We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,539)
Filter reviews
2,539 results
Traveller rating
2,097
249
126
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,097
249
126
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policyhouse cargold coast suiteelysian hotelgas fireplaceluxury suitetv in the mirrorroom servicesoaking tubwet barbeautiful hotelliving roomfour seasonssteam roombottle of champagnerush streetturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
2,052 - 2,057 of 2,539 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is one of the most amazing hotels we have ever stayed in. From the moment you step through the door you are treated like royalty. The room was absolutely beautiful, complete with fireplace in the living room area which was beautiful. We had a balcony which allowed a great view over the city, even though the 54th floor was pretty cold in February. We would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed in a Gold Coast Suite for Valentine's Weekend; went in with high expectations from all the reviews here, and as I have stayed at the other 5 star hotels in Chicago. Everything from the hotel, to the service, to the food was flawless. I honestly can not think of one complaint. I usually ignore reviews like this, that are over the top, but the hotel is over the top. Anything else is a far removed second place. We at Brunch at Balsan, and had some drink's at Bertrand's and were very happy with everything there as well. I can not comment from experience on the fitness or spa area as we did not utilize it, but I am certain from the rest of our experience they are fantastic as well. If it is in your budget and you are considering staying here, do it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicagologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Checked into a Premier Gold coast suite with the wife on Feb 10th 2012. - We actually checked into the Elysian and had Elysian room keys, but by the time we checked out on the 14th we were checking out of the Waldorf Astoria. - So, i guess we were amongst the last of the "Elysian Mohikans" !

We selected this hotel due to its No. 1 rating on trip advisor for Chicago hotels and we were not disappointed.

As you would expect with any fine five star hotel the front of house culture and service was excellent. - What i didn't expect when researching the hotel was the relatively low room rate for their top suite compared to similar sized suite's in other major US cities. Premier Gold coast suites are lovely and have a large lounge dining area as well as spacious bedroom and bathroom. - Nice touches included the gas open fire place which we enjoyed as it was snowing outside and the balcony is also a nice touch too, we didn't use it much due to the cold, but we thought it was nice to have in our 23rd floor apartment. - Another nicety at this hotel is that you can open wondows in master bedroom if you prefer to get some fresh air in as distinct from A/C being on all the time. - Obviously, this would be nice in warmenr months.

The views of lake Michigan are limited due to the other buildings blocking most of the view, so don't book here expecting lake views.

Location is excellent and the best of shopping is just around the corner a brief 2 minute walk away. The hotel is situated very close to Michigan Ave. and the "Golden mile" of shops. - Plenty of restaurants and bars close to the hotel as well.

The hotel has a house limo which you can use as many times as you wish on a complimentary basis, but you cannot reserve it and its first in best dressed! - That being said, it has a small radius of travel so you don't have to wait long for it if you wish to use it.

First night there we ate at RIA - The signature restaurant of the hotel. - What an experience !!! - High end cooking at its finest, but you will need to book about one month prior to your stay to ensure you get in. - Do it if you love fine food and wine, you won't be disappointed ! - We had the degestation menu and asked the Sommellier to upscale us with the best wines in the house. - Unlike some degestation meals the portions are not too big so you don't get half way through and call for the stomach pump ! - The staff are very polished and knowledgable as well as being very upmarket in the manner in which they conduct themselves.
Wife and i were very happy with everything and this is one of the best restaurants we have eaten in anywhere. - The dinner is an experience and an event not just a meal and this is what makes it really special.

We also tried the spa and once again you will need to book in advance to try this yourself as we just scraped in booking a couple of days out.

The concierge ( Al) is very proficient and helpful and assists with everything you need with a minimum amount of fuss and a maximum amount of professionalism.

On this trip,so far we have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas, The Park Hyatt Washington DC and the Elysian ( Waldorf Astoria) Chicago. At the moment, i think line honors must go to the Elysian for pure "bang for bucks" and this is what i think really gives it an edge. We paid 1/3 of what we paid for our suite in the Mandarin Oriental and 20% of what we paid for our suite at the Park Hyatt in DC, but there was no compromise on service or quality. ! Shhhh, don't tell them or they miay adjust rates !

Now owned by Waldorf Astoria chain, i also was the first to receive Hilton Honors points for this hotel when i checked out on 14/2 so that was just another nice bonus.

Don't know what other 5/6 Star hotels in Chicago are like, but hey,based on this experience i wouldn't bother trying to find out. - We will definately stay here on next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: Premier Gold Coast Suites are fantastic !
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Elysian. The hotel and rooms are very elegant and stunningly beautiful. Even though I am rating the hotel average, there is no denying how beautiful the property is.

We arrived and check in was quick and easy. The staff was very nice and welcoming. They asked what newspaper we would like to receive each morning of our stay. We asked for USA Today and were told that they do not have it so we decided on the Tribune. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite (same as our last stay) very spacious and on the 21st floor.

I was going to pour us a cocktail from the mini bar and picked up a half empty bottle of tonic that was in the minibar. When I went to call the front desk to let them know, there was a partially eaten bar of chocolate that had "happy birthday" written all over it sitting next to the phone.

After a night out on the town, (a very cold night) I decided I wanted to warm up and take a bath. I started to fill up the tub and noticed that it was filthy. There were little black hairs all over and it was dirty. The hotel itself is very clean but my room was not.

We were also celebrating a birthday and I had let the hotel know prior to our arrival that it was a special occasion. It went completely ignored by the hotel. Considering there was a "happy birthday" chocolate bar in our room from the previous guests, I know that they do acknowledge guests birthdays. We never got a newspaper on either morning of our stay.

If I am staying at a luxury hotel and paying luxury hotel prices, these oversights are not acceptable. Even though the hotel is beautiful I will not be returning. There are better hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NJI930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. I would like the opportunity to speak to you personally, so I can apologize and to discuss what I can do to welcome you back to the hotel.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak to you,

Kind regards,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Kathryn.M.Day@WaldorfAstoria.com
Tel: 312 646 1404

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Everything has already been said in reviews of this grand hotel! At every step, our expectations were exceeded! We arrived very early (7:30 a.m. due to this being the only flight from our town), and were quickly checked into a beautiful Gold Coast Suite (1402). One could not ask for more in room accomodations. The suite was large, well-laid out, with opulent marble baths, superb shower, comfy beds, convenient lighting controls, and a superb fireplace! The service by everyone was first-rate and personal. For example, Roy was happy to print boarding passes and deliver them our room the night before our departure. This is a no-tipping hotel, yet the staff outperformed our expectations each time! The spa was relaxing and first-rate! We hardly left the hotel for food, as the restaurant/room service were excellent (though not inexpensive). For example, when we ordered toast, it was not warm bread, nor burnt edges, but perfect toast. Every detail of the fruit plate, berry bowl was equally perfect! The friendly driver took us to the Art Institute of Chicago in the hotel's Lexus at a moment's notice. The hotel had booked transportation from O'Hare prior to our arrival, and that went off without any trouble (like always happens in NYC). Housekeeping was non-intrusive, and there was not a water spot or dust particle to be found (I am picky)!

After looking over the negatives cited by Tripadvisor reviewers (very few, I must say), I found the elevators to be very fast, and the room service speedy and perfect. Yes, it is possible that the square footage is exaggerated, and there wasn't a towel hook by the shower. So what? Everything else more than made up for that! If you want a really extravagant stay in Chicago, stay here!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. 1402 was immaculate!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anesthetist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews