We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't be put off by the Fire Depot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #44 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the Fire Depot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I've been a fan of the Hampton Inn chain since first using it some years ago. I don't think I've ever stayed in one which has let the side down and the Downtown Chicago is no exception. Reception was welcoming and efficient. Our room was fresh, bright and immaculately presented for our arrival. The Breakfast room on the second floor overlooked a crossing so there was activity in the street below to watch over breakfast. The choice of food was good and the cereal and fruit selections were great. Fresh fruit, tea and coffee were available throughout the day.
The location of this hotel is a real winner. A few minutes walk from both the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, it is also close to the boat tour docks and a good restaurant area. I did find the noise of the fire trucks disturbed my sleep on our first night there but asked for some earplugs from reception and had a great night's sleep on our next two nights.
I think the advantages of its position and a great overall standard outweigh the odd night when there is more than one callout next door. And those earplugs really work. Its proximity to the fire station wouldn't deter me from going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Tripstaker,

I am glad that you had such a great time enjoying out perfect location in downtown Chicago. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary earplugs, as you said, they really do work! Many guests that visit us are not used to the hustle & bustle (and the noise that comes with) in a downtown urban area. That is why we offer complimentary earplugs.

We look forward to having you back at the hotel on your next visit from Northern Ireland!

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    739
    159
    46
    30
See reviews for
839
471
84
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Chicago Downtown Hampton is across the street from a fire station. I should have thought something was wrong when there was a bowl of ear plugs at the console table on my floor. Plus, I stayed on a holiday weekend and the staff was absolutely unable to control people who had obviously drunk way too much. I stay in Hamptons when they are available because of the ambience and service. NOT THIS ONE EVER AGAIN. And, my son and his wife had a laptop and purse stolen out of their room when they had a "no service please" sign on their door with no concern by the management to assist them in recovery. The credit card in the purse was used within an hour of it going missing. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE FOR ALL!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Jan J,

I want to assure you that we take issues of theft very seriously at our hotel. I have sent you a private message in regards to your stay; you may contact me at the hotel so that we may investigate this issue of missing items from your room.

I do apologize about encountering other guests that had too much to drink in the hotel. We do take this matter seriously as well… upon notification of any guests of the hotel acting inappropriate, we send security up immediately.

Again, please contact me at the hotel so that we may assist you with your past stay.

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have stayed here for the past 3 years because it has consistently been well run and the property well maintained, and is in a terrific location. During our most recent visit, we couldn't help but notice how the staff seemed genuinely interested in making sure that everything suited us. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsam1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our visit to Chicago became much more enjoyable by staying at the Downtown Hampton Inn. The facilities are somewhat dated and the complementary breakfast acceptable, however the staff is a real joy. They are friendly, and some actually start to call you by name! Any question we had about eating, entertainment, directions, was quickly addressed and answered.

Room Tip: There is a fire station on the West side of the hotel. During our visit we did not experience any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayzee780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a super time at this friendly, well-run hotel. It is located a block from an "L" stop and shares the neighborhood with several very good restaurants. A buffet breakfast is included. The staff is exceptionally pleasant and efficient. Although we usually used the well-labeled "L" system, you could walk to the northern side of the Loop with ease.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith_SCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was one of nine women travelling to Chicago for the first time, and our expectations were exceeded by this hotel and its staff. We booked one suite and one room, and requested adjoining rooms. Our request was unnexpectedly granted which completely suited our needs to function as one whole group. When we arrived we were greeted by pleasant, jovial busboys/valet people. When we went out for food and drink supplies they directed us to a close-by market that had everything we could ask for. The staff behind the front desk were pleasant and were able to split the total cost nine ways. They offered a printed list of restaurants, organized by type of food and distance from the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but people we met said it was very good. The staff also ordered late night pizza for us and delivered it to our door. Each staff member was always pleasant and greeted us each time we went by. The included breakfast had great selection, even the coffee was good (but super hot). No one had difficulty finding something - selections from breakfast sausage, eggs, ready to make waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, breads etc. And there was plenty of room for all the guests. We checked out the pool area though didn't use it. The staff offered to let us use pool area/patio for our party needs. The rooms were very clean, modern design, beds comfortable, and lots of places to sit. I can't imagine a better place for a group of people. I would definitely consider staying here again the next time I come to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I've stayed in many hotels but have never had such a positive experience with hotel staff across the board. Everyone was very courteous, upbeat, and friendly at all hours and greeted you every time you went in and out of the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, nothing outstanding. The area is a bit loud, so take advantage of the earplugs they offer at the front desk. Thanks Ross and Andrew for handling my check-out and suggesting a review on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkimjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing