We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small rooms, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small rooms, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had stayed here before, both times on priceline/hotwire hidden deals, and both times have been left with the same impression: it's a nice hotel but wow, are the rooms small. I actually banged my leg on the bed trying to walk around it because there was so little space between it and the wall. Other than that, everything was fine: nicely decorated, comfortable bed, pretty good restaurant, great service. A little annoyed that we had to pay $3 for wine glasses and a corkscrew from room service, but at least they came quickly. If you don't mind extra small, "boutique" style room (ie plan on going out more than staying in and working), the amenities are nice and the location, while not on Michigan Ave itself, is great.

Room Tip: King rooms are claustrophobic, get two doubles for a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed our chic, modern decor, comfy beds and wonderful location in the heart of downtown Chicago. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and standards. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    582
    319
    143
    117
See reviews for
221
577
155
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Look, I have stayed in my fair share of hotels, and Hotel Felix is pretty nice. Bid appropriately on Priceline and if you end up there, then you should be happy enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Hotel Felix and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Oh boy,
Unfortunately my family and I were placed at this hotel as a result of a priceline bid for a 4 star, this hotel is anything but a 4star. I'll reiterate the sentiment from other travellers here...the queen rooms are microscopic. My 6 year old son who has had a fair share of nights in hotels, as we travel fairly often, upon untering the room said ..."mom this room is ridiculous"..lol. hmmm (I wonder if he could spell ridiculous)
Simply getting from the bathroom to the bed involved thought so that you didn't knock your leg on the hard wooden frame of the bed, which we each did a couple of times. Requesting a different room was to no avail as the front desk staff informed us that they were fully booked (definitely believable as it was flower show weekend in Chicago), they were however willing to show another queen room, that unbelievably was smaller than the one we were in. I think my chuckle and expression conveyed the "ridiculousness" of the space and the hotel clerk informed me that this was a boutique hotel. As if to say the definition of a boutique hotel is one with very small rooms.
During our short one night stay, one of the maintenance staff tried to enter the room and then immediately apologized saying that she though that the room was unoccupied, later on that evening, closet hangars were brought to us when we didnt request them. The hubby and I had a good laugh...murphys law. The one service caveat was the doorman... excellent excellent excellent... he always seemed to appear out of nowhere to get the door or offer up a cab
Now on to the goodies:
The location is about 5 blocks west of Michigan avenue, so not in the heart of the shopping district but close enough if you dont mind the walk.
If you have children, Rainforest Cafe, McDonalds and a the super reasonable Barnelli's Pasta Place is within a couple of blocks south of the hotel. A couple blocks north of the hotel there is an "outside" parking lot that was less expensive than hotel parking.
There are restaurants everywhere on every corner near this hotel so, lots to eat. The hotel also had a restaurant that we did not really have an opportunity to try, so no comments there.

Anyway, for the business no-frills traveller or the crash and dash-budget conscious single... this could be your place (if the price is right). Not a place I would recommend for families, I'd look first towards Michigan Ave. 4 star hotels as on the non-event weekends rates are sometimes less than $100 per night.

Room Tip: Try to get a King room, I hear they are "bigger"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50Statevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My boyfriend and I got a great deal on this hotel through Priceline, and we have no complaints -- except maybe that the sink is just a little too small to properly fill a glass of water. If that's the biggest issue then you can't be unhappy. Central location (we walked pretty much everywhere we wanted to go... and Portillo's is just down the road!), friendly staff, lovely rooms. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizlemon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your review while visiting us in Chicago. We're thrilled you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay and appreciated our convenient location in downtown Chicago. Glad you got a chance to check out Portillo's as well, an iconic Chicago restaurant! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Lovely rooms and staff. Nicely furnished. Not the biggest rooms, but in a central location you can accept that. Got a great deal through a search engine and it was worth every dime. For a nice place to stay wit out blowing the budget this is perfect

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us in January while in the Windy City. We're happy you enjoyed our central location in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping and nightlife. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I along with two other friends, had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Felix last weekend. All I can say is WOW! We had two adjoining rooms, one with a king bed and one with a queen bed. The king room was huge! We loved the bathrooms with the walk-in showers. The decor was modern, and so was the bathroom. The sink was shallow, cool looking, but hard to fill a glass of water. We didn't have any problem with noisy guest coming in from a night out on the town, we heard them get out of the elevator, but once they were in their rooms, not a sound!
The best were two of their doormen, Charles and Julien! Truly sweet natured gentlemen! They were both great at answering questions, giving us dining suggestions, etc.!
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The single queen room is small, but very functional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiM8tnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit with us. We're so glad you and your friends had a great time staying at our hotel! We will absolutely pass on your kind words to our doormen and let them know they made your experience that much better. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#46 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing