We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel with Modern Flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel with Modern Flair”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a great hotel. We always seem to find amazing rates on this hotel by using Hotwire (4 star hotel in the Loop). The hotel lobby is classic and beautiful. The rooms tend to be small but the amenities are very comfy and modern. Location is great. The red line L station is right outside the door. All other L lines are within walking distance. Close to Millennium Park.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the elevators as these tend to be louder. Also, to avoid a really small room, it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. We appreciate your feedback on your experience during your stay. Again, thank you and we hope you will have an opportunity to visit again.

Sincerely,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,438
    3,065
    1,423
    683
    343
See reviews for
1,632
2,295
490
3,127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is beautiful. A beautiful Art Deco lobby with nice leather chairs to lounge in and a beautiful painted ceiling. As a Hilton Gold member, my room was upgraded to the Executive Floor and got two queen size beds with two bathrooms and a huge living room area. It was a nice treat. Plus we got free breakfast every morning and appetizers at night.
The only negatives were the bathrooms were small (not a lot of counter space for all my toiletries) and the bar wines were very expensive ($16 for a glass of Mathew Fritz Chardonnay) - retails for $28/bottle. Next time would just go to Miller's Pub next door for a more reasonably priced wine.
Overall the hotel was a great experience and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: See if they have rooms with bigger bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattletraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Check in was fine but got to the room assigned and the key didn't work! Oops they wrote down the wrong room. The rooms are fine not great, not much you can do with an older property, bathrooms really dated and even after calling the drain in the tub shower would never work! The worst part of the hotel is don't wast you money on the club level! Every service from food to drinks is subpar to other club levels. Drink is extra and food is all cold finger food! Not a good deal! Worst was they slept in one morning and by 7am no one was there to set up so gave us a coupon for main breakfast place, but no hot food only cold. sometimes I think Hilton just doesn't get it! Then the next day we went to the main breakfast area, closed down, go sit in the lobby! Give me a break

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghofmann111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel was very nice, and the location was perfect. I definately agree with its four star status. The lobby bar was awesome, the potter bar was awesome, the service was awesome. From check in to check out all was easy and efficient. For those looking for a brand new hotel this is not it, but this hotel was built in the 1800s. WOW!! Renovated and really cool. but still authentic. Could'nt have asked for more. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. I hope you were able to have the opportunity to spend some time with your College student and hope you enjoyed your stay. I’m also glad you find the Potter’s bar and the lobby awesome! We look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here with a conference. Our king-size bed room was comfortable, but certainly small---and the bathroom was even smaller! Yeah, like you had to kind of step around closing the door. Now mind you, these inconveniences were made up in part by the glorious lobby, the ever-friendly Midwestern staff, and the attentive hosts and clerks. Expensive, yes. But a short block from the Art Institute, Millennium Park, and the Willis/Sears Tower. Situated south of the river in the Loop, it was a bit of a walk to the river but at the edge of the theatre district. Having stayed at the north end/Gold Coast side of the city last summer, I found the two areas quite different. Seems to be more night life up north!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the train!!! Some of the rooms look out over the Loop trains and are quiet nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. I’m glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and hope you’ll decide to return. Our rooms vary in different sizes, so please feel free to contact us ahead of time on your next visit so we may settle any arrangements for you.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A great hotel. I have travelled here for business and would certainly return for pleasure if I am in the Chicago area. This hotel is very elegant and the fitness center is great. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We most certainly appreciate your review and hope you’ll get an opportunity to visit again.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A truly beautiful hotel. The architecture and layout were awesome. I love old buildings and their charm, and this didn't disappoint.

The room I shared with my son was quite large, but I understand they also have some that are on the smaller side. Ours had two bathrooms, but both were quite small. The room, while very large, seemed to be large only because they combined two rooms once upon a time. Two beds on one wall, a chair on the outside wall in the middle, and a desk with a tv on the other wall - nothing special. Also, the tv, given the distance from the beds, was much too small. Overall, the room was very average.

The sevice was outstanding, from the moment you pull up to the curb, all the way through the front desk service and any other request we had - we were met with prompt responses, smiles and offers for further assistance. The manager and employees should be congratulated for going over and above being simply efficient.

Thanks very much for a nice weekend in Chicago, Palmer House. We enjoy trying different hotels when we travel, but we would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourcer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on the Palmer House. I’m glad you were intrigued by the hotel’s architecture and charm. We most certainly appreciate your review and hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit again.

Best regards,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#100 of 190 in Chicago
5,073 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,679 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing