrate our birthdays. The bellhop boys gave us tips on how to navigate the city and where to go and the concierge manager help my fiancee arrange flowers to be delivered to the room for my birthday.

THE FOOD: Room service (available 24hrs) was really good and fast...took less than 20 minutes to come up the room. They have a good selection of apps, sandwiches, hot entrees, asian fare, and desserts. We ordered the sliders that came with a side of the truffle frites which were amazing! You can just leave your tray outside the room or call roomservice to pick it up for you. We also dined at Aja (located in the lobby) which is asian and fusion cuisine. Amazing food and great service! We also ate there for breakfast too which was pretty good!

ENTERTAINMENT: You must check out Veritgo Sky Lounge especially on Saturday night because that's the most lively night. It's a gorgeous space and they have the most beautiful view of the city especially at night when everything is all lit up! Check out there heated rooftop patio with fire pit too! The music and drinks are really good too. The waitress brought us over free Birthday Shots!
Also make sure you check out the local sites like the free lincoln park zoo, "the bean", Lou Malnati's deep dish will change your life, Cubs Game,Navy Pier and shopping on the Magnificent Mile!

NOTES: Overall a superb Hotel in a perfect location with amazing service and staff. Room was gorgeous and always clean and no issue with noise or sleeping! I would definitely love to return here!

Room Tip: Pick a room high up so you get good views and also make sure you request a quiet room away from Vert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissy_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Wow! A reasonable rate with a great hotel. I gotta say the rooftop was amazing. Casual on Thursday and ocking and rolling on Friday.
The rooms have wood floors?! and floor to ceiling windows. I love the rain shower and of course the music system is the same as the Waldorf has. Staff is cool and unpretentious from the bouncers of the lounge to the front desk. I love all the texture in this downtown Jem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $131 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing