We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed because of the Tripadvisor #1 rating and were happy we did. The room was lovely and they thought of everything. While looking for the ice bucket I found the fabulous freezer drawer full of ice. The bathroom had a TV in the mirror. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BingoBubbaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful surprise we got when we booked this hotel from a quick look online! Our stay here was fantastic. While not for the faint of pocketbook, if you are seeking elegance. quiet and a great location, you should be quite happy here. This is a new Waldorf (used to be the Elysian) and the brand new renovation throughout has been gorgeously done. The lobby and room decor were beautiful. Service rivaled the best we've experienced anywhere. This is a "no tipping" hotel, which was hard for us to get used to, but the friendly, helpful staff lived up to the promise and tips were always refused (with a thank you and a smile). Upon arrival, we were offered an upgrade for a slight upcharge to an apartment-style suite on the 18th floor with two exposures, a large living room with gas fireplace, balcony, and 1 and 1/2 baths. The upgrade was well worth the additional cost. The one-bedroom suite was massive, very nicely furnished, with ample closets (3) and drawer space. There was a wet bar complete with its own refrigerated bin full of ice cubes, a nice touch. The master bathroom was fantastic too, with an enormous frosted glass-enclosed shower, double sinks and soaking tub. When I phoned the hotel staff to inquire about printing out boarding passes for our flight home, all I had to do was supply some flight details and, within minutes, the board passes were slipped under our door. We found the Waldorf to be perfectly located for shopping and restaurants. The hotel's entrance is tucked away with its own private courtyard driveway entrance, making dropoff easy and cabs were always at the ready. Just steps away there is also a Starbucks and a Walgreens, a nice convenience. This hotel really sparkled during our stay. We hope it continues to do so. Five stars and two thumbs up.

Room Tip: High floors absolutely quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This traveler has spent many a night in some great hotels. I would rate the Waldorf as among the best of an elite class. Key to a hotel is always the staff. In this regard they get high marks. Our initial room, while satisfactory, was on a lower floor. After spending one night of our 4 night stay, Guest Services Manager, Martin Benster, was able to relocate us to a higher floor with a fantastic view. He understood our needs and made sure we were happy. Service! This being our first visit to Chicago, we relied on the hotel concierge to help us organize our stay. Without a doubt, Edward Tobin is the best concierge we have had the good fortune to know. He was knowledgeable, resourceful, and fully understood what our desires were for our time in Chicago. Service! The hotel and rooms are all contemporary with nice clean lines and quality finish. The rooms are all well maintained with no signs of excessive wear. The beds were comfortable. We had a great night sleep from the first day. The hotel is large enough to provide amenities like a quality spa and yet small enough to give personal attention without a crowd of people to contend with. The spa is really very nice. Again, service was excellent. Staff was present but not intrusive. The location of the property turned out to be great. All of the best shopping in Chicago was very close to our hotel. What surprised me most was the value proposition this property offered. We were ready to stay at a competing hotel rated as one of the best in Chicago for a third more. After visiting the competing property, there’s no doubt we made the right decision. While a nice hotel, it was too large and had far too active of a lobby for our tastes. In the final analysis, The Waldorf Astoria was the perfect hotel experience.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was there for my birthday as a surprise. An it was a great one. the place is so clean, quite and wonderful i felt like i was in my own private condo. AMAZING AMAZING. our room was large 1bedroom suite with 2 flat screen tvs and an amazing bathroom.
every detail was perfact.
hotel wonderful
close to shops and dining
spa looked great
everyone so nice helpful and no hands out for tips, nice change.

Room Tip: we had a balcony looking over the entrance, would avoid as the air conditioning units are there and...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontogirl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a superb hotel just west of the Magnificent Mile . We took advantage of a suite upgrade for $75.00 at check in and were rewarded with what was essentially a one bedroom apartment with 1 1/2 baths. The best feature was the bathroom, which included a large tub , a beautiful stall shower, a separate toilet compartment, and a great vanity/sink area with a tv hidden behind the mirror glass. There was also a powder room. The living room featured a full wet bar with the mini bar in drawers, a comfortable sofa bed, a working fireplace and full balcony. There was ample closet space. Maid and turn down service were very efficient with free Evian water instead of the usual chocolates. We were well stocked with the hotel's lovely Ferragamo amenities.
There were a few blips. We were unable to utilize Hilton Honors points for the upgrade. which was not available online or by phone. The hotel does not offer free breakfast to Hilton Gold members, so we limited our breakfast to coffee and the hotel's excellent pains au chocolat. We received contradictory information concerning the courtesy cars -- on one occasion we were told they were first come first serve, on another we were told they had been reserved. We were able to use the cars twice and they were a great convenience. The drivers are great. We were graciously granted a late checkout on our last day but were disturbed at least four times by house keeping staff and supervisors. None of these nits would keep me from staying here again and I am dreaming up reasons to visit Chicago just so I can do exactly that.

Room Tip: If a suite upgrade is offered, grab it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazz_and_cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. Good central location downtown and with easy access to the 'L'. The rooms and in particular the bathrooms are exceptional. However the real highlight of this hotel is the staff. They cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. All staff including the Guest Relations Director introduced themselves. I have stayed in some excellent hotels in the USA but the Waldorf Astoria Chicago is in a class of its own.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the corner suites they all have balconies with excellent views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have never spent time in Chicago - based on the hotel reviews we picked the Waldorf - we were very pleased. We stayed in a suite with our 17 yo (using the AAA rate) - there is one very large bathroom - but additionally there is a powder room off the living area with the sleeper sofa. The room was beautiful - and the fireplace is a nice touch. The hotel staff is incredibly gracious - they have a complimentary driver who will take you any where within a 2 mile radius of the hotel (out bound trips only) we used this service both nights to get to our dinner restaurants - James the driver was so great and helpful! No one at this property would accept a tip! From James to the door staff - really - that was a first for us!! Prior to our arrival the concierge (Edward) created a super itinerary for us (segway tour, architectural boat cruise and great restaurants). We will definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,515 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,661 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $460 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing