We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“concierge..... so pompous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“concierge..... so pompous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would like to make this a home away from home place to go when we go to Chicago. We stayed for three nights with our family and we had a worthwhile experience. The fireplaces in the rooms did not work or were not available, nor was the DVR to pre tape any movies. We called the front desk and they sent someone up who could not make the DVR work either. My major concern was with the concierge Mark. He was so pompous. We are very relaxed so he treated us like we were impecunious. We asked him to make a dinner suggestion and reservation for a good vegetarian meal, and you would have thought that we were asking for something difficult. He made a big deal about it and sent us to a Middle Eastern restaurant that, when we showed up we were the only people there. It had poor quality and service and we had to travel quite a distance by cab to get there. The women that taught the pool exercise was great to offer many good restaurant choices, besides being a good instructor. Loved the pool and health club area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ProSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,830
    218
    107
    32
    20
See reviews for
525
908
111
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I recenty returned to Chicago and choose the Waldorf Astoria because the great experience we had last time when it was the Elysian. We were not disappointed, the staff was just as polite and helpful. we had the same great all around great experience that we had last time and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago in the near future.
Sincerely
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Waldorf Hotel Chicago
Tel: 312 646 1404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I booked a Gold Coast suite because this hotel is, according to Conde Nast, the best in the country. When I arrived at about 11:30 pm, no one was there to greet me, or help with luggage. Not the biggest deal, but again not the best in the country. My suite was big, with GREAT bathroom, but simply a view of a parking lot. That's pretty much all you can see from any Gold Coast suite. But the room was gorgeous, it's just when I read best in the country I was expecting fabulous views. A friend stayed at the Trump which has infinitely better views. But not nearly as good service. Room Service was just fair. Spa was nice, with great but crazy expensive massage. The location is great, and Taxi's always available and easy city to walk in! I'd go back in heartbeat, just adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writerguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback with regards to your arrival as well as your room services experiences. Neither of these were up to our expectations and we have addressed these particular areas based on your feedback.
We do look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago during your next visit to this area.
Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Tel: 312 646 1404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my daughter for her 21st birthday. Everything about this hotel is five star, from the spacious and upscale rooms to the wonderful food. The staff is very helpful and polite. I felt very comfortable and safe that my daughter and her friends stayed here. I love the decor, the minute you walk in the hotel its like paradise. Another good reason to book this hotel is because its near magnificient mile! I would recommend this hotel for anniversaries, birthdays, or any other special occasion. The spa is also wonderful too, and it was voted the #1 spa in Chicago!

Room Tip: the suites are very spacious, clean and beautiful! When you check in ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applern336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your daughters 21st birthday.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago, should it be for a special occasion, a weekend away, or a business trip. Please contact me directly for your arrangements.
Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Tel: 312 646 1404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful clean and quiet room with soothing colors and a gorgeous bath after the warmest arrival greetings possible. This hotel is very good, but there were problems worth mention.

The Astoria Suite had an odd furniture arrangement with bed encroaching a large desk and large bedside table rendering them nearly unusable. Don't expect to get desk work done in this type suite. Agree with the comments of some previous guests that televisions (all three) in the suite suffered from digital pixilation and stuttering starts/stops that never could be fixed.

Service lapses were enough to mention. There was a lost dinner, with claims from room service (after an hour) that it was delivered. Finally retrieved, the food was room temperature. Also, there were three occasions the concierge was occupied with personal calls that seemed non-essential. We did get calls to the room in a short time, but then a confirmed request for a car to the airport the following day resulted in the front desk having no record of the car being ordered on departure.

Room Tip: Avoid Astor Suites if you have work to do on a desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelteam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had breakfast for two at the restaurant. There was absolutely no atmosphere and very little in the way of special touches (nice table settings, linens, etc.) I get the whole minimalist thing but this was just cheap. Food was ok. Both had bacon, eggs, a bagel , and juice. Bill, with gratuity automatically added in was over $100. Just skip it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blkcamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing