We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,863)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveller rating
1,798
694
224
81
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,798
694
224
81
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate and lakerooftop barwit hotelbirds chirpingnature soundswarm cookiesspa roomthe theater districtthe riverthe loopcorner roomhotel guestsmillennium parkfloor to ceiling windowsthe beanupon checkblue line
Filter
Updating list...
2,371 - 2,376 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Wit on St Patrick's day and received great service I'm a hilton honors diamond member and they treated my family like royalty! The breakfast vouchers were the beat ever received Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I had booked a room here to stay after seeing Barry Manilow in concert. We had pre-paid for the room-Barry Manilow couldn't perform and the concert was rescheduled. We decided to go into Chicago and stay anyway.
We thought the hotel was beautiful and our junior spa room was roomy and very comfortable. We liked that we were close to so many restaurants and shops and could walk to Millenium Park and actually walk to the lakefront to see the sun rise.
The staff at the Hotel were SO friendly and accomodating. We really felt welcome here.
We will stay again in July when Barry Manilow actually does his concert.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

First of all, this trip was paid for by work and was for only a single day. The hotel is located very close to the Metro so getting to it from the airport (although a longish trip) is a cinch and super cheap. The proximity of the hotel to the Theater 'district' is a plus and it's within walking distance to a few restaurants.

We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and it was good. The rooftop lounge has phenomenal views. The rooms were nice and comfy. Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workhurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Quality, Value and Overall Experience are the driving mission points at theWit.

Thank you for comments, perspectives and well-received feedback.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A very nice hotel. The service was good, the common areas are quite nice, the rooftop bar is very cool and modern.

There were a few drawbacks but nothing too big:

there was a sliding door of sorts to the bathroom, not a full door, so the bathroom got cold;

the food in the main lobby restaurant - had both breakfast and dinner over a three-day stay - was good but not great;

the business center charges something like $1 a page to print black-and-white pages so printing a 20 page document was $20. That's ridiculous and out of touch with the offerings at most other hotels, particularly a high-end hotel in/near a business district.

Still, though, positive experience and I would strongly consider a return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muethibp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thanks for the great critique. We will share with the team!

Menu items on the State and Lake Chicago Tavern (and ROOF, Banquets and our In-Room Dining for that matter) are typically enjoyed, and even raved about. Certainly apologies for any off-item or day that may have been experienced. We are sharing these comments as well.

theWit is well situated to welcome spring and summer lesiure, business and groupo guests as the weather has appeared to turn for the positive in Chicago as we speak.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Customer service at its best. Great location. The bed was like being held in someone's arms. I love this place and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmp5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

We appreciate the positive comments from frequent reviewers, and all reviews and critiques are shared with all team members. Thank You.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews