We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Nearby Hotels
US$754
US$649
Thompson Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$880
US$675
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$623
US$539
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$630
US$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$946
US$607
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$330
US$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,539)
Filter reviews
2,539 results
Traveller rating
2,097
249
126
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,097
249
126
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policyhouse cargold coast suiteelysian hotelgas fireplaceluxury suitetv in the mirrorroom servicesoaking tubwet barbeautiful hotelliving roomfour seasonssteam roombottle of champagnerush streetturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
2,013 - 2,018 of 2,539 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. Good central location downtown and with easy access to the 'L'. The rooms and in particular the bathrooms are exceptional. However the real highlight of this hotel is the staff. They cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. All staff including the Guest Relations Director introduced themselves. I have stayed in some excellent hotels in the USA but the Waldorf Astoria Chicago is in a class of its own.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the corner suites they all have balconies with excellent views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have never spent time in Chicago - based on the hotel reviews we picked the Waldorf - we were very pleased. We stayed in a suite with our 17 yo (using the AAA rate) - there is one very large bathroom - but additionally there is a powder room off the living area with the sleeper sofa. The room was beautiful - and the fireplace is a nice touch. The hotel staff is incredibly gracious - they have a complimentary driver who will take you any where within a 2 mile radius of the hotel (out bound trips only) we used this service both nights to get to our dinner restaurants - James the driver was so great and helpful! No one at this property would accept a tip! From James to the door staff - really - that was a first for us!! Prior to our arrival the concierge (Edward) created a super itinerary for us (segway tour, architectural boat cruise and great restaurants). We will definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in the Gold Coast area of Chicago. The service was excellent and the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The Waldorf Astoria has the most wonderful staff and amenities! The staff went beyond what is expected and made our trip to Chicago perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is by the far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The inside decor is modern greek, the rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect. Going to the spa is a must for all hotel guests. There is a sauna, hot tub, steam room, work out facility, and relaxation room at your disposal. The most impressive part of the hotel to me was the level of class and service the hotel offers. They treat every guest as if they are someone special. The staff do not accept tips, and to be honest they all genuinely seemed happy to work there.

It is worth the money. Even if it is a one-time splurge - you will not be dissappointed!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a lovely property with superb staff. Our room was comfy but kind of an odd layout as an end suite on the 7th floor. The bathroom was just awesome and huge. We had room service breakfast one morning which was good but it seemed to take a while to deliver the food. The bar, Bernard's, is excellent but offers a limited beer menu. Comfy decor and excellent service are highlights. Note that the 18% gratuity is added on every tab. The hotel staff was excellent at every step. Superb location as well. Not cheap but pretty good value in terms of the overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews