We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great, as expected”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hotel Burnham delivers what you expect of a Kimpton hotel - helpful staff, comfortable room, beautiful public spaces, and a nice location.

Service was cordial and competent throughout my stay. Check-in was easy and fast. I forgot a couple items, mentioned it to housekeeping, and they were at my door within minutes. Bellmen were quick to give tips and directions.

Room was comfortable. It might have felt tight with two people, worked fine solo. Wifi is a nice benefit of being part of the Kimpton Plus program. Of course, it was clean.

Public spaces are beautiful. Burn ham is a landmark building, well restored. The Atwood feels like a classic downtown restaurant, fun bar, and accommodating to solo visitors. Fitness room isn't much, a few tired machines in a small space. If a health club is important to you, probably better to go with one of the chains.

Location works for business and touring around. It's a few blocks' walk to into the financial district. Heading in the opposite direction, you hit the lake and Millennium Park, and just south of there, the Art Institute. Terrific running for miles along the water. All worked for me. But I can see someone wanting to stay near Watertower Place, Michigan Ave. shopping, and Rush Street saying Burnham's too long a hike, and picking a place north of the Loop.

Same as all Kimpton hotels, Burnham is a good deal. Not a budget place, but less than the chains, and way less than the super-luxury places. I liked it a lot, and will stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Great to read your feedback, thanks for letting us know how your stay was. We pride our selves on our hospitality and we are deligheted you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    360
    67
    29
    22
See reviews for
237
564
114
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

What a terrible experience we had at the Burnham Hotel Chicago. We booked a room with two queen beds over two weeks in advance. when we arrived at the hotel we were told that policy is "first come, first serve" and all they had left was a small single! WHAT! Thats crazy. They already took the money out of our account two weeks prior when we booked the room. We were told there was a room with two queens available at that time. What's the purpose of a reservation if you don't get the room you requested. The people at front desk seemed to think that was perfectly ok to to give our room away and not even offer any compensation or even assistance finding us alterative accomadations. Consenquintly , we had to scramble around Chicago to find a another room to accomadate the rest of our party. Terrible customer service!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curly-Q28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We take honest comments from people like you very serioulsy and sincerely apologize with any confusion as to your room requirement. We really do always try to do our best and are sorry this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband found this hotel and we have stayed there a couple of times thus far. The building is awesome - you can see pictures of the refurbishing and we are so glad they saved this Chicago Landmark !! The hotel is in a great location which allows you to walk almost anywhere in the city you want to go. The rooms are nice, clean, and the service at the hotel is excellent. Every waitress/waiter, front desk people, room service, all of the "service" people are extremely friendly and helpful. You get the idea they like their jobs, and who wouldn't ?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryanneHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We were all thrilled to read your review and the whole team was excited you had a great stay, with us - Team Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had never heard of this hotel or the Kimpton Chain until my girlfriend booked it for a girls' weekend. It is very well located and oozes charm. The staff bends over backward to make you feel welcome and comfortable. There is a beautiful restaurant in the lobby. The food is delicious. The rooms are spotless and beautifully appointed. I will definitely be staying there again and joined their preferred program so I can enjoy their hotels in different states.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are more quiet and have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The best part was the staff. Exceptional service all around.
Worst part was the location. Although the park is close by, there is hardly anything to do. Ths area shuts down at 8pm. Definitely have to travel to another neighborhood if you're looking for bars/restaraunts.
The rooms are kinda small but the tall ceilings and windows don't make it seem so cramped. Bathroom is tiny and hardly has any surface space for personal items.

Room Tip: make sure to sign up with Kimpton to get your $10 minibar voucher. you can do it on their website o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALiNKA617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for your review, it was great to have you stay with us. We are dismayed you could not find all the amazing attractions that surround the hotel and are in walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had wanted to stay at this hotel for some time - prices often more than we wanted to pay. On a special deal weekend, we finally enjoyed this unique landmark hotel. The staff was very friendly - best bellhop ever - gave us the full history of the place on the way to our room. Room was very small, but appointments up to the usual Kimpton standards. The location is excellent for walking to many of Chicago's attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: It is a busy area - so higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and all I can say is that I will be much more circumspect about believing those reviews in future. In this case, in particular, I have to believe that employees of the Kimpton chain have been posting these reviews about the great service at this hotel. I stayed here for four nights and it was one of the worst serviced hotels of my experience. The room was not well maintained and not clean enough. On the first day I was there, even though I put a please clean my room notice on the door, it was not serviced at all. On that same first day, I called for breakfast room service and was told they had no cereal. On another day, it took me 45 minutes and three phone calls to get a juice and a pot of coffee for breakfast. There was a lovely young man at reception who appeared to be constantly on duty. In other words, the hotel was woefully understaffed. I would never go there again. Beware of these reviews!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kromsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take all honest comments very seriously. It pains us to hear the not so good stuff. We are all obvioulsy dismayed that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Burnham hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,068 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing