We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rare Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Rare Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was my first stay at the downtown Hampton Inn & Suites but it won't be my last. Have been a guest at many Chicago hotels and experienced something wrong with every one of them -- even some that were way upscale. But this place was just right. My room, a King with wet bar, was modern, spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. And it was blessedly quiet. Complimentary breakfast was unusually sumptuous. Location second to none. And the rate was a fabulous bargain. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Go for the King suite with wet bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank erster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
erster,

Thanks you for your recent review of the hotel. I am so happy that you found such comfort at our hotel. You stayed in a great room, the King with Wetbar: these a bit upgraded compared to our standard rooms in that they offer a bit extra space & a wetbar with a minifridge & microwave. These are usually just $5 more per night than a standard room, but well worth it if you are going to be at the hotel a few days & don’t need a full suite.

We look forward to having you on your next business trip to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    745
    160
    46
    30
See reviews for
853
477
85
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

superb location for getting around the city. everything is within walking distance if you dont mind walking!
rooms were large and very clean
excellent breakfast and breakfast room was spacious and modern
the public areas were very well kept
pool and jacuzzi were a nice bonus to help relax after a hard days shopping
front desk staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble
nice touch of fresh popcorn on arrival!
good value especially just before christmas in a large city

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynne197932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Recently stayed here and LOVED it. The staff were over the top friendly and helpful. Clean and elegant common areas and rooms. The breakfast was great and a nice perk. The sirens can be annoying, but didn't at all diminish the quality of our stay- but you need to be aware going in- we packed earplugs and had no issues. The location was perfect for walking to all the downtown attractions. - Would certianly stay again.

Room Tip: ask for an interior room- away from the fire station
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Taedaly,

You are a savvy traveler earplugs already packed at the ready. For those of those not as well prepared as you, we always have complimentary earplugs available at the front desk. Glad that you were able to walk everyone that you needed.

We look forward to having you back the next time you are visiting Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLIJAY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have been visiting Chicago between Thanksgiving and Christmas for years, enjoying the shopping and decorations of Michigan Avenue and steak dinners. The Hampton Inn and Suites is as reasonably priced as any during this season now that we're not on a business expense account, with large clean suites, free WiFi and plenty of elbow room to store purchases. Michigan Avenue is just a few blocks away. One of our favorite restaurant groups is the Rosebud. The Rosebud Trattoria adjoins the hotel. Ruth's Chris steakhouse is also on the same block. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful which complement the convenient location. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large, worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerschelChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
HerschelChester,

Thanks you for your recent review of the hotel. I am so glad that we were your “home base” for holiday shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Like you, so many of our guests love having Michigan Ave just a 3 ½ block walk from the front door of our hotel.
I am also glad that you got to enjoy Chicago’s own Rosebud Trattoria on the 1st floor of the hotel. My favorite dish is the 8 finger pasta with crumbled sausage; the pasta is made right here in Chicago & boy is it delicious!

We look forward to being home base for your family next year, we will see you then.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very nice rooms, free Internet, free hot breakfast, within walking distance from sights such as river cruises, Millenium Park, Museums, Michigan Ave, wonderful restaurants. Easy to get to by train from either airport. Don't rent a car. $40 a day for parking. Use public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
spikeSanDiego,

I am glad that you were able to experience the true Chicago experience without the burden of a car. Public transit is so plentiful & easy to use, you don’t even need a car! While many other hotels raised their parking rates in 2012, we are proud to have kept our 2011 rate all the way through 2012. Our most recent rate shop of overnight valet rates of our competing hotels found the rates of: Hilton Garden Inn $49, Embassy Suites $49, Springhill Suites $50, Residence Inn $50, Westin $54. Therefore we pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking at the current rate of $42 per night for our guests.

Leave your car at home again & come back to see us.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Wife and I and two grandchildren had a super Chicago city experience. The Hampton had great staff, super breakfast, nice pool and great location. Clean room and great beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LStone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because I believe that's the level of hotel it is. Even though its very clean and newly renovated it doesn't compete with a luxury level. I would still highly recommend it! We had a suite with a full kitchen, separate bedroom and bathroom, living room with pull out and a kitchen table. For the price you can't beat it! You just don't get the amenities of a boutique hotel or W class Hotel. The staff was very accommodating. The location is perfect for bar hoppers as its right by Hubbard st. Also very close to both Mich Ave and State St. for shoppers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karalyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
karalyn84,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

While we are rates a 3 star hotel, but we strive to provide 5 star service while keeping are prices as one of the best values you can find in downtown Chicago. Is there anything we could have done to achieve a 5 star rating? I am glad that you enjoyed you suite while bar hopping on Hubbard Street & Shopping on Michigan Avenue.

We hope to have you back next time you are in Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing