We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The great dowager of Chicago hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The great dowager of Chicago hotels”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at the Palmer House twice recently, both times to attend ballet. I was with a friend the first time and we had one of those great, old double rooms with the two bathrooms. Luxury! The second time I was traveling solo and I had a king room. Both rooms were scrupulously clean and well appointed with nice toiletries, thick towels and comfy beds. (I wish they had bathrobes, though, my favorite amenity and pretty standard in most hotels of this quality.) The Palmer House has a great location in the heart of the Loop, it has a Starbucks on site, and it has visible security, which I appreciate when I am traveling alone. The lobby is a work of art; you should stop in even if you aren't staying the night. I arrived early in the morning and was prepared to check my bag and get on with my plans, but they had a room available, which certainly smoothed the way for me. The Palmer House is a special, elegant grande dame of hotels.

Room Tip: Listen to the desk clerk when you arrive. You will probably be offered upgrades that are well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,313
    2,954
    1,367
    660
    321
See reviews for
1,539
2,200
478
3,037
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The lobby is exquisite, which only served to highlight the disconnect with the pathetic service. The Concierge Floor is a joke. For this kind of $$, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Check in was a breeze. However, I forgot my usual schpeel...not near the elevator, no adjoining rooms...ugh...It was not near the elevators, but there was an adjoining room. I thought okay we will try this it was at the end of the hall, big hotel, what's the chances of having a noisy neighbor? Headed to bed around 10:30 and the guest next door arrived. Sounded like a bunch of young women since they kept laughing loud and often. However, they quieted down about 1/2 hour later...which was acceptable. The next night however was a different story. They arrived around midnight and sounded like they put a movie on and kept laughing (very loudly) every couple of mintues...put a call into security around 12:30 since this kept up...I did not hear security knock on their door and the sounds did not stop...Called again after 1:00am and asked if they sent someone since the noise level did not stop. They apologized and sent security this time (since I could hear them talking in the hall) and it quietened down around 1:30am. We had to get up early to drive home, so needless to say no sleep that night. We were also on the 16th floor with the *L* just located to the side of the hotel and you could hear it go by every 3 min. Which wasn't that much distraction for sleeping, it just sounded like an airplane going by but it was hard to get used to since I'm such a light sleeper.

Back to the hotel. Excellent location. Beautiful bar/lobby area. Friendly staff. Parking cost was extreme $42 per day (2 days), but we had a really good deal on priceline.com so we didn't mind paying the costs. The room was very nice, a little dated, but the king bed was awesome. Very comfortable, sheets and the 5 pillows were awesome. I am very particular and they passed the test. The bathroom was very small, basically no counter room, shower drained slowly, but the towels were very nice. Desk area/sitting area with a 40in? flat screen tv this area made the room not seem crowed at all with lots of room to move around. We had requested a refrigerator to store my husbands insulin which we received, but upon check out there was a $40 charge (we have NEVER been charged for medical purposes). I called the front desk and they were more than willing to waive the charge and apologized for this.

So beware of adjoining rooms. I did find the hotel very noisy as we walked back and forth to our room you could hear others in their room. I don't usually notice that much when we've stayed at other hotels, but the racket seemed to be quite noticeable and we didn't have 'that' long of a walk to the elevator.

All in all good stay. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I would definately make sure 'no adjoining room' and away from the "L".

Room Tip: High floor away from the L.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I came for an event and stayed an extra day to sightsee with my son. I wanted something close to some of the attractions...I found it!!!
It has old world charm and all the class included. The lobby is ful of life and always buzzing.
Looking to return and this isone the best spots to stay to be in the thick of things!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RastaMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Palmer House has a grand personality. It was impressive to see the upkeep of such a historic landmark in the heart of old Chicago. Looking at a map you may think it's a long walk to shopping on Michigan or any of the other tourist attractions, but really you're at most 5-10 minute walk from anything you would want to see in downtown Chicago. If you don't want to walk, the El.... was just outside. The old character of the rooms, hallways, and lobby was charming and have convinced me an my wife to come back during future visits to Chicago.

Room Tip: Don't concern yourself trying to find a room with a good view of the city, the Palmer House is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. Also thank you for recognizing the Palmer House as a historic landmark. We certainly appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Palmer House has exceptional service despite the large number of rooms and guests. The hotel lobby is a destination in itself. I stay at the Palmer twice a year (in Oct and Apr) for business and am never disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Service was superb. Workers were friendly and courteous. Went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We most certainly appreciate your review and we look forward to your next visit to the Palmer House.

Best regards,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,865 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing