We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great hotel in the middle of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #45 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
intsik
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great hotel in the middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

got a jettsetter deal with a great rate. wifi was free, and the room came with a $10 daily breakfast credit.

got a nice corner room, which i preferred compare to the ones with floor to ceiling windows which you could see from the street. but as with other reviewers here, had trouble with thin doors/walls. could near a lot of noise from the hallway.

the room itself was very good. comfortable bed. enough storage and workspace. my only issue was the overstocked minibar. i could not use the ref, and there were just too many things in the ref and on the table.

awesome bathroom. great rain shower, water pressure and temp.

hotel service was nice and polite. valets and bellhops very helpful. breakfast at the resraurant was rock solid too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    857
    284
    113
    51
See reviews for
347
1,307
165
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I booked this hotel via Expedia as a wildcard. Supposedly 40% discount off the published rate. I was ripped off by Expedia and the hotel, only getting 20% discount off what was the walk in rate for the room. Of course expedia did nothing.

This was made worse by the fact that my room was located on the 25th floor under the disco. The bass was dreadful. I complained but of course the hotel did nothing.

The hotel staff attitude was dismissive. They did not help at all.

Don't stay there. Overpriced and poor service. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't book it. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to bring your recent stay to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, and I am sorry you did not experience that during your stay. We were able to locate your booking which will allow us to pin point our coaching and counseling efforts. We hope the next time your travels bring you to Chicago you give us another shot and please feel free to contact me directly.

best regards,
liana clark
director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a modern hotel with unpainted concrete ceilings in the rooms, glass wall from the bedroom to the shower and free wifi. Good beds, clean rooms and well staffed with helpful people

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights April 27 - April 30. I had booked the room with southwest as part of a vacation package. Upon arrival, the doorman, TJ, was incredibly friendly and helpful. The girl at the front was also helpful and offered us a room with more windows which we accepted. The view was wonderful and location is great. The room was cleaned daily. My main complaint is when checking out, I was asked if I wanted a receipt, I said yes. Then I was told I had no receipt because I had prepaid (which I had prepaid through southwest) but I always like to verify charges when my account information has been scanned. When I arrived back home I checked my account and had 150 dollar charge from the hotel. I called the hotel and was told "oh it's probably an incidental deposit and will be credited back in 35 days after checkout." I think if you are going to charge someone, you "probably" should be able to indicate what the charge is for especially when the tv screen said no charges as well as the front desk and the fees were charged the second night of our stay. And 35 days for the credit to appear? I think this is misleading and staff should "probably" offer to look into customer's inquiries as good business measure rather than rush them off the phone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtzion ill
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

As we entered the lobby we thought wow this looks nice and upbeat and fun. But, the more the day wore on the more disappointment set in. First we got pedicures which were ok but overpriced. Go figure. The next was the workout facility. It had 2 treadmills which only 1 worked 1 bike and some weights. We were led to believe there were 2 restaurants in the hotel one on the top floor one in the lobby. As we soon find out that the room we are in on the 25th floor was actually under the dance club on the 26th floor that lasted until 3am very big disappointment. Overall I would have to say not again:( They actually refunded our spa money to compensate for our troubles they entirely missed the point they need to worn people that it is VERY loud on the top floors

Room Tip: Anything on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redlips24065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
362 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room (#1216) was a corner room on the 12th floor. It had floor-ceiling windows for two of the "walls," which provided an awesome view and plenty of light. The room was modern, had plenty of outlets, a powerful shower (raining shower head), LCD flat screen, free wi-fi and all the other amenities of a modern hotel. My room rate came with a $10 voucher for breakfast.

The breakfast menu included a "breakfast club" sandwich for $10 (free after my voucher). It was incredibly good. Scrambled egg, spinach, avocado, applewood bacon, spiced chipotle mayo and some cheese I think, on multi-grain bread. It came with potatoes. The whole thing was very good, surprisingly good - usually breakfast is breakfast.

The hotel is right next to a Starbucks and a short walk to Lou Malnaty's Pizza, Ed Debevic's and a ton of other restaurants. (See reviews for Lou Malnaty's and Ed Debevic's)

Highly recommend this place - Awesome hotel.

Room Tip: Request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed one night for a friends birthday. Totally didn't know there was a club on the top floor. Very upset we didn't partake. We were on the 13th floor. Beautiful views. One in our party had a corner balcony room, loved it. Beautiful rooms. Great beds. Nice little extras like iPad port, etc. Going back in September with a group of 20 for my birthday and will DEFINITELY use the club!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpotlightOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#39 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#15 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing