We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #89 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It was in a great location and everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms were clean and very nice.

Helpful?
Thank bigblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    873
    358
    147
    85
See reviews for
456
645
102
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

It´s located in downtown Chicago. Just a few minutes form Millennium Park. Great for walking all Chicago Downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottolubcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was my first stay at a Fairmont brand hotel. My expectations were high, so I was a bit disappointed. I requested a king room on a high floor; however, received a double bed room on one of the lowest floors overlooking the roof. On a positive note, I was allowed to check in two hours before check-in time. The room was clean but looked out onto the roof and a neighboring building. Also, there were not many amenities that you would expect at this class of hotel other than the bathrobes. The most disappointing was the $10 charge to use the in-room coffee maker. That was a first. Also, the bedding was not as comfortable as a Westin or Hilton. On my next visit to Chicago, I would most likely not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room on a high floor so you don't have to hear the traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psquared1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is in a really great location- really close to everything while being tucked just a little bit away from the hustle. Our room was on a high floor and had a very pretty view of the city - great bathroom, the room seemed newly renovated (except that the carpet was kind of worn), comfy beds, and windows that opened. A couple of minor things came up- batteries needed replacing, our room key kept becoming demagnetized- the staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and apologetic about these little annoyances. I found the toiletries to be overly scented, not any worse than other hotel chains, but the same fake, chemical, grossly fragrant stuff that all hotels seem to have (not the ROSE essential oil that they are trying to suggest on the bottle). I got a Great Rate/Great Dates deal through the Fairmont President's Club and was extremely satisfied. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the city have a pretty view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
520 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Was in Chicago for Whisky Fest event, stayed three nights at the Fairmont which is very centrally located. We were minutes away from the waterfront, Millenium Park where the big shinny bean is and a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile shopping Strip. We arrived by "L" train from O'Hare, easy transfer at Lake station to Randolph on orange line, then 5-10 minute walk to hotel... Three day CTA pass was 7$ each, got us from airport and back plus free transit while in town, probably saved 200$ on cab fare! Hotel was clean and quiet, room amenities A1. The front desk woman was a bit expeditive as were the concierge desk people when we asked a few questions over the room phone. Lobby wine bar was a plus, great selection, reasonable pricing. The lobby could be a little brighter, was dark - day in day out. There is a fire station across the street, a little noise from the sirens here and there but not a biggy! We did not eat at the hotel, plenty of places around for cheap ; )

Room Tip: Go high up so not to hear the sirens, ask for a room with a water view ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Room 818 room was attractive, with a nice number of windows and a pretty good view. Very nice, modern decor, though the "art" on the walls was questionable. The room was very quiet and it's a nice touch that the windows open. The toiletries were DELICIOUS.

Maintenance is an issue: Hanging strip of gasket on the shower door, cracked tiles in the bathroom, broken harp on a lamp, weak batteries on the television. The hallways needed a vacuuming and freshening of decor. Coffeemaker instructions suggested we use Evian from the minibar and that the $10 charge would be added to the bill. We chanced it with tap water.

The concierge was very helpful in suggesting a moderately-priced restaurant for dinner (Bella Bacinos), which was a great pick. The staff in general was friendly and helpful.

All in all, I just expected near perfection from a Fairmont, and didn't get it.

Room Tip: 818 (or the same room on another floor) had very nice window exposure on two walls, was spacious, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to this hotel for St. Patrick's Day weekend. It was in a great location for the weekend festivities, and it is in a nice area convenient to many attractions.
The room was just okay. It was nothing special, although it did have a nice view of the city. My husband felt that it was small- he called to ask if there was an upgrade available and we were told we would have to pay $100 more per night- we're Fairmont President's Club members and we were of the impression that if an upgrade is available, we are to be upgraded upon request. But we wanted to get going, so we didn't push.
The room itself was clean, but showing signs of wear. The hallways had torn wallpaper and everything just looked kind of like it could use some attention. When housekeeping came, they left dirty dishes inside the room and these weren't taken until we put them out in the hallway.
Some girls next door to us came home about 3AM on St. Patricks Day and it sounded like they were in the room with us. VERY thin walls! (They were not loud or acting crazy- they were just talking in regular voices.)
We've had wonderful Fairmont experiences before and this one just doesn't measure up. Its just a basic hotel. There's no pool. The only option for dining is an Asian restaurant that has only Asian cuisine, but other foods are available if you get room service. ??? (Typically, Fairmont dining is pretty fantastic.) I think there are better options in the area- especially for the price we paid. We would not be likely to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#65 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing