We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Skyscraper Tour Provided Very Nice Overview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Architecture Foundation

Chicago Architecture Foundation
Book In Advance
US$18.00*
and up
Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) is a nonprofit cultural organization with tours, exhibitions, programs and events for all ages. Visit CAF on Michigan Avenue to view our 1,000-building scale model of Chicago, shop in our award-winning store, or participate in a fun LEGO® building event in our ArcelorMittal Design Studio. Choose from 85 tours by boat, walking, bus, or even L train, including the CAF River Cruise aboard Chicago's First Lady Cruises. Tours depart daily and are led by CAF's expert docent guides. Every October, check out CAF's free annual Open House Chicago festival. Proceeds from CAF’s tours and gift shop, as well as grants, sponsorships and donations, support this educational mission.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Skyscraper Tour Provided Very Nice Overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We loved seeing the tall buildings in the skyline of Chicago, but it's hard to know where to begin to really get a taste of the history behind them. We did the two-hour bus tour, and it was great. The stops where well-selected and nicely paced. The guide did not even need notes, very informative and interesting.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pwallace67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiarchitecture, Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for the great review of our tour! Yes, our guides are amazing. CAF has more than 450 docent guides who volunteer their time to lead thousands of CAF tours every year. They go through hundreds of hours of training and it certainly pays off!

We hope to see you at the Chicago Architecture Foundation again the next time you're in town. Again, thank you for the great review!

Jennifer
New Media Manager
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,652
    254
    24
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was in love with the city it is great .i visited boys town I had a good time with friends.i also went to see gardens ,silver cloud, arts institute ,china town and off course the fabulous Michigan AV

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take the new "El" tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We took the new architecture tour in which you ride the elevated subway in The Loop for two hours. The guide leads you off the train at different stops and tells you all about the buildings you see from the platforms. The El takes you within feet of some of the most important buildings in Chicago, and gives you a unique view of others. The tour also gets into the history of city building itself, all the plans and scandals. Chicago Architecture Foundation tours are always smart and interesting, and this one is no exception.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank swizzleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiarchitecture, Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our Elevated Architecture tour. It truly is a fantastic way to see the city's beautiful buildings from a vantage point you may not have before considered.

I'm so happy to hear that you have also enjoyed other CAF tours in addition to the L tour. We have some new tours that you'll have to check out the next time you're in town including the Pedway tour, Sacred Spaces and new Pub Crawl tours.

We look forward to seeing you at CAF again soon!

Thank you again for your great review!

Jennifer
New Media Manager
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Their tours are a must if you love architecture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We took the Highlights by Bus Tour (including Robie House). It took the whole morning and it was very cold but it was such a great tour that we were sad to see the tour end. Our tourguide was very good (and though she said that she usually does the boat tour, I think she did a splendid job with the bus tour). "Highlights" is a good tour if you're not staying too long in Chicago but want to get a quick run through of the many beautiful buildings and enclaves Chicago offers. It does not only give you Burnham and Wright, but also Koolhaas, Mies Van der Rohe, and other great architects. And don't forget to show your tour receipt if you are buying something at the foundation store. It entitles you to a 10% discount!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dissolvedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiarchitecture, Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for the great review of our Highlights by Bus tour! You're right, the tour does cover a lot of great architects and is a fantastic way to get acquainted with Chicago. It's one of my favorite tours!

Again, thank you for the great review. We hope to see you at the Chicago Architecture Foundation again the next time you're in town!

Jennifer
New Media Manager
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about Chicago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I love the beauty of this city, especially the buildings. I had a friend visit and suggested we go on the historic tour. It exceeded all my expectations! The tour guide was a wealth of information, not only about the buildings but also about the history of the city and it's evolution....I thought I knew about Chicago until I went on this tour, but boy was I wrong!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jammiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiarchitecture, Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Downtown tour! It really is amazing how much you realize you *don't* know about Chicago until you take one of these tours, isn't it?

We hope to see you at the Chicago Architecture Foundation again soon! Thanks again for the great review.

Jennifer
New Media Manager
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Architecture Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Architecture Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing