We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wisconsin Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wisconsin Respite”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel in Feburary 2012. From the time you are greeted in the diveway to the time you leave, you are treated like you are the most important person staying at this fabulous hotel. The location and rooms are excellent...immaculate and elegantly furnished. I cannot say enough about the staff of this hotel. They should all be commended and the new corporate entity should use this location as the example of how to treat guests. This hotel was rated number 1 in the country by Conde Nast last year and the staff is the reason why. We throughly enjoyed our stay and everyone should be able to enjoy this type of luxury at least once in their lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1561616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    222
    109
    32
    22
See reviews for
531
921
114
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is one of the most amazing hotels we have ever stayed in. From the moment you step through the door you are treated like royalty. The room was absolutely beautiful, complete with fireplace in the living room area which was beautiful. We had a balcony which allowed a great view over the city, even though the 54th floor was pretty cold in February. We would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed in a Gold Coast Suite for Valentine's Weekend; went in with high expectations from all the reviews here, and as I have stayed at the other 5 star hotels in Chicago. Everything from the hotel, to the service, to the food was flawless. I honestly can not think of one complaint. I usually ignore reviews like this, that are over the top, but the hotel is over the top. Anything else is a far removed second place. We at Brunch at Balsan, and had some drink's at Bertrand's and were very happy with everything there as well. I can not comment from experience on the fitness or spa area as we did not utilize it, but I am certain from the rest of our experience they are fantastic as well. If it is in your budget and you are considering staying here, do it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicagologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Checked into a Premier Gold coast suite with the wife on Feb 10th 2012. - We actually checked into the Elysian and had Elysian room keys, but by the time we checked out on the 14th we were checking out of the Waldorf Astoria. - So, i guess we were amongst the last of the "Elysian Mohikans" !

We selected this hotel due to its No. 1 rating on trip advisor for Chicago hotels and we were not disappointed.

As you would expect with any fine five star hotel the front of house culture and service was excellent. - What i didn't expect when researching the hotel was the relatively low room rate for their top suite compared to similar sized suite's in other major US cities. Premier Gold coast suites are lovely and have a large lounge dining area as well as spacious bedroom and bathroom. - Nice touches included the gas open fire place which we enjoyed as it was snowing outside and the balcony is also a nice touch too, we didn't use it much due to the cold, but we thought it was nice to have in our 23rd floor apartment. - Another nicety at this hotel is that you can open wondows in master bedroom if you prefer to get some fresh air in as distinct from A/C being on all the time. - Obviously, this would be nice in warmenr months.

The views of lake Michigan are limited due to the other buildings blocking most of the view, so don't book here expecting lake views.

Location is excellent and the best of shopping is just around the corner a brief 2 minute walk away. The hotel is situated very close to Michigan Ave. and the "Golden mile" of shops. - Plenty of restaurants and bars close to the hotel as well.

The hotel has a house limo which you can use as many times as you wish on a complimentary basis, but you cannot reserve it and its first in best dressed! - That being said, it has a small radius of travel so you don't have to wait long for it if you wish to use it.

First night there we ate at RIA - The signature restaurant of the hotel. - What an experience !!! - High end cooking at its finest, but you will need to book about one month prior to your stay to ensure you get in. - Do it if you love fine food and wine, you won't be disappointed ! - We had the degestation menu and asked the Sommellier to upscale us with the best wines in the house. - Unlike some degestation meals the portions are not too big so you don't get half way through and call for the stomach pump ! - The staff are very polished and knowledgable as well as being very upmarket in the manner in which they conduct themselves.
Wife and i were very happy with everything and this is one of the best restaurants we have eaten in anywhere. - The dinner is an experience and an event not just a meal and this is what makes it really special.

We also tried the spa and once again you will need to book in advance to try this yourself as we just scraped in booking a couple of days out.

The concierge ( Al) is very proficient and helpful and assists with everything you need with a minimum amount of fuss and a maximum amount of professionalism.

On this trip,so far we have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas, The Park Hyatt Washington DC and the Elysian ( Waldorf Astoria) Chicago. At the moment, i think line honors must go to the Elysian for pure "bang for bucks" and this is what i think really gives it an edge. We paid 1/3 of what we paid for our suite in the Mandarin Oriental and 20% of what we paid for our suite at the Park Hyatt in DC, but there was no compromise on service or quality. ! Shhhh, don't tell them or they miay adjust rates !

Now owned by Waldorf Astoria chain, i also was the first to receive Hilton Honors points for this hotel when i checked out on 14/2 so that was just another nice bonus.

Don't know what other 5/6 Star hotels in Chicago are like, but hey,based on this experience i wouldn't bother trying to find out. - We will definately stay here on next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: Premier Gold Coast Suites are fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Elysian. The hotel and rooms are very elegant and stunningly beautiful. Even though I am rating the hotel average, there is no denying how beautiful the property is.

We arrived and check in was quick and easy. The staff was very nice and welcoming. They asked what newspaper we would like to receive each morning of our stay. We asked for USA Today and were told that they do not have it so we decided on the Tribune. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite (same as our last stay) very spacious and on the 21st floor.

I was going to pour us a cocktail from the mini bar and picked up a half empty bottle of tonic that was in the minibar. When I went to call the front desk to let them know, there was a partially eaten bar of chocolate that had "happy birthday" written all over it sitting next to the phone.

After a night out on the town, (a very cold night) I decided I wanted to warm up and take a bath. I started to fill up the tub and noticed that it was filthy. There were little black hairs all over and it was dirty. The hotel itself is very clean but my room was not.

We were also celebrating a birthday and I had let the hotel know prior to our arrival that it was a special occasion. It went completely ignored by the hotel. Considering there was a "happy birthday" chocolate bar in our room from the previous guests, I know that they do acknowledge guests birthdays. We never got a newspaper on either morning of our stay.

If I am staying at a luxury hotel and paying luxury hotel prices, these oversights are not acceptable. Even though the hotel is beautiful I will not be returning. There are better hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NJI930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. I would like the opportunity to speak to you personally, so I can apologize and to discuss what I can do to welcome you back to the hotel.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak to you,

Kind regards,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Kathryn.M.Day@WaldorfAstoria.com
Tel: 312 646 1404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Everything has already been said in reviews of this grand hotel! At every step, our expectations were exceeded! We arrived very early (7:30 a.m. due to this being the only flight from our town), and were quickly checked into a beautiful Gold Coast Suite (1402). One could not ask for more in room accomodations. The suite was large, well-laid out, with opulent marble baths, superb shower, comfy beds, convenient lighting controls, and a superb fireplace! The service by everyone was first-rate and personal. For example, Roy was happy to print boarding passes and deliver them our room the night before our departure. This is a no-tipping hotel, yet the staff outperformed our expectations each time! The spa was relaxing and first-rate! We hardly left the hotel for food, as the restaurant/room service were excellent (though not inexpensive). For example, when we ordered toast, it was not warm bread, nor burnt edges, but perfect toast. Every detail of the fruit plate, berry bowl was equally perfect! The friendly driver took us to the Art Institute of Chicago in the hotel's Lexus at a moment's notice. The hotel had booked transportation from O'Hare prior to our arrival, and that went off without any trouble (like always happens in NYC). Housekeeping was non-intrusive, and there was not a water spot or dust particle to be found (I am picky)!

After looking over the negatives cited by Tripadvisor reviewers (very few, I must say), I found the elevators to be very fast, and the room service speedy and perfect. Yes, it is possible that the square footage is exaggerated, and there wasn't a towel hook by the shower. So what? Everything else more than made up for that! If you want a really extravagant stay in Chicago, stay here!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. 1402 was immaculate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anesthetist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hotel just changed from Elysian to Waldorf Astoria Chicago this month. We were worried that its reputation wouldn't carry over. Not only were the reviews accurate but the rooms were slightly discounted with a suite upgrade! No complints only rave reviews for the location, service, amenities and value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing