We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$284
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$370
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$517
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$585
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$260
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$444
US$378
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$474
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$375
US$340
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,540)
Filter reviews
2,540 results
Traveller rating
2,097
249
126
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,097
249
126
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policyhouse cargold coast suiteelysian hotelgas fireplaceluxury suitetv in the mirrorroom servicesoaking tubwet barbeautiful hotelliving roomfour seasonssteam roombottle of champagnerush streetturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
2,026 - 2,031 of 2,540 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I recenty returned to Chicago and choose the Waldorf Astoria because the great experience we had last time when it was the Elysian. We were not disappointed, the staff was just as polite and helpful. we had the same great all around great experience that we had last time and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago in the near future.
Sincerely
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Waldorf Hotel Chicago
Tel: 312 646 1404

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I booked a Gold Coast suite because this hotel is, according to Conde Nast, the best in the country. When I arrived at about 11:30 pm, no one was there to greet me, or help with luggage. Not the biggest deal, but again not the best in the country. My suite was big, with GREAT bathroom, but simply a view of a parking lot. That's pretty much all you can see from any Gold Coast suite. But the room was gorgeous, it's just when I read best in the country I was expecting fabulous views. A friend stayed at the Trump which has infinitely better views. But not nearly as good service. Room Service was just fair. Spa was nice, with great but crazy expensive massage. The location is great, and Taxi's always available and easy city to walk in! I'd go back in heartbeat, just adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Writerguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback with regards to your arrival as well as your room services experiences. Neither of these were up to our expectations and we have addressed these particular areas based on your feedback.
We do look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago during your next visit to this area.
Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Tel: 312 646 1404

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I booked this hotel for my daughter for her 21st birthday. Everything about this hotel is five star, from the spacious and upscale rooms to the wonderful food. The staff is very helpful and polite. I felt very comfortable and safe that my daughter and her friends stayed here. I love the decor, the minute you walk in the hotel its like paradise. Another good reason to book this hotel is because its near magnificient mile! I would recommend this hotel for anniversaries, birthdays, or any other special occasion. The spa is also wonderful too, and it was voted the #1 spa in Chicago!

Room Tip: the suites are very spacious, clean and beautiful! When you check in ask for an upgrade!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applern336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your daughters 21st birthday.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago, should it be for a special occasion, a weekend away, or a business trip. Please contact me directly for your arrangements.
Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Tel: 312 646 1404

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Beautiful clean and quiet room with soothing colors and a gorgeous bath after the warmest arrival greetings possible. This hotel is very good, but there were problems worth mention.

The Astoria Suite had an odd furniture arrangement with bed encroaching a large desk and large bedside table rendering them nearly unusable. Don't expect to get desk work done in this type suite. Agree with the comments of some previous guests that televisions (all three) in the suite suffered from digital pixilation and stuttering starts/stops that never could be fixed.

Service lapses were enough to mention. There was a lost dinner, with claims from room service (after an hour) that it was delivered. Finally retrieved, the food was room temperature. Also, there were three occasions the concierge was occupied with personal calls that seemed non-essential. We did get calls to the room in a short time, but then a confirmed request for a car to the airport the following day resulted in the front desk having no record of the car being ordered on departure.

Room Tip: Avoid Astor Suites if you have work to do on a desk.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelteam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews