We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pilsen
from US$125.00
More Info
from US$650.00
More Info
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
28
16
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street art colorful murals mexican neighborhood interesting history pilsner neighborhoods immigrants project historically century
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

This was my second time visiting Pilsen, first time I went with some locals but this time I brought some friends with me and showed them how awesome this place is. The murals, the vintage stores and of course its people make Pilsen so great.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank SoozSusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We rented an Airbnb property in this neighborhood as one of our family members was running the Chicago Marathon. The marathon runs right through the neighborhood which was very convenient. The crowd was super energetic and supportive of the marathoners. There were so many spectators it was really hard to see our family runner in the course. Restaurants here were very family friendly and accommodating to our group of 8. We didn't have to wait at all for a table either night. Harrison Park was a great place for our kids to run around and blow off steam after a long car ride. The pink line stop is also centrally located. Aside from street parking being pretty limited, we have no negative feedback about this neighborhood.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

One of Chicago's ethnic enclaves, originally German and now largely Mexican. Great for architecture buffs. Good Mexican food

Note the houses with lower floors below sidewalk level. They were built before the sidewalks were installed. Not much yet in the way of shopping, but that's sure to change once the northern neighborhoods like Andersonville fill up

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016

This neighborhood is arty without all the farty. (That's up north. imho)
Hardcore gentrification hasn't hit these streets so you have a mom & pop, DIY, industrial feel. The The National Museum of Mexican Art and Mana Contemporary are here along with many other galleries and funky places that remind me of what Williamsburg (Brooklyn) was like before the big money moved in and bleached the naturally evolving 'flavors' of the place. My art will be richer for having spent time in Pilsen.

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank Zilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2016

I live in Chicago more than 20 years but today it was my first visit to Pilsen. I was so surprise! This neighborhood is alive! You won't find here (yet) expensive modern condos. Houses are small and lots are small. But there is a vibe and color and happiness around. Bohemian style neighborhood with a lot of colorful murals (not only under bridges and train tracks but also on buildings all around the area). It used to be very Polish and East-European neighborhood (check St Adalbert Church established in 1914) but now it is a very Spanish area with a beautiful National Museum of Mexican Art.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank O6378WFannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews