We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Good Value and Location -- a few details amiss.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #67 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Value and Location -- a few details amiss.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great location, very friendly staff. Great value. Rooms (we upgraded to a junior suite) nicely laid out.
Elevators are a little small, too few for size of hotel.
Gym very small, two out of three treadmills out of order the entire week were there (no sense of urgency or attention to the gym). On the other hand, you are three blocks from the Lake Shore trail that goes on and on in either direction. The internet arrangement (through ATT WiFi) not user friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the AC does not blow directly on the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,682
    1,030
    327
    125
    71
See reviews for
696
1,128
222
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Second time staying at Affinia in Chicago - last time was not the greatest but the Manager made every effort to get us to come back and gave us a great deal. I had made this reservation some time ago and was surprised and disappointed that we were placed next to the elevator. After settling in I called down to the front desk and asked for a bucket of ice (no ice machines), we were told it would be brought right up but after an hour's wait...no ice...so we went to bed. Next morning I discovered one of the blinds in our room was broken and we notified the front desk - it was not fixed but we were given a small credit upon check out. The rest of the stay was uneventful and the doormen were the best part of the experience getting us a cab quickly whenever we were going out. Lots of noise from ambulances going to next door hospital and jack hammer at 7:30 a.m. was very unpleasant but not the hotel's fault. At check out I noticed several things - we were charged twice for valet parking ($52 each and we had no car) and also 18% fee was added to the drinks we had at the rooftop bar (did not know that or we would not have tipped the bartender). We were credited back the valet fee but I can't help but feel that a hotel of this caliber should operate at a little higher level. Needless to say I don't think we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake Isabella
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to Chicago for St. Patricks Day weekend. We stayed at The Affinia and were not disappointed. We loved the boutique feel and it was within walking distance of all that we did over the weekend.

The hotel was very modern and the price was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Rooms very spacious for a centrally-located hotel in a big city. Also very quiet! Room service quite reasonably priced, too. We did not really get a chance to enjoy the rooftop bar; I plan to do that during our next stay. I definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Partner in crime and I were there for 9 days in March for a convention/vacation. The first 4 days was work for us, so we needed to have access to computers with internet access. Had I known how much of a headache the whole internet situation would be, I would have booked us at another hotel.

The following are the good and the bad:

Good:
- Close to Magnificent Mile
- Clean room
- Friendly staff

Bad:
- Internet is not free. $10/day either with a short wire on the desk or wireless, but not both. Can only be used on ONE device (the computer or smartphone that was used to register), so if you want to connect with a second device, you are SOL and will have to either spend another $10, or go to the corner cafe a few blocks away for their free wireless.
- No concierge service. There's a concierge desk, but they don't staff it. If you need info you'll have to ask the front desk staff.
- Outdated washroom with an annoying toilet paper holder. It was a freestanding tp holder that would fall over when we use it. Ended up putting the roll on the counter. They're updating, so the newer rooms will not have this problem.
- They don't change the sheets unless you call the front desk and ask them to. OK if you stay there for a couple of nights, but we were there for 9 days...it became a hassle.

Would we stay here again? Maybe...would we recommend it? Sure if you're there only for a short vacation and don't need the internet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear crengo, Thanks for sharing about your experience. We really do take guest comments very seriously and after reading your feedback among others and reviewing our procedure, we are no longer charging for internet at the hotel. As of May 2, we have a new management team and name - MileNorth. I hope you'll be back to experience some of the updates, the same ideal location you appreciated and our friendly associates soon, Frank Leone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Affinia has spacious, clean, rooms. Ask for an upper floor with a city view. The city transportation was one block away with connections to the El at the Loop. It was very close to the Water Tower, Magnificent Mile, and Grant/Millineum Parks. The rooftop bar was also special. It is enclosed to keep away the wind. The Gold Coast was not far away with a walk down Astor Street near Lincoln Park. Hairdryer and Make-up Mirror were included with modern bath.
Living area was separate from the computer desk area and TV living area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Memories of Affinia Chicago one year later. Our stay at Affinia was the first week of April in 2011 and it was a great surprise! We booked the day we were traveling to Chicago at the recommendation of a friend. The location was perfect! The rooms were spacious for Chicago and aesthetically pleasing. They were modern yet sophisticated. The bathroom was very surprising....the shower was large with a clear glass wall/door. The bathroom wallpaper & circular lit mirror gave it a big punch of Wow! The large flat screen T.V. was on a swivel which was great when one of us was ready to sleep but the other wasn't. Our room had a modern reclining chair that I don't often see in most rooms. The beds were comfy with soft linens and fluffy pillows. Affinia Chicago is at the end of St. Clair on Superior which is one block east of the Magnificent Mile. The location is perfect! Gino's East is directly to the West....great hotel and great food! All of the staff were friendly and helpful. They made you feel as though you lived in the building. You can't beat excellent customer service, excellent location & a bedroom and bathroom that covered every detail to make your stay amazing! We traveled to Chicago again this year and we didn't get to choose our hotel, needless to say it didn't measure up to Affinia Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have good view of hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Julie, Thanks so much for the highly complimentary review of Affinia Chicago! I am so pleased to hear we're still top of mind a year after your trip. Thanks for the comments on our location, spacious guestrooms and associates. We strive to make each stay comfy and I'm glad you acknowledged that. I hope to welcome you back soon! Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#39 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing